We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 978: English reviews
gosier
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there three nights. Lovely hotel but room quite small . Bathroom small (less than 3 square meters). In room Wi-Fi free . Organic Breakfast . You can rent bikes from the hotel 250 dk for 2 days .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amexGosier
Zürich
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is only a few minutes away from the main station. It’s not in the middle of everything but the location is perfect to explore Copenhagen. You can reach most of the places of interest and a lot of restaurants by foot. As the hotel is in a side road it’s very quiet during the night. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueeye-ch
uk
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Family suite here wworked really well, with an interconnecting door to the rooms which kids had. Location works well, being walking distance to Train station, Tivoli etc. Relaxed atmosphere, food ok. Definitely recommend for a weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lold
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was so impressed with this hotel. The room was lovely, beautifully kept and up to-date. The staff were charming and all spoke english (as does everyone in CPH!)Very comfortable beds & linens. Only complaint and is it can get a little bit warm, being there in the first week of August we struggled a little without air conditioning, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 582clares
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The location in Copenhagen doesn't get much better. The hotel rooms, while small, have charm, and are nicely renovated. But the best thing about this hotel is the fabulous organic breakfast with everything you can imagine.!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdDenmark
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel after the amazing reviews, and we couldn't be more disappointed. It was a very hot weekend, and for our surprise the hotel does not have air conditioners!!! We were paying a 300usd daily rate only to sleep with our windows open, with tons of bugs, and listening to drunks and prostitutes screaming in the streets. There...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Amanda C
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Ms AmandaC, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Regarding the airconditioning, it is communicated on our website that we choose not to have this, due to environmental concerns. The Guldsmeden Hotels operate according to strictly sustainable guidelines, as is clearly communicated on our website, and airconditioning is not compatible with this. In Denmark,...

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We like the concept of the hotel, where all the products are organic and sustainable. (The body lotion and body schampoo smell wonderful). The rooms are nicely decorated and the service is pleasant. However, when we stayed there it was a hot summer's day, and the room became very hot and humid. Since we had a room on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sea_mountain2014
Englewood, Florida
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel within walking distance to everything. Front desk staff is great. Decor is very nice (we love the lobby/ bar area. Very cosy) The street was a little noisy in the early morning with deliveries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zigamazoo
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotell is centrally situated, and still the surroundings are silent. The staff is serviceminded, but showd little interest, and finally failed, to fix the servicecomputer in the reception. The breakfast is tasty, but expensive. Perhaps the ecofriendly approach gives the hotel higher costs in general? This was the most costly hotel during our vacation, but not the best one....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kanute07
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I love everything about hotel Axel Guldsmeden in Copenhagen. The charming design - made with a balinesian touch, the friendly staff, the breakfast, the great bed. This is how I would like to have it at home. Could I please move in with you? It is really nice staying at a hotel that has a soul, a nerve, some personality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria G

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (456)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (166)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,090 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,540 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Inner Vesterbro

Neighbourhood Profile
Inner Vesterbro
This neighbourhood is home to Tivoli Gardens, a world famous amusement park and beautiful garden always worth a visit. Just west of Tivoli, you’ll find Copenhagen Central Station, from where you can reach just about every part of Denmark within 5 or 6 hours, or you can reach Copenhagen Airport in less than 15 minutes. Next to the Central Station, you’re in the middle of “old” Vesterbro, where several cultures and hundreds of languages are spoken in an area not more than one square mile. This neighbourhood is considered one of the most trendy places to live in and to visit in Copenhagen. For a real treat, visit Kødbyen ("meat town"), home to several restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, all within a short walk of each other.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Price Range: $194 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stick to the middle of the hotel and do not get a room facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles annie399567, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The superior rooms are much bigger and not on the street, so probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles TheSurbitonian, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Mention access requirements when booking as some rooms require longish walk with bags from old lifts”
 of 5 bubbles ChapmanCanberra, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps get a room on the second floor, we stayed on the ground floor and it got quite loud at night but we didn't mind.”
 of 5 bubbles 371jasminag, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“high floor. gets loud at night”
 of 5 bubbles Christopher_C_Chung, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5