We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Show Prices
#21 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,697 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 932: English reviews
Pietarsaari, Finland
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel is located at a super position when you travel with train. Shopping in the same building is great and the food that is served is good. Breakfast can be enjoyed with a view and the personal is friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mela S
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear Mela S, Thank You for your visit in Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki. You are warmly welcome again to stay with us! Johanna receptionist Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

vilnius
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Clean, good location in the centre, comfortable bed, therefore the rooms are very tiny and does not give you comfort feeling, ok just for very short stay, hotel is old fashioned, breakfast choice I would say could be better for such hotel, overpriced comparing to other hotels of such level.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank seastar6
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear seastar6, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I appreciate you sharing your honest feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel. Hope to see you again here in Vaakuna. Best regards, Tiina reception Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I've been in different standard hotels, but don't remember being treated that way in reception. The hotel itself is medium quality in down town Helsinki. The location is great if you are using public transportation. Breakfast was quite average. In 7th floor the traffic noise didn't bother. The bed was clean and comfortable, but the bathtub wasn't clean. Over all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jouni M
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear Jouni M, I'm very sorry to hear that You were disappointed with your stay in our hotel. I thank You for taking the time to comment on your visit and giving us feedback of the things we must improve. You are warmly welcome back. Best regards, Johanna Receptionist Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Great hotel! It is located perfectly in the heart of the city center. Great room, great breakfast and friendly staff. I definetly come again in near future. Next time I have to check spa area (sauna).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marialJ392XF
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear marialJ392XF, Thank you for your great review. We're glad to know that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay. Hope seeing you back soon! Best wishes, Tiina reception Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

NML
Reviewed 13 May 2016

It's a beautiful hotel located perfectly in the heart of the city.The staff are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast too with a wide variety to pick from Vaakuna is always my first choice when staying in Helsinki. We always feel welcome and relaxed there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 97jounik
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear 97jounik, Thank you for the compliments. We love to hear that we're your favorite hotel in the city. The staff is making their best that our customers feel welcomed. We are hoping to see you back soon! All the best, Tiina reception Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Western Finland, Finland
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The location of the hotel is excellent, and that's the reason why I choose it almost always during my stay in Helsinki. Personnel is friendly. Sometimes, like this time my room was not so clean that I hoped, it was a quite old room and it was not very cosy because of the smell of urine at first. I use...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eija M
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear Eija M, Thank you for beeing our loyal customer and for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate you sharing your honest feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly for any special requests when you are visiting us next time ( vaakuna.helsinki@sokoshotels.fi) Hope to see you soon! Best...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 9 May 2016

A warm and efficient receptionist ordered us a room before the official check-in-time. We were in a hurry because of an incoming event. Polite staff everywhere; had a lunch before leaving to a wedding. Quite, clean and stylish (50'ties) room on the 8th floor. Air conditioning was quiet and efficient, we slept very well. Everything you'll need in the city...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 635mirjav
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear 635mirjav, Thank you for the great review! We're very happy to hear that you had a good time while staying with us. Looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Tiina Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Satakunta, Finland
Reviewed 8 May 2016

A nice hotel with excellent location in the heart of Helsinki, friendly personnel willing to help in every turn. We enjoyed especially the restaurant with a great view over the city and pure Scandinavian kitchen.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanna693
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear hanna693, Many thanks for the wonderful review! It brought a lot of smiles to our faces as we LOVE to hear how happy we make our guests. We look forward to taking care of you when you come back. Best regards, Tiina Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We got the 9th floor room with big balcony and nice view over Helsinki. The balcony was a lovely surprise for us Breakfast was very good and staff was friendly. Everything was excellent, highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 791tarjak
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear 791tarjak, Thank you for your great review. We're glad to know that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you again soon! Best regards, Tiina Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Rauma, Finland
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Road nouse disturbed my sleep, althought we stayed on 8th floor. Room was located facing east. Also room was a bit small, it didn't bother cause we stayed only one night, but just to let you know. Beautiful lobby!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank teroklei
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review

Dear teroklei, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We're excited to welcome you back to Vaakuna soon. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Tiina Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
883 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Price Range: $185 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quiet and usually have a cityscape view.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbG8201KZ, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel in proximity to convenient public transportation”
 of 5 bubbles YvesVTY, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request Room at X80 plus facing the main railway station.”
 of 5 bubbles morinaga, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor”
  • A view from the top floor
 of 5 bubbles Ve8, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“9th floor rooms got a balcony, for smoking purposes and the view up there could be enjoyed with a companion and a drink”
 of 5 bubbles SYoussef, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5