We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Keilir

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
Seattle
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely exhausted after hours of travel and the airline missing our flight. Very little is happening in Keflavik but on the weekend night I got new sleep. A night club was in full affect and the street noise was crazy. No one seemed to be staying the hotel so not sure why the put me in this crap room. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megdoh
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Please ignore the people here criticising this hotel after their flight was cancelled. I and my family were in the same position - yes it was frustrating, but people were taking it out on the poor woman from this hotel (and are doing so again here on TripAdvisor) despite the fact that she had opened the hotel especially for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony d
Province of Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stood here because for two night my fly didn't leave! The host was really helpful and opened the hotel only for us their day off! The hotel is really nice and clean! Good place near airport! From Keflavik I saw the aurore borealis!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fabio234
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our flight was canceled, we had nowhere to go! Hotel Keilir opened for us and worked the whole night to make us all a nice stay! Rooms were very big and very clean! The lady on the receiption was an angel and helped us with everything! Would go there again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and and I had the misfortune of being stranded in Iceland at the end of a perfect holiday. Weather conditions meant our EasyJet flight was cancelled. We were put on a coach to an unknown destination and ended up at Hotel Keilir. It's a basic hotel but the service, under extremely trying circumstances was second to none. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E B
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Take notice of the negative reviews- I would question the authenticity of positive reviews for this hotel. Ithas to be the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. The female (owner?) of the hotel was very rude and moaned constantly about the guests. She is clearly in the wrong business as she dislikes tourists with a passion. She did nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honey71
stinnson, Manager at Hotel Keilir, responded to this review

Dear guest, kindly notice you were offered to go to a nother hotel that you would not asept, few other guest were just waiting for there rooms but you wanted the service all the way at once for you and your family. It is most inportant for all the people to have there rooms then next step is food. Happy...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were allocated this hotel following our flight cancellation. It was clear the owner didn't want us there. The rooms were freezing as windows had gaps in them and the radiators didn't work. When we told the owner, she told one passenger to leave the hotel if they weren't happy and another to ask younger passengers to swap with them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mangogir
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Absolutely amazing hotel and staff. Could not ask for anything more. Staff are outstanding, positive and upbeat and enjoy the task of ensuring all guests are comfortable and enjoying the stay. For sure, when we are back in Iceland, we stay at this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patel19812016
stinnson, Manager at Hotel Keilir, responded to this review

Thanks for kind and enjoyable words for us, you were very nice to have. Have a beautiful Christmas and if you come again to Iceland it would be a plesure to have you here.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Good parking area. Easy to check in and everything very smooth. Newly decorated and very modern. Our room had everything we needed. I want to thank for the hospitality, everything was as promised. My very best Lewis!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgelewis3
Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 14 December 2016

had a great stay at this hotel. All the hotel standards were good. breakfast was good, nice view and a polite staff working all day and night. My experience staying here was good. Price was also very fair. I will recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thrainn

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
769 reviews
3.2 km away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#5 of 9 in Keflavik
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#4 of 9 in Keflavik
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
729 reviews
3.7 km away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Keilir is a Family run hotel in the heart of Keflavik / Reykjanesbaer . Located on the city's main street, Hafnargata, shopping and other amenities are within easy walking distance and Keflavik International Airport is just a 5-minute drive away. Hotel Keilir is a fantastic place to serve as your base of exploration for Iceland, especially for passengers looking to make the most of a shorter stopover in Iceland. The view from Hotel Keilir is unique both from the street and oceanside. There are a number of quality restaurants in the vicinity and the Blue Lagoon spa and resort is just 15 minutes away. Reykjavik is 40 minutes by bus or car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Keilir

Address: Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Price Range: $128 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keilir 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keilir Hotel Keflavík
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Keilir staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Keilir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everything”
 of 5 bubbles patel19812016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea side was fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles georgelewis3, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the water for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 1987porsche944, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get oceanview room”
 of 5 bubbles 619wilsonl, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a waterfront view as it's perfect for watching the Northern Lights.”
  • View from room on second floor
 of 5 bubbles Sheridan2867, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay