We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Malmen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Malmen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 432: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I have stayed in Scandic hotels before and have found them to be OK but this one was totally different . The whole dynamics of this establishment changes in the evening. What is a quiet typical hotel foyer during the day, turns in a evening into a noisy, chaotic, security guard controlled environment, with the foyer area being used as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 851drew
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear 851drew, Thank you for answering our guest survey. I’m really sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations this time. The hotel and bars are very popular, especially in the evening. Therefore we must have a high level of safety. In the hotel description at our website, we inform that our bars offers just the right atmosphere of DJs and...

Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Personally, I love the Södermalm area and that's why Scandic Malmen is ideal for me. It's also within walking distance from the Viking Line ferry terminal which makes travel to and from Finland easy. Otherwise I don't have much to say about the hotel - it's very basic Scandic quality, not good, not bad. Nice and friendly staff though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valpuri M
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear Valpuri M, Thank you for this review! We are glad that you liked the area of Södermalm and our friendly staff. We hope we get the chance to welcome you again! Regards, Ted Andersson Scandic Malmen

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The security run the hotel in an evening and are very unfriendly and will let you into the bars only if your face fits .the desk staff are also unhelpful and dont allow complaints . The hotel is adequate but if you need a drink in the evening go elsewhere or risk being turned away .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peedee03
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear peedee03, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had a negative experience with our security staff during your stay. The hotel bars are very popular in the evening and therefore we must have a high level of safety. Our security guards always do the actual assessment of the condition of the guests. If they feel that someone needs...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My stay at the Scandic Malmen was pleasant, and I have no issues with the hotel itself or the staff - all of whom were very friendly. My problem came when I was leaving to go to the airport. I took a metered taxi FROM the airport TO the hotel, which cost me around 70€. So when I was leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AudraViajera
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi AudraViajera, We're truly sorry to hear that you have left us with this bad experience. We really urge our guests to contact us in the reception so we can recommend the taxi company to choose. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back! Best regards, Ted Andersson Scandic Malmen

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed here for a weekend getaway to Stockholm. The location was good for us, in the middle of the trendy Sodermalm area (lots of cafes/bars) but still only a short walk (about 15 minutes) to the beautiful old town region of Gamla Stan. The hotel was literally on top of the metro station, so easy to get to by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OrangeKiwi14
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi OrangeKiwi14, Thanks for this kind review, we are happy that everything was satisfying during your last stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Welcome back! Regards, Ted Andersson Scandic Malmen

Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Well, the good thing I can tell is a very rapid registration at reception and pleasant staff. Another plus is a good location. It is not a very center of town, but a very pleasant place and easy to reach any plase, as the metro station is just there on the corner. However, the room was so small, it had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gevon
Perth
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This hotel is located in Sodermalm, close to the city centre. It is approx 15 min walk to Gamla Stan and a further 10 mins to city shopping mall. Rooms are not large, good size and bathroom has shower, walk in, a bit small, but we have found that to be the case inEurope. Good linen, and rooms cleaned well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat0409
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi Pat0409, Thank you very much for writing this review. I am really glad to hear how much you enjoyed our rooms and your stay with us. Very welcome back again in the future! Regards, Ted Andersson Scandic Malmen

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The last time I visited Stockholm I stayed in a hotel near the main station, but as I knew my way around a bit better this time, I decided to try the hipster area of town in Södermalm for something a bit less business traveller and a bit more holiday maker. Location Positives: there are regular T-bana trains from Central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The room was small, the bathroom tiny. The electronic door keys (that also operated the lifts) needed changing every day as they stopped working. The bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast was very nice. Easy to get to, Metro station round the corner. Consider this like an Ibis, ok for a couple of nights but no longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomroyce74
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear tomroyce74, Thank you for this review. Glad you liked our central location and breakfast. Sorry to hear that the room didn't meet your expectations during your stay. Please let us know right away if there is something we can help you with. We hope you will come back again. Welcome! Best regards Ted Andersson Scandic Malmen

Schweiz
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had some high expectations after booking a four star hotel in this price range. However, when we arrived, the room was incredibly dirty and run-down. The floor was full of dirt and hair from previous guests and the toilet ring was still covered in excrements as well. During our 4-night stay, this condition remained the same, which means that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kittycat55
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear kittycat55, Thank you for giving us your thoughts on your stay. Glad you liked our central location here in Södermalm, Stockholm. I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a nice stay with us. What you describe about the room is not at all how we want it to feel like staying with us, and we’re sorry we didn’t meet...

486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Superior Extra Room (30)
Viewed
King Superior Room (26)
Viewed
Queen Cabin Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Cabin Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#79 of 160 in Stockholm
550 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#82 of 160 in Stockholm
208 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#102 of 160 in Stockholm
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#37 of 160 in Stockholm
2,380 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
NOFO Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#43 of 160 in Stockholm
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoFo & Medborgarplatsen

Neighbourhood Profile
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Throughout the last decades these neighborhoods transformed from a rather quiet residential area into the birthplace of Swedish hipsterism and became Sweden’s main hub for new fashion labels, independent coffee shops and innovative gastropub concepts. Despite their extreme transformation, SoFo (South of Folkungagatan) & Medborgarplatsen managed to hold on to their residential charm and quietness and became one of the most sought-after places to live among young people in Stockholm. This neighborhood is also home to Sweden’s highest student hall, Skrapan, which used to be the head office of the tax authorities and now combines a mix of student hall and shopping mall with a bar on top.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Cuisines: European, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Price Range: $113 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Malmen staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Malmen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are located in the basement and do not have any windows. Therefore, I highly recommend booking superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles magdal92, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“To avoid the traffic noise at night, prefer rooms which are not facing the main streets.”
 of 5 bubbles FredDee87, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a window”
 of 5 bubbles jesperlehrmann, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like noise, request an interior (courtyard) room”
 of 5 bubbles Mbv9415, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I can't do a special recommendation.”
  • The wall of the room
  • The bed in the room
 of 5 bubbles GabrielA379, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay