We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is located on a quiet street a 15min walk from the center of the city. Our room was small tidy and clean, and the breakfast was average, no parking is available so be prepared to drive around the block to find one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathias S
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Mathias, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback. Welcome back to us again! Warm Regards, Patrick M. Hotel Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is situated close to the Metro which makes it easy to get around. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is always good when a hotel can store you luggage after check out. The room was "ok" maybe a bit basic but the bed was comfy. We had to change rooms in the morning due to our shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottYuan
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your stay with us. I am sorry that you had to change rooms due to the shower not working properly. It makes me happy to read that the staff were friendly and helpful, that is very important to me. I wish you a nice day! Regards, Patrick...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The location is very close to Karlaplan metro station which makes it easy to get around and adjacent to a small shopping mall of about 30 shops. The hotel looks quite grand with steps up the front, no idea what you do if you cannot manage steps? The reception staff were typically friendly Swedish and very helpful. Ok, the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulbH7583FB
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for a well-written review! I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and that the staff were friendly. However I apologize for the lack of storage in some of the rooms. We will look into this and try to find a solution for clothes that doesn't take that much of space. Even though you wrote that...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This is a nice hotel for tourists if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room. It's very reasonably priced and it's in a nice area of Stockholm. By "nice," I mean, a really good, upscale neighborhood. It's right up the street from Karlavagen which I'd compare to Park Avenue in New York City. It's not...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taj280
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a well-written review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that the breakfast exceeded your expectations. Just as you wrote we have different room categories and offer larger rooms. I am very glad to read that you would stay with us again, you are most welcome back to Stockholm and...

Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stockholm at Christmas is a joy to behold! Soft white lighted candles and stars in every window, classy evergreen decorations and snow underfoot glittering like a million diamonds. Tall, monumental, historic brick buildings lining the wide streets of Oestermalm of which The Best Western Karlaplan is a wonderful example. Up the red carpet covered steps into the brilliantly lit lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane d
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Jane, It is an absolute joy to read your review! Besides being well-written it is informative and fun to read. Thank you so much for this excellent review and star rating to us, we appreciate it a lot. I wish you a Happy New year and hope you will come back to us next Christmas and enjoy Stockholm once...

Caserta, Italy
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel for business trip. Position: very good! 3 minutes from the metro station! Rooms: Just the space to move around the bed... Breakfast: good! Reception: very available and helpful. WiFi Connection: free and good quality!! Cleaning: Perfect in the toilette, a bit less in the room!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darksasy83
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a well-written review about your stay with us! Welcome back to us again! Regards, Patrick Hotel Manager

Reviewed 26 November 2016

I have never encountered such dirty room. Hair all over the bathroom and impossible to miss for the housekeeping staff. I booked a quite cheap room and for that price i dont except much but clean with a comfy bed was my expectation..... the bed was outdated and probably the worst i have slept in at a hotel.... How this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickard E
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Rickard, Thank you for your review! Once again I am very sorry that your room was lacking cleaning. That is of course not acceptable for us and that is why we offered you an upgraded room with 50 % discount. I am glad that you are willing to give us another chance and hope you will enjoy your new...

Paris, France
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I still cannot belive that I have paid the equivalent of more than 200 Euros for this small depressing, ugly bedroom with very basic facilities. This hotel clearly does not deserve its 4 stars. This so called "superior" room not only had the worst taste furniture, but also not even any drawer or board for cloth, Bathrooms amenities were 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 26jeanlouis
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about your stay. I am very sorry that you feel your stay was overpriced. As we work with dynamic pricing (like most hotels do) the prices can vary a lot depending on day of the week and demand in Stockholm. You was unfortunate to stay on a day when the demand was...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I like these hotels which has a odd floor-plan and where can assume all rooms are different. The winding corridor to the room even has odd steps up and down... I got a small room in the basement with really high ceiling and windows high up on the wall facing inwards. A big plus was the window opened, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psjofors
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for a well-written review. We appreciate your feedback as it makes us better. Regarding the power sockets we are actually looking into installing more sockets in the rooms and this project should be done within the next month. Welcome back! Regards, Patrick Hotel Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bj_rnm329
HotelKarlaplan, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
#88 of 158 in Stockholm
481 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#43 of 158 in Stockholm
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Kom Hotel Stockholm
BEST WESTERN Royal Star
#92 of 158 in Stockholm
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ostermalm

Neighbourhood Profile
Ostermalm
With its high-end shopping facilities and Michelin-starred restaurants, Östermalm is definitely the poshest part of central Stockholm. Here you will find Stockholm’s most majestic residential buildings, a beautiful market hall from 1888 displaying gourmet foods from around the world and the Swedish Royal Dramatic Theatre with its awe-inspiring architecture. At night, legendary nightclubs make the perfect location to observe the natives (and those aspiring to become natives of this exclusive neighborhood) in their natural habitat and to enjoy the latest produce of the Swedish house music scene.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Address: Skeppargatan 82, Stockholm S-114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Price Range: $118 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Autofill
Newcastle Upon Tyne
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware of the storage problems that I mention in the description,”
 of 5 bubbles paulbH7583FB, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are inevitably quieter. Incidentally the beds are blissfully comfortable but if you want soft pillows you need to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room in the basement states without window bit actually it has a window but unreachable but still you can sed something outside”
 of 5 bubbles rockysanpedro, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are tiny, request a large room with windows”
 of 5 bubbles Plumesie, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with openable windows (i.e. not the "economy" basement room)”
 of 5 bubbles emmacgordon, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5