We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Hellsten

Show Prices
#33 of 159 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hellsten
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 537: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

The ambiance and interiors of this small hotel are quirky, bohemic and dark. They focus on Jazz music, and if you are lucky they might have a nice small jazz concert in the bar during the visit. The reception staff and bartenders are friendly, service minded and personal. Average breakfast.The location is off from the city center, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese-Cecilia
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Therese-Cecilia, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to apologize that the room did not meet your expectations. Of course everything should be working properly and I am sorry to hear this was not the case during your stay. There is always a possibility to change rooms and we regret you feel you...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked following the pictures, but they only show Superior rooms. Room 2507: a Standard room: tiny (about 50 cm around the bed), no wardrobe or place to put laguage suitcases, Walls dirty, need painting, no nice acessoire like one picture on a Wall! Bathroom tiny- only 1 x 1,5m. Old furniture... But entryhall, lounge and free sauna are nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicollew20162017
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Nicollew20162017, Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry you felt the room was not living up to your standards. The rooms with balcony are generally smaller than the other rooms. If you wanted to change rooms to a bigger one, I wish you would have spoken to the front desk staff and they would have...

Gävle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice staf and wonderful rooms with character. Very good cleaning, breakfast was ok, not the best I've hade but not at all bad. Just a little bit small. The sauna was also very nice. The hotel was not to far from the city and a lot of nice restaurants in the area

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Westbom
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Westbom, Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our staff, the hotel ambiance and our other facilities. We hope you will visit us again in the future! Thank you again. Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at hellsten. We booked for their junior suite. Rating then as follows: Check in: 5/5, smooth and no frills. Took us 2 mins. Room: 4/5, right size and very comfortable bed. Would be good to have a mini bar but wouldn't complain about not having one. Bathroom: 4/5 clean, new. Would be good to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhex S
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Rhex S, Thank you for taking your time to share your review with us. We appreciate your kind words as well as your comments about the staff. Our staff is definitely one of our strenghts and we appreciate you for confirming this. Also we thank you for your feeback regarding the room. Hearing our guests comments is what can...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for an anniversary 4 day break. Getting off the aeroplane we were hit by the freezing -3 snowy weather! On entering the Hotel, we were then hit by the swampy heat, it was bliss!! The Hotel is so central, right by the metro and surrounded by shops and bars and restaurants. We were given one of their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lois P
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Lois P, We sincerely thank you for sharing your expericence. We are really happy you like the position and ambiance of our hotel, which we work hard to maintain. It is satisfying to hear that it is appreciated. Thank your handy partner from us for unclogging the drain :) we would have been happy to do it for you,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice and cosy hotel - good breakfast Perfect for a nice romantic stay in Stockholm! The service was very good and they adjusted to our time of arrival (late night) without any problem. Definitely recommend this hotel is you are looking for a nice hotel, not surrounded by the crowds of Gamla Stan!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank h_prouteau
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear H_prouteau, Thank you for your review! We are happy you had such a good stay with us, and that the staff could meet your expectations. Thank you again for recommending us to other travellers. Merry Christmas! Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked Hotel Hellsten the last minute - after a big disappointment and cancellation of my Airbnb reservation with no refund (2 days left to my flight!). Hotel proved me that hotels are the most solid places a traveller can count on. The receptionist Senna was outstanding. She knows a lot about how to get where the easiest, incl. bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serra T
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Serra T, We greatly appreciate your kind review of our hotel and staff! We are glad you chose Hotel Hellsten after your airbnb disaster, we were happy to help you. I will make sure Sanna sees this nice comment. Thank you very much for your wonderful review and Merry Christmas! Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay in Hellsten Hotel was good overall. My only regret was about the standard of the room, the bathroom was really too small (and there wasn't the shower tray) compared to the price we paid. Good and rich breackfast. Very good service (above all the guys at reception).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pita852810Milan
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Pita852810Milan, Thank you for your review. We are happy your overall experience was good! All of our rooms are different, some have big bathrooms and some have smaller bathrooms. You are very welcome back, and next time be sure to make a specific request about a bigger bathroom. Thank you again and Merry Christmas! Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

Grass Valley, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights in late November and found it to meet all my needs. It is easy to reach using public transportation from the airport. It is possible to walk downtown, but easy to use the metro (subway) or excellent bus system. The rooms are a bit larger than the average European hotel room and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prc55
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Prc55, Thank you for your nice comments. We are very happy you had a good stay and that we could meet all your needs, that really strengthens us! Thank you again for your wonderful review. Merry Christmas! Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

Pully
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The hotel has a charm of its own. Big cosy room, very quiet. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast (the temperature in the room was a big cold though) and excellent food at the bar. Easy walking distance from the train station, shops and restaurants. Underground station nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaraPully
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear TaraPully, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to recommend our hotel. Warmly welcome back! Per Hellsten Hellsten Hotels

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#17 of 159 in Stockholm
608 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#24 of 159 in Stockholm
997 reviews
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#58 of 159 in Stockholm
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#56 of 159 in Stockholm
1,448 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#40 of 159 in Stockholm
779 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#23 of 159 in Stockholm
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vasastan

Neighbourhood Profile
Vasastan
Vasastan is one of those neighborhoods that almost looks too good to be true. It has the winning combination of a central location, tranquility, and beautiful buildings – housing sophisticated bars and eateries – that makes this neighborhood Stockholm’s most sought-after place to live. If walking through this area makes you feel like walking through a fairy tale or picture book it’s no surprise, as it’s actually the film set of the famous Swedish children story Karlsson-on-the-Roof. No matter what season, Vasastan manages to impress in the sunshine, covered in snow and won’t even lose its charm when soaked in rain.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique hotel in the centre of Stockholm. Close to everything with quiet and intriguing rooms. Hotel Hellsten attracts exciting guests from all parts of the world. We who work here want to ensure that your stay in Stockholm is both successful and memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hellsten

Address: 68 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Price Range: $138 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hellsten 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hellsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hellsten staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hellsten staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 902serrat, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles daisysa2014, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for something quiet and high up”
  • Loved this cyan and gold room
 of 5 bubbles K6019KVcarlose, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The street is quiet, I would recommend a room towards the street, not to the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles StefanS393, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor have windows which open onto terrace with seating close by. If you want more privacy ask for a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Q5787TRjoannec, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay