We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Booking.comUS$92*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived late. No record of my booking. Grotty tiny 17th century rooms; understaffed by inadequately experienced staff. I stayed here before and at low rates this is reasonable. Gouging a late arriving guest and charging 6* prices for < 2* hovel horror is simply predatory and unacceptable behaviour. Don't stay here. It's a crappy little hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Patrick M, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, Let us be honest and present the facts: First of all you hade made a reservation for May 15-17 but you somehow arrived on the 17th instead. Your original reservation therefore went as a no-show. You arrived very late on the 17th, a day when almost all hotels in Stockholm were fully booked. We had only one (1)...

Craiova, Romania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

first of all I have to admit that given the circumstances of our booking ( we got the room for an unusual low rate for such period and the whole city was almost fully booked when we made the reservation). I feel awkward making any complaints. I will just point out the obvious : - the hotel has an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Balerion2015
Patrick M, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review. First of all, I have to compliment you on your humor for the title of your review, clever! As you wrote, you stayed in a economy room and the name explains it pretty well. Regarding the coffee I will most certainly look this over and talm to the supplier. We...

nesoddtangen
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was small and cramped, badly organized and impractical. Yellowish walls and dark brown curtains, a hideous kitsch painting on the wall. One thing is bad taste, worse is impractical and uncomfortable. There were nowhere to keep things, no closet or wardrobe for clothes.The drawer in the desk was not a drawer, just a fake that could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbergaust
Patrick M, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Regarding the room you had booked our smaller room category. We do offer a total of 9 different room categories and have other rooms that are large. I apologize for the cleaning not being done. It should be cleaned every...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely welcoming staff, tasty well prepared breakfast buffet. Room clean and well maintained. Really pleasant stay. Would recommend to couples and families alike. Close to metro.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATOZCHIPPY
Patrick M, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, Thank you very much for your great review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again! Warm Regards, Patrick M. Hotel Manager

Skurup, Sweden
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I stayed here for one night. The receptionists I met were friendly and helpful, got me a quiet room without even blinking. The room itself - a room with two single beds - was fairly small and the beds were unusually narrow considering they were hotel beds. I had no problems sleeping in them, but if you are used to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomasmusicology
Patrick M, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your stay. I am happy to read that the staff were friendly and helpful. Regarding the bed size we offer 8 different room categories with beds ranging from 80cm up to 240cm, which makes them the largest beds in Stockholm. I am very sorry that you did...

Galati, Romania
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The hotel is a little far from the Central Station where we arrived but we used Uber and the cost was about 13 Euro from the Central Station to this hotel. The day we left the breakfast was opened earlier for us just to be able to catch the bus for the airport. The brakfast is the best I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your great review, we appreciate it a lot. ! I am happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. Welcome back to Stockholm soon again and hopefully in our hotel! Warm Regards, Patrick M. Hotel Manager

Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We needed a place for one night, conveniently located for what we were going to do, and this was our choice. Turned out fine. I generally judge hotels by four criteria: the room/bed, cleanliness, the bathroom, and breakfast. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. The room was not big, but I don't care. The bathroom felt fresh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Partain
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you very much for your well-written review and good score to us. I think you have good criterias for a hotel stay and these are some of the criterias we work hard with. Regarding the breakfast area we are aware of that it is too small when the hotel is full and also that it can get...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Well situated hotel for our purpose during this visit. Walking distance to Djurgården and several nice restaurants in the area. The hotel itself is ok. Clean well organized rooms with coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast was simple and very good but the breakfast area was way to small and gave a stressful feeling and a lot of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knut K
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Knut, Thank you very much for a nice and well-written review! I am sorry that the breakfast area gave a stressfull feeling. We are aware of that as well as the fact that it is too small when the hotel is full. We are working on a solution and hopefully the breakfast area will look different towards the summer....

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located on a quiet street a 15min walk from the center of the city. Our room was small tidy and clean, and the breakfast was average, no parking is available so be prepared to drive around the block to find one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathias S
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Mathias, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback. Welcome back to us again! Warm Regards, Patrick M. Hotel Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is situated close to the Metro which makes it easy to get around. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is always good when a hotel can store you luggage after check out. The room was "ok" maybe a bit basic but the bed was comfy. We had to change rooms in the morning due to our shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottYuan
Patrick M, Manager at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your stay with us. I am sorry that you had to change rooms due to the shower not working properly. It makes me happy to read that the staff were friendly and helpful, that is very important to me. I wish you a nice day! Regards, Patrick...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#90 of 155 in Stockholm
508 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Capital Hotel
#104 of 155 in Stockholm
225 reviews
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 155 in Stockholm
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ostermalm

Neighbourhood Profile
Ostermalm
With its high-end shopping facilities and Michelin-starred restaurants, Östermalm is definitely the poshest part of central Stockholm. Here you will find Stockholm’s most majestic residential buildings, a beautiful market hall from 1888 displaying gourmet foods from around the world and the Swedish Royal Dramatic Theatre with its awe-inspiring architecture. At night, legendary nightclubs make the perfect location to observe the natives (and those aspiring to become natives of this exclusive neighborhood) in their natural habitat and to enjoy the latest produce of the Swedish house music scene.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Address: 82 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Price Range: $126 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Autofill
Newcastle Upon Tyne
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hotel Karlaplan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not book economy rooms”
Balerion2015, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
kbergaust, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware of the storage problems that I mention in the description,”
paulbH7583FB, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are inevitably quieter. Incidentally the beds are blissfully comfortable but if you want soft pillows you need to ask.”
, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room in the basement states without window bit actually it has a window but unreachable but still you can sed something outside”
rockysanpedro, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$158
Expedia.comUS$107
CancelonUS$105
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates