We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Hotel Opalen

CancelonUS$98*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$188*
US$98*
Great Deal
US$119*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Opalen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

981 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stay in hotels at least 2 times a year and has been trying to stay at Scandic when possible. This time that was a mistake. We had a room on the second floor, and also a baby with pram. There were ALWAYS queues for the elevator. Once we had to wait 10 minutes. Rooms were dated. The pull out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kattmat
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that we could not live up to the expectations that you had regarding your stay and that you disappointment is so deep that you would not like to come back. I foyu...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Despite being very busy for the football week everything was good . They catered for everyone with plenty of breakfast space & the buffet was good . I had a larger top floor room , plenty of space , good bathroom & nice view. Gym was better than average . Staff pleasant & helpful , especially bar & restaurant ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review. Myself as well as the rest of the staff are very happy to hear that you have anjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please don't be a stranger. I wish you a wonderful summer! Malin...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When we stayed here (my girlfriend and I), we were shocked to discover how unclean the rooms in general were. Trash bin not emptied. Bed made with almost no effort at all. Also: No ventilation. Bathrooms are old. Parking is ridiculously expensive. Food is very bland. Won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan B
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to do our best to keep our guests happy but in your case it was truly a swing and miss. I am also sorry to hear that you will not...

Aalesund
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

- Our room was in ok condition, but the bathroom need to be renovated, and the ventilation there need to be fixed. - Trash bin in the bathroom had not been emptied since the last guests. - Only one small duvet in our queen size bed room. Not large enough for two persons! - It gets very warm in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aeswest
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry that we could not live up to the expectations you had. We will take everything you mentioned in consideration and work on improving them. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again some time. I wish you...

Motala, Sweden
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in a room on one of the top floors. Magnificent view, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, and no disturbing noises. Good breakfast choices for everyone, and lots to choose from, including organic options. Located conveniently, with most major attractions within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient secure parking under the hotel - but it costs extra. Reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holiday1043
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and your kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to see and enjoy our city. I do hope that you will come back to us another time. I wish you a fantastic summer!...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Göteborgsvarvet Half Marathon. The room was clean, and while it was fine, it could use some renovation. The bed was comfortable, and it was quiet so we slept well. The breakfast was decent, and the hotel is right next to a tram stop which makes it easy to get around. The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JME63007
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to let us know how you're stay with us was. It seems like it was a pleasant one and you have made some good points for us to take a look at. I dope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel and beautiful city. I wish you...

hereford
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Opalen for a conference recently. I was lucky to have a room on the 11th floor. It was spacious, light and what I expected if a Swedish hotel- like ikea. No real complaints although single duvets on a double bed was a bit odd! Breakfast was buffet, a good selection and fresh. Friends stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cspanks
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a nice stay. I do hope that we will have the pleasure and welcoming you again. I wish you a very niec summer! Malin W

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here a little while ago but finally getting round to writing this review. The hotel looks nice from the outside and indeed it is quite an iconic feature of that part of Göteborg. It becomes a complete disappointment from the moment you walk in the door. It's like the hotel is stuck in a time-warp from the 70s. Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank David B
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very mudch for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We also try to do our best in order for our guest to feel welcome and satisfied about their stay but in youi case we have clearly failed....

Köln
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and had a room on the upper floors. The view is nice but you cannot open any window. There is no possiblity to get any fresh air into the room as there exists no air-conditioning only a central "ventilation system" . We received a fan from the front desk but the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SilkeK
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not live up to the expectations you had regarding your stay. I understand that it would be nice to open a window and we do need to have a look at what we can do instead...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for one night during the Gothenburg Basketball tournament which happened to be the same weekend as the Sunburst DJ festival so the hotel was full of kids, their parents and young adults. I hadn't booked a room as I was initially going to stay with my son at one of the school residences, however, at the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tique222
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. It pleases me to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food. I do hope that ewill have the pleasure of welcoming you again, don't be a stranger. Have a wionderful summer! Malin W

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.6 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
892 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
836 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 67 in Gothenburg
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $140 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toledo, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the small rooms for 2 persons. really small...”
TinaFrida, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Room location is ok anyeay”
Einar2014, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“City View is the best”
loouiss, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium/VIP rooms are not much more expensive and get you a room on the top floor with bigger windows.”
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
dhmacher, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better views you get”
jockeh2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$98* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$119
TravelocityUS$119
AMOMAUS$188
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates