We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riverton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

568 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riverton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Finland
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Service was friendly and rooms small but cozy. It was all clean. Breakfast was crowded and really nothing to talk about. We were happier getting out from the breakfast restaurant than going in. Wouldn't go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matti_matkustaja
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Matti_matkustaja, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the positive feedback! It makes me happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the hospitality and friendly service which we put a lot of emphasis on. I am sorry that the breakfast restaurant was so crowded when you were here. It isn´t...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This hotel was all around amazing. Good quiet part of town, but close enough to walk to all the main sights and attractions. Great breakfasts every morning with good coffee. Comfortable, clean rooms with excellent rain showers. I will definitely stay there again if I'm in Gothenburg again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Rachel T, Wow! what a review. From all of us, thank you for the really nice words. We are very happy that you had such a lovely stay at Hotel Riverton and will love to have you back! Kind regards, Rebecka, Guest Relations Riverton

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Can't really fault the place, the breakfast buffet was very good (continental style with cold meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, pastries) Hottub and sauna was particulary nice after going out in the snow allday (towels provided for this). Reception were friendly and helpful - provided maps etc. Good central location, short walk from the train station and town centre. Oh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexjayrice
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi alexjayrice, I am glad that you enjoyed our jacuzzi and sauna, we also think it is nice to be able to offer that extra service to our guests. It will actually be even nicer shortly since it will go through a face lift. I am so happy to see that we lived up to your expectations in all other...

Community of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price in Goteborg. Very good room, excellent breakfast, very helpful staff. The only thing we missed was location, which is ok, but not excellent. The views from the SkyBar and Restaurant were also amazing! Great choice for staying in Goteborg even if you have to walk with your luggage to get to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urecha
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi urecha, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay despite the walk from the central station. Did you know that there is a bus/tram stop just one minute from the hotel? Thank you for the lovely words regarding our staff, we often hear that they go out of their way to fix everything possible. I hope to...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel very convenient for main town sights. About 15 minute walk from main station easily done on foot except suitcases struggle on cobbled streets. Hotel is clean and well presented. Smaller rooms are still a good size. Breakfast excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehj74
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi ehj74, Wow! Thank you, we are so happy that we did so well in all areas. Our restaurant manager will be very pleased to hear about the breakfast. I hope we will see you here shortly! Kind regards, Rebecka, Guest Relations Riverton

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Couple of days on business, Sweden automotive if you couldn't guess! Clean and tidy place, friendly staff, good value for money and a comfy bed. Well appointed room with Nice views. Careful of the lifts as they take some working out and skybar opening hours are a little restrictive. Dim sum place around the corner is to die for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryannwall
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Ryannwall, We often hear that our staff is very friendly and helpful and it makes us very proud since it is something we really value. Thank you for all the other positive feedback as well, I am happy to see that you had such a nice stay. I must say that we like the restaurant around the corner as...

London
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Room, breakfast, staff were all fantastic. Location was also spot on, as it was close to Haga, the more interesting side of town. The roof bar was really nice. Staff was also friendly and approachable.

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopherchewie
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Christopherchewie, Thank you for the lovely words, it makes us very proud! People are important and we love our amazing staff. And what could be better than a stroll in Haga to then go up for something to drink in our View Skybar & Restaurant? I can really recommend the Christmas market in Haga when it is snowing as...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 August 2016

If you arrive to Gothenburg by plane, you will probably take an airport link-bus (cca 10 Eur//USD//CHF) to the city. Exit on a bus stop one before the "Central" (main station). This will make your journey to the Riverton a bit shorter. From that point, you will need to walk 10-15 to reach the hotel. You'll see cute shops and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dudekica
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Dudekica, Thanks for the very thorough description and for your nice feedback regarding our staff in reception and the restaurant. It is always nice to hear that they are so friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you didn´t feel that the we met your expectations on a four-star hotel but am happy to let you know that we...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had a junior suite for three adults. The first room (511) was so poorly configured, we asked to be switched to another room. Room 401, was better, but had a day bed, which wasn't overly comfortable. The room was very hot and we could not regulate the temperature. The maid did not replenish our toiletries so we ran out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly727
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi dragonfly727, It is lovely to hear that you found our staff outstanding, that is amazing and makes us really proud! We always want to do all we can to give our guests a nice stay and I am happy to hear that the second room worked better for you. Regarding the sofa beds, we have already ordered new ones...

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Hotel's homepage was more promising than reality. We had booked 2 superior rooms, one of them was a suite. Rooms were outdated and screaming for repairs, no way they'd be entitled to 4 stars. Seems like renovations were done in the hallway, ceiling was off and wires seen. We never saw promised Rituals toiletries, hand soap was only thing available,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristaE70
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi KristaE70, I am sorry that we didn´t live up to your expectations at this time. Is it possible that you looked at our Premium rooms when booking? They are more luxurious than the Superior rooms and at that time were the only room category with products from Rituals, something that we now have in all rooms. We were installing...

555 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite with River View (39)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Junior Suite (51)
Viewed
Superior Twin Queen Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
600 reviews
0.0 km away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 68 in Gothenburg
159 reviews
1.4 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.3 km away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#31 of 68 in Gothenburg
94 reviews
0.7 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
View Skybar & Restaurant
View Skybar & Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $121 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riverton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riverton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room close to the water”
 of 5 bubbles Annbe20, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view to the river”
 of 5 bubbles Matti_matkustaja, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to the top floor restaurant/bar for the views at night”
 of 5 bubbles alexjayrice, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book premium rooms to get the quality.”
 of 5 bubbles KristaE70, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Apparently there are rooms with harbour views but for a long weekend you are more likely to want to visit the views than stay inside.”
 of 5 bubbles PansyUK, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay