We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibsens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibsens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 632: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Reception staff very friendly and helpful upgraded family to penthouse suite for no extra charge The hotel was in a nice area with lots going on but away from the seedier areas of Copenhagen would recommend

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise Thank you so much for your kind words. We already look forward to welcoming you again! All the best Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Overall disappointed. A few things really missing from Ibsens. Service was sporadic, in two days I'm sure the only time anyone acknowledged us at reception was upon check-in and out. The mix of bar and reception for me doesn't work, you get the constant impression that you're bothering the staff. The hotel has three restaurants, a bar and a cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthMath
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RuthMath Thank you for reviewing us. We are very sorry that you are disappointed about your stay, but we are also glad that you even then appreciate the design and the beds. Ibsens Hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel and is designed by local artists and designers. Some like it that way and some prefer a more...

Apperley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April 2015. Very easy to find from Norreport station (which is easy to get to either by metro or train from the airport). Norreport is a bust station that allows you to get to most places directly (including Malmo and Helsingoer) so this is a great station to have nearby. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2wreckless
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2wreckless Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed staying with us. Our staff is very concerned about doing the best for our guests and we are really proud of their approach to service. We hope to be welcoming you again some time! All the best Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I took my mother to Copenhagen over the Easter break and we stayed at the Ibsens Hotel for several nights. The Hotel provided a great experience: - Close to Norreport Station, which has direct access to Metro & Train Lines. Train or Metro can be taken to/from the Airport. Train can be taken to Malmo, Sweden. - Most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JNATravels
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JNATravels You make me smiling. We are very happy to read your lovely words! It’s good to know that you would recommend us. We do also think that we are very lucky in regards of our location. Kind regards Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

For business purposes, hotel is in a good location for transport - not parking. As per previous comments referring to security, this was slightly concerning as it's very easy to forget to lock the door behind you leaving it open to anyone. Bed was comfy and breakfast was nice. Wasn't too keen on bathroom being a wet room. Would much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Muggle8388 Great that your stay overall was nice! We are about to have an automatic lock system installed as we have realized that many people don’t expect they need to lock manually. I guess you didn’t come by car and that’s the reason you didn’t notice that we have a large private car park. And we are glad to...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We stayed at Ibsens Hotel in December 2014 for five nights while we visited Copenhagen. The Reception/Lounge/Bar and Breakfast area was warm and welcoming and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The selection of dishes available at breakfast time was good and my wife particularly liked the porridge. On the days we got back to the Hotel in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6Keith
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your email and your kind words. It's such a pleasure to learn you had a good stay and thank you for sharing your experience. This means a lot to us. The locks are being changed to automatic locks, which means that our guests won't have to turn the key from the inside anymore....

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 9 April 2015

The Ibsens hotel is located very near museums, parks, and the subway. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the breakfast had exactly what I was looking for (good cereal, OJ, and tasty breads). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The emphasis of art, with inexpensive but interesting art for sale, is charming. But at 2 AM someone opened my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HarvardAlum
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HarvardAlum Thank you so much for your kind review! As previously stated, we will change all locks to automatic locks as soon as possible. The present locks have to be manually locked. You don’t have to double lock – you just have to turn the key. So your advice is taken, the locks will be replaced as soon as...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

In general this a pleasant hotel with friendly staff, well-situated near to subway, bars and university. In particular the bar/restaurant areas downstairs are lovely and the breakfasts were very good. The free wifi worked very well. My room was fine - average I would say - though there was a cigarrette smell and I wouldn't normally expect to have to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peh75
HotelCopenhagen, Senior Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pet75 First and foremost, thank you very much for taking your time to write us and give us your point of view of the this episode! As the Senior Manager at Ibsens Hotel it concerns me to learn that you didn’t feel that I took appropriate care of you, when you couldn’t find your wallet. I am sorry if...

london
Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

On our second visit to Copenhagen we decided to try a different location to our first and this hotel is perfectly placed. We received what we have found to be a warm CPH welcome but a times the reception/bar felt a little understaffed and disorganised. We had upgraded to a larger attic room which was ok but a little tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in this hotel and although the room was fairly small, we found it comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was however a very tight space, with little room to manoeuvre. It is a good central location, within easy walking distance of the university, parks, canals, restaurants and museums. But the best that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MVivienne

683 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (433)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Junior Suite (47)
Viewed
Large Room (46)
Viewed
Medium Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (197)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
X-Large Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,577 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,715 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
740 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $201 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibsens Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Ibsens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room on the 6th floor as they are slightly larger, quieter and the same price.”
KellyB26, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“6th floor for quieter rooms”
Nigel-Wanda, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a nice view on the 5th floor. The room on the corner next to the elevator.”
Johanna_Bouchard, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 6th floor rooms are in the roof area so some are angled.”
spicezoe, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I walked past a corner, double room with big bay windows. This is the room I would have grabbed is I knew about it.”
StuartWragg, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5