We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fosshotel Baron

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Fosshotel Baron
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Baron
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,401: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We stayed here twice during our visit to Iceland. Both stays had been booked through the company that arranged our driving tour. Check in was great and front desk staff helped us with some local calls and other arrangements - very welcoming. Our first room was very small, and while clean, needed updating especially the carpet. The second stay was...

1Thank RMB-SK
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location was perfect - an easy 10-15 minute walk to the city centre either via the main shopping streets or along the lovely seawall, but far enough out from downtown to avoid noise. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful, and the breakfast offers a great selection (though can be very crowded depending...

1Thank kaoc1
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked a two bedroom apartment for two nights. We were given apartment 106 on the first floor just above the lobby area. The bathroom smelled of urine (not hot water sulphur) so bad which we think came from the bathroom floor drain; we were then given apartment 110 down the hall which was much better. Natalia, the front desk...

1Thank Edward A
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Edward A, Thank you for taking the time to giver your comments on Fosshotel Barón. There was a problem with the drain in the room 106, a pipe had just broken and unfortunately we did not know about it before you checked in but we had it fixed immediately. Im glad to hear you liked our breakfast. We have...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Not really what i would call a hotel.The rooms are small and the place is very dirty.we paid up-front to stay here and when we saw the room we nearly passed out-when we put the suitcases in the room it looked full.. But the manager of the hotel did move us to a sister hotel and that was excellent. I...

2Thank fernmaster
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear fernmaster, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent visit at our hotel. I am saddened your experience fell short of expectation. During your short visit we showed you a few room types as we were trying to find you a room to your liking, so you must know that most of our rooms are quite...

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom studio apartment for 2 separate nights at the beginning and end of our holiday, booked as part of a circular trip by Iceland Unlimited. There was a double and a twin bedroom and a sofa-bed (sleeps up to 2 extra people) in the small living/dining area, private bathroom, small balcony and...

2Thank howie2507
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our breakfast and convenient rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your overall stay in Iceland was all that you had hoped for. Best regards, Eva Hotel manager

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The staff were awesome. The breakfast buffet would have been great if I wasn't on a very limited diet. It was well stocked and the food I was able to eat was wonderful. Loved the room, but the bed wasn't the most comfortable. I was there for a week and it was great for the first 3 days, but then...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank damhnaitc2015
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. I am sorry to hear that your back was hurting after a few nights, most our beds are new but if you can send me an email with your room number I can see if it is one of...

Jarfalla, Sweden
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Small room and a very small bathroom with no place to put or hang your toilet bag. No toiletries in the bathroom apart from soap on the wall. The room was In need of some renovation but the hotel was quiet and it is only 5 minutes walk from the main street. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is...

Thank AnneR39
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear AnneR39, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about Fosshotel Barón. We have many different kind of rooms at the hotel, ranging from small to 2 bedroom apartments with kitchen facilities so if our guests like more space it is possible to ask for an upgrade at the reception for a fee. On our top 2...

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My wife and I stayed at Fosshotel Baron for four nights in August. We enjoyed the location. It's easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on Laugavegur and the center. But it's a fairly quiet location about two blocks off of Laugavegur. It's also has easy parking and it was easy for us to take driving trips out...

Thank Barbapapa47
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Our studio at Fosshotel Baron has seen better days. Our room looked nothing like the photos other than having the same floorplan. The furniture was all showing significant wear and the mattresses should have been replaced long ago. The shower was growing mildew inside and the button to flush the commode was broken. The flooring looked as though it had...

3Thank Adam L
Eva B, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review

Dear Adam, Thank you for your leaving your feedback. We do know the furniture have seen better days and are planning renovations. I am saddened to hear that the mattress was so bad and the shower growing mildew. I would greatly appreciate it if you would send me an email with the room number you were staying in so I...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 August 2015

While it may have just opened this spring, there were truly lack of signage for the parking lot and directions from the parking lot to lobby. The little signage was printed on a standard sheet of paper and taped up. We couldn't see the signage for the parking lot and they had to point it out to us. The construction...

Thank Les236

488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (474)
Dining (22)
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Room/Suite (105)
View from Room (66)
Bathroom (31)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
898 reviews
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,266 reviews
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,085 reviews
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
590 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $228 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fosshotel Baron staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Fosshotel Baron staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our rooms on second floor very quiet”
641unac, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Book an ocean view room”
curleymac, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with ocean view”
KNT5, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the sea”
MarkUSAretired, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room on the higher floors located at the front, this gives a great view”
peterv137, 10 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$206* /night
View Deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates