We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 535: English reviews
Start your review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
 Click to rate
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was staying at the hotel with my mom. Excellent location for shopping and nightlife. Parking is right opposite the hotel. Rooms are little old fashioned and corridors not so clean. Our room was on the 2nd floor but not to the street so it was quiet. Pillows were great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katja S
Tuusula, Finland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice place for Helsinki visit- all places that you need for Helsinki visit are around you. I can recommend surely this place. Breakfast basic Sokos Hotels style, nothing really special, but just ok. Service at the resception was nice & easy. I also had a nice sleep & will return, thanks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannele895
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is old and the bed matress are also very old and deformed by use The cleaning lady did not emptied the trash bins every day Nor did she changed the towels we left on the floor. For the same price some other people in our business tri stayed at the holiday inn with much better services

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivanfQ5006UM
Nokia, Finland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room floor was awful ugly! Room 421. Sink tube leak on the shower room floor. Windows could not be opened. Kyselyn kielivalikoimassa ei ollut kuin englanti, voisi suomalaiselle lähettää kyselynkin suomeksi!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 598kait
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 598kait I am so sorry to hear that the room did not match the standard we want our customers to experience. We will certainly check this room and make sure that all the things you mentioned will be fixed. Thank you for your review and for letting us know about this. Welcome again in Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki. Best...

Helsinki
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in Sokos Hotel Helsinki for one night with my partner for to celebrate our anniversary! For a student budget Standard room paid partly by Finnair Points was a very good experience with bath tap and wide bed. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 589elinay
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 589elinay I am pleased to hear that we were able to be part of making your anniversary special. Our receptionists try to find the best room for our customers. I am glad to see that we have succeeded in this. Thank for your taking time to review our hotel. You are most welcome again in Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki....

Rovaniemi, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yet another good Sokos hotel experience: good location and really nice staff. However bad things were our room's poor sound proofing and really dry indoor air. Breakfast was pretty average, organic porridge and carelian pies were nice but coffee was not.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 256esaa
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 256esaa Our breakfast is a large buffet where can be found hot and cold dishes. Our breakfast is usually very much liked due to the fact that we take seriously all the feedback that we get and improve it based on that. That is why I want to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am...

Mikkeli
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice small room, quiet. The bed was not good for the spine. The spine makes an U-shape while sleeping. The breakfast was good. The location was perfect for our purpose. There was nice way to show the history of the hotel, collage on the floors.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 363juhanik
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 363juhanik, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your stay with us has been good. Normally we got good feedback about our beds. We really appreciate if you could e-mail us which room you stayed so we can fix the bed. Our e-mail is: hotelhelsinki.helsinki@sokoshotels.fi I am warmly welcoming you back on your next visit...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good Hotel and the location is great. Superior room wasn't as good as we hoped, though we got the bathtub as we asked for. The building and the rooms were old which was nice, but just very ordinary. Breakfast and the service was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaanis331
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear jaanis331, Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the superior room did not please you. We do have superior rooms with different room layouts and views. Our receptionists are happy help to find a room that feels perfect. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and...

Kokkola
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okey stay at this hotel, good location. Good place to stay if you are going shopping, out to eat, sightseeing or to a bar at night. Rooms a bit outdated, especially the bathrooms. Noice from pedestrians could be heard well in to the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank toimitusjohtaja
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear toimitusjohtaja, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for your great review. Best restaurants, shops, museums and main attractions are just around the corner from our hotel. I am glad to see that you had a great visit with us. I hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Best regards, Elina Riipinen Service Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel offers a large number of real single rooms, which is great if you don't want to share and also don't want to pay for a double/twin room as a single person. The room was spacious and clean and I slept very well on the comfortable bed. Breakfast was superb and the staff were all really friendly and helpful....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank liselotte_e2017
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear liselotte_e2017, We indeed we have different size rooms in three room categories: standard, superior and suite. Our receptionists ask during the check if there are any in special needs or requests for the room. Our hotel rooms are very spacious. For example, in our family rooms can be accommodate up to two adults and four children. Thank you so...

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
900 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Price Range: $172 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My roomwas lateral roomand it was quite and good for sleep”
G6663BCmarym, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“May ask for a room away from the tram noise.”
Ally6277, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For quiet room avoid street side and chose high floor?”
ReneV882, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room on the Kluuvikatu side seemed quieter.”
unlovedgirl, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are restaurants inside the hotel serving good food”
gpojha, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5