We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Viking Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Viking Village Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The food is only okay but the service is terrible. Ketchup (with your fries) is an additional 260Kr and you'll need two of them most likely. The advertised alas that accompanies your meal? Well it comes on the cheeseburger in the firm of some iceberg lettuce. Prices very high comparative to other local fare. The hotel is very overpriced; rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimm e
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kimm e, We're disappointed to read about your experience with us, but grateful that you wrote about it. We are a family-run operation that has been at the heart of Hafnarfjöður for almost 30 years and our service to our guests is very important to us.

Airdrie, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed one night on our last night in Iceland. Hotel has an elevator which is not always the case in Iceland. We had a large room on the top floor with view of the harbour. The reception was very pleasant and told us about the restaurant and other amenities of the hotel. We found that the shower did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorie D
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lorie D, We're glad you were willing to try out The Viking. Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. Plumbing problems solved, and that aside -I'm glad you enjoyed the other aspects of our Village.

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I use to travel a lot for pleasure and for job and I ve never seen a smaller room. The standard room is described as a 12 sm and is not 8 sm. The welcoming was horrible as the breakfast. The wifi doesn't exist. Please check the pictures and don t reserve this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cristiana g
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cristiana G, I'm sorry to see that you had such a terrible time with us. I see that you did indeed book the small standard room. All of our standard doubles are 12sm -only our few single rooms are 8sm. But the staff is always happy to offer an upgrade to a superior room when available. The difference in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The rooms were very nice. Clean, large bath and nice view over the sea from the window. Staff very nice and helpful. My only problem of my opinion was very bad coffee and bread. I would have liked good pastry instead of chocolate brownie likeness.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gardar0702
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gardar0702, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the welcoming staff and your stay -if not the coffee and homebaked breads and brownies :)

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend insisted we stay at the Viking village, being an enthusiast of all things Nordic. The staff were friendly and helpful, although seemed to be a little stretched as they were doubling up in the restaurant! Room was adequate and we had a picture of Loki above the bed...hmm. We went to the restaurant and ate, took ages to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark C
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mark C, Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. We're just happy that your girlfriend insisted! And we're glad that you enjoyed it --even if we were all so busy! :) All the best!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed here in July with our school group of 16-18 year olds and the staff were absolutely amazing. We stayed in the Viking village, the outdoor chalets and they are great for allowing the students a chance to mix and go between rooms. The chalets are so well fitted out with a high grade ensuite bathroom, satellite tv, fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Bradley Stoke Community School! We're absolutely thrilled to hear how much you all enjoyed your stay with us! Come back again soon!

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Took a school group here for a night and meal. They thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the viking atmosphere. I wish we had booked the village rather than the hotel as i think the students would have loved it even more. Next time i will do this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1985Jac
Ester Ellen N, General Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 1985Jac, Thank you for coming to see us at Viking Village -and thank you for taking time to write a review about your group's expereince. We know people are busy --and those in charge of school groups, 100x so! So, thank you! We're happy to hear that you all enjoyed us and look forward to having you back :)

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this place as we wanted to get a feel of Nordic Culture. We had high expectations from this place and to be honest.. we were a little disappointed. The rooms are weirdly structured with no charging points. Also we found the price to be a little high as compared to the facilities provided. Good thing about the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AppyFuss
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arpitasarawat, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't love our hotel. I'm not sure what you mean about no charging points -there are, of course, many electrical outlets in both our guest rooms and our common areas. Nevertheless, we're happy that you at least enjoyed our restaurant!

Halifax Region, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I'm actually a little late in submitting this (being new to trip advisor) but couldn't not leave a glowing review of this Icelandic treasure. Having first visited in April 2014 and being impressed with the staff and hotel my husband and I decided to return in the November to hold our wedding reception there. The fantastic staff went over and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed in the Viking Village Hotel for a week and loved it. Amazing wooden decor that takes you back in time. Staff dress in Viking regalia. It's just lovely! The room was basic but spacious and clean. The bathroom was fine...but the bath was very high off the ground to get into and it would not have been easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tantat2013
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tantat2013, Thank you, thank you for your kind words! We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us -and were happy to be of help to make sure you were able to enjoy your time to the fullest! We sure hope you come back for a summer visit! :)

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
950 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#13 of 59 in Reykjavik
212 reviews
Hotel Smari
#1 of 1 in Kopavogur
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
3,165 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 59 in Reykjavik
365 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $169 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just dont go here go into the city”
 of 5 bubbles princesslea_10, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not take any room from 9 - 14 on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles davidcX6251LP, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid any room next to the resaurant”
 of 5 bubbles booker925, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The log cabins are perfect for a school visit or large party”
 of 5 bubbles Taffy73, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views from rooms at the front. 32 has great views of the harbour but is a premium room.”
  • Me sitting on the very comfy bed!
  • A nighttime view from room 32
 of 5 bubbles Dozeydustman, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay