We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copenhagen Island Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$169*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$194*
US$169*
Great Deal
US$182*
US$182*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,285: English reviews
Start your review of Copenhagen Island Hotel
 Click to rate
Philippines
Reviewed today NEW

The rooms are nice and it is beside a mall but it is about a 15-20 minute walk to the city center. You can take the train to central station ( 3 minute walk to the train) . I would not mind staying here again if I would be staying a couple of nights but I would stay somewhere more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugartee
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a nice Newer Hotel, good location, not city center but about 5 minutes by train to main train station. We took the train form the airport and it was pretty easy to get here. By Cab it was about a $50 trip for three of us to the airport. I thought the amount charged was very high for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On check in, we were asked if we would like to upgrade for 500 DKK (normal price is allegedly 1000DKK). We initially declined, but after discovering the basic room faced the street and had a small bed, we returned to reception to inquire. We ended up upgrading to a junior suite for 400 DKK. View from the room was perfect!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malia_me
alp_12, Chef  at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am very glad to read that you liked junior suite and the view over the harbour. Our breakfast is a buffet, where you serve yourself, which is why you take everything yourself. I am sorry that it did not live up to your expectations. We hope to see your again. Kind regards...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the last of four hotels we stayed in while on a 4 country trip through Scandinavia. This was by far our worst experience. The hotel was a good value if booked way in advance. If booking near the time oe travel I am sure it will be grossly overpriced. The hotel is modern looking and with good restrauant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianmdr9
alp_12, Chef  at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for staying here. Our room are between 19 - 21 square metres, which is quite normal in Denmark. We also have junior suites – 30 square metres. We just changed all our mattresses and we are sorry if you felt it was not good. If you had contacted the reception you could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here in early May 2017. We have long-wanted to visit Copenhagen and i kinda like staying out of town a bit. As others have said, chose the 'superior' room for the harbour view; this is definitely worth the pay upgrade - otherwise your room may face a busy road, which was (when we were there)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
alp_12, Gæsteansvarlig at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your most kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our superior rooms with harbour view. We hope that you will come back and stay here again. Yours sincerely Rasmus, Booking coordinator

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attractive looking modern (slightly sterile) hotel just on the outskirts of Copenhagen. Taxis from the airport cost around £30 for a 15 min ride. I recommend hiring bikes from the hotel as its a bit of a long and boring walk to the main sights otherwise. The rooms were clean and bright. The 2 single beds were short and narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckyb78
alp_12, Gæsteansvarlig at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking your time to review your stay and for your kind comments on the staff. We are glad to hear that our staff provided you a great service! Yours sincerely Rasmus, Booking coordinator

San Diego, CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, and we loved it! Location was fantastic, quiet, walkable, bike-able, staff was always warm and kind, and the water pressure for the shower was to die for! Coming from California where we have to conserve water so much, that bathing experience itself gets 5 stars ;). We rented the bike from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shujinha
alp_12, Chef  at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shujinha Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are highly appreciated! Thank you for staying at our hotel. You hope to see you again. Kind regards Julie, Reservation Manager.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed the weekend for a stag do at this hotel, the rooms where small'ish but does the job. Smart, clean and fully furnished with all you need. The hotel is slightly out of the city center but has its advantages.....Next to Copenhagen Mall, Lovely views, nice and quite, nice for walks or cinema at the Mall. The staff was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abyOtus
alp_12, Chef  at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, hope to welcoming you again. Kind regards Julie, Reservation Manager

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited to celebrate my wife's birthday in Copenhagen. The location of the hotel is just outside the city centre but right next to the river. So you can make full use of the river boats. The hotel is very modern, the rooms, compact, clean and bright. The breakfast was very good with loads of choice. I felt the personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schnauzer15
alp_12, Chef  at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Schnauzer Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are highly appreciated! Thank you for staying at our hotel. We regret that we didn't paid enough attention but hope your wife had a wonderful birthday and stay in Copenhagen. You hope to see you again. Kind regards Julie, Reservation Manager.

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The personal is incredible, the facilities and the view its pretty awesome, but to small rooms for the price and for the tripple room we paid was to few space to even walk in the room, the air condition its pretty poor also they really need to improve it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xatic50
alp_12, Reservation Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xatic50. Thank you so much for your kind review of the staff. We cannot change the size of the guest rooms, but we are glad that you enjoyed the surroundings. Thank you for your comment regarding the aircondition - we have improved it now. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again. Kind regards Julie, Reservation Manager

1,240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (913)
Viewed
View from Room (119)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (276)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,764 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,614 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
801 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Inner Vesterbro

Neighbourhood Profile
Inner Vesterbro
This neighbourhood is home to Tivoli Gardens, a world famous amusement park and beautiful garden always worth a visit. Just west of Tivoli, you’ll find Copenhagen Central Station, from where you can reach just about every part of Denmark within 5 or 6 hours, or you can reach Copenhagen Airport in less than 15 minutes. Next to the Central Station, you’re in the middle of “old” Vesterbro, where several cultures and hundreds of languages are spoken in an area not more than one square mile. This neighbourhood is considered one of the most trendy places to live in and to visit in Copenhagen. For a real treat, visit Kødbyen ("meat town"), home to several restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, all within a short walk of each other.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Price Range: $196 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a view of the Bay”
52jimj, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the harbour”
davej119, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Plenty of eatery at the Mall, you don't have to go far.”
abyOtus, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“if you are going to reserve tripple room better reserve 2 rooms tripple adaptation it left you with no space be aware.”
xatic50, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the upgrade”
Cairo27, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$169* /night
View Deal
CheapTicketsUS$182
Hotels.comUS$182
HotelQuicklyUS$194
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates