We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Cabin

Booking.comUS$177*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$219*
US$177*
US$197*
US$219*
US$177*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cabin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,690: English reviews
Stokenchurch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel Cabin is rather shabby. The receptionist advised us on what lift to take, "as the hotel is a Maze". This didn't fill me with confidence. My spirits were lifted when I saw we were in the deluxe room area. God knows what a standard room is like. The carpet was stained with what looked like blood. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve N
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Steven N, Thank you for your comments and your stay in Cabin. We are sorry to hear that Cabin did not meet up to your expectations, and we apologise for the noises from the lift and hope that it did not disturbed you. You are right, the internet connection at the hotel has not been good lately but it...

Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed here at the start and end of my trip to Iceland. Lovely staff. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable but so noisy from other hotel users. The rooms are so small that if you have a big bag (or even small to be honest) there is nowhere to put it so you end up climbing over it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil H
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Neil H, Thank you for your stay and the review on hotel Cabin. We are glad that you liked out staff. Yes you are right the standard rooms are smaller but the closet has space to store your bag and other belongings if needed. We do offer hairdryers to lend out but you have to ask the reception. Best...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Stayed 2 nights at Hotel Cabin. First night, an interior room with no window, no daylight, and a very bad bed. Second night, exterior room, good bed but the room was very small. Breakfast ok, but the dinner buffet was not very good and with very few options. Friendly staff and relatively good location. As a bargain hotel it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Håkon H
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Hakon H, Thank you for the stay at hotel Cabin. We are really glad that you liked our staff. As you mentioned the rooms are in fact small but fully equipped with breakfast included in our budget price. Best regards, Helga

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely week in Iceland but unfortunately this hotel was a disaster. Our room was dirty and tiny. There were no windows. The staff were not friendly at all. No even an "hello". We moved out to another hotel nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Regularjourneys
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Regularjourneys, We will see what we can do to fix these issues that you pointed out and we apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectation. Our standard rooms are in fact small but fully equipped. Hope that you had a good stay in Iceland. Best regards, Helga

Bournemouth
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Affordable and convenient. Small but comfy rooms, nice bathrooms. You can walk to the city centre. Very good breakfast! Fresh, plenty to choose from. And oranges! Sweet and juicy and just beautiful. You can buy postcards and stamps in the little hotel souvenir shop and leave it in the reception, they will post it for you. Only thing is there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ditta1982
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear ditta1982, Thank you for your review and also yor stay at hotel Cabin. Yes when the weather is bad everyone wants to stay inside and there is not enough space for everybody like you pointed out. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and your stay. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Helga

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Good, but very small rooms- however it is very good value for money. Breakfast and dinner were average and there wasn't much choice. Very noisy because of numerous international school groups and the walls were very thin between rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron A
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Aaron A, Thank you for this review and your stay at hotel Cabin. We hope to see you again at our hotel. Best regards, Helga

France
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This is a good hotel. Our room was spacious and equipped with all we needed. That said, our friends didn't have such a nice room and were quite disappointed. Food was good but avoid the salad which was poor. A fab location for sight seeing and resting your head. There were a number of school groups using the hotel, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen935
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Helen935, Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay hotel Cabin. Best regards, Helga

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

the first time we walked into our room, we burst into laughter- it was tiny! this hotel is absolutely fine if you're on a budget and just looking for somewhere to spend your nights. Staff were helpful, and you can book tours downstairs. When we visited the main lift wasn't working but that wasn't really an issue for us. Breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T-Tan-87
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear T-Tan-87, Thank you for your kind review about hotel Cabin. Yes you are right the rooms are small but they are fully equipped. Hope that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel. Best regards, Helga

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I had a clean, comfortable and quiet room on the top floor overlooking the bay. The reception service was excellent and the 11.30 to 21.00 salad bar facility very helpful for anyone arriving at an irregular time as it includes a choice of hot soups and one hot dish for about nine pounds. An early breakfast plus tea or coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teignview2015
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear teignview2015, Thank you very much for the kind review about hotel Cabin. We are glad to hear that you liked out staff and location. The walk along the bay from the hotel to the city center is very nice like you said. Hope to see you again at hotel Cabin. Best regards, Helga

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Our room was booked through "Discover the World" agent, and was our first night in Iceland. Reception staff cold, but not surprising as many visitors probably passing through for one night. The bar and reception area are dated, but comfortable when waiting for onward travel. We had a room on 6th floor with a great view of the bay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BotanicJules
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear BotanicJules, Thank you for your review for Cabin and for your stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience with our staff. We will look into this and see where we can improve. Yes you are right you used to have the correct change but now you can use your card to pay for your bus ride into...

713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (182)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
523 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
482 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,547 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: $164 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cabin staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cabin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 5th floor with a view of the bay. No street noise, but our windows were closed.”
Ingrid200, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“If space is important consider upgrading.”
il0vemarrakech, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your room has a proper window, not one opening on to corridor.”
PLJ_11, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the north side facing the street.”
458vincec, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the top rooms were apparently the best”
jersey95, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$177* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$197
TripAdvisorUS$177
Hotel CabinUS$219
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates