We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,282: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped with family on route from Highlands back to London to rest up before long drive back. Was excited to see the great polish map of Scotland. Enjoyed the leisure facilities had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Staff were lovely attentive and very helpful. Room was comfortable until you are kept awake by sounds like a boiler or jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wedderburn
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wedderburn, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Barony Castle Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you had experienced. We have closely investigated your complaint and unfortunately were unable to identify the cause. We know this could not have been triggered by the boilers due to the distance from the room 111. Further, if...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed our stay. When we arrived we were given our room we went to it and it was a lovely but my partner found a lot of corn flies in the bath tub. We went to reception on our way to pool and informed them of this and the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher T
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristopher T, thank you for taking time in reviewing your stay at the Barony Castle Hotel. I was happy to hear that apart from a few issues you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that sometimes guests will experience certain issues during their stay. It is, however, very important that as a Hotel we do as...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Our second visit to Barony Castle. Very relaxing, clean, comfortable and sizable rooms, excellent staff and customer service, great breakfasts and good bar menu. Unable to comment on the restaurant dinner menu as we didn't use it but I'm sure it is to the same high standard as everything else. We'll definitely be staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paultwalker63
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paultwalker63, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Barony Castle Hotel. I am happy to hear it was truly hassle-free and you are thinking of returning in future already. We always aim to deliver exceptional level of service and exceed our guests' expectations whenever possible. You appreciation is the sign that we are moving towards the right direction....

Portlethen
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Very comfortable warm room. Clean although bathroom required upgrading. Staff very friendly and helpful .Breakfast very good full Scottish feast and good value for money. would return for longer stay to this lovely hotel in beautiful setting. An excellent start to a journey to York

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuncanFran
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DuncanFran, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The building is beautiful. Rooms are average but comfortable. Bath/shower, TV, hairdryer etc. Reception staff were friendly and helpful as was the duty manager. Bar area is nicely decorated, drinks are reasonably priced. Restaurant staff were rude and made my mother in law feel uncomfortable. We didn't book breakfast but decided to have it on both mornings of our 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

On a dark desert highway..........well you know the rest of the song, but this didn't turn into a nightmare, far from it. yes the decor and carpets need changing and there is the need for a lick of paint in some areas but this somehow adds to the charm of the place. Very imposing entrance and buildings, our room wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen R, thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasant read. I am happy to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned previously, the Hotel is undergoing planned refurbishment which we are very open about. I think it is important to emphasize that we are trying tom improve the facilities for our futures...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Warm and friendly staff greeted us on entering following an impressive drive through the grounds. The checking in process was effortless and we were quickly on our way to our room which was vast with stunning views away from the front of the hotel towards the Moorfoot Hills. The fresh fruit and chocolate covered strawberries were very well received !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin Y
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gavin Y, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. The special thanks will go to our Head Chef and his team of professionals. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as...

Houston, Texas, Usa
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed one night in early Oct. Wonderfull old castle house, set in large grounds with lots of interesting walks and path and nearby local interests within easy walking distance. Room very comfortable. Staff very helpfull, easy check in and check out. And also accomodated our pet dog. . Good breakfast buffet. Great pool, spa and sauna, which was empty all...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan561957
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan561957, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Barony Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay and made the most of our facilities. I will also make sure your feedback is passed on to my staff who I am sure will feel appreciated. We are working hard to constantly improve our services and...

Cheltenham
Reviewed 23 October 2016

An historic building in a beautiful location within reasonable distance of Edinburgh and other places of interest in the Scottish Borders. We have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. Clean and spacious rooms. Some decor is a little 'tired' though there seems to be a programme of refurbishment being carried out at present tho this...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katharines311
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katharines311, thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the Hotel is undergoing planned refurbishment. Currently we are redecorating our Public areas and in parallel continue improvements in rooms. The next stage is the corridors which we hope to finish in 2017. We have put a few mood...

Kirkliston
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel as a family of 4 with a 2yr old & 5 yr old. As many people have said in their reviews the hotel is in need of refurbishment. The exterior building itself could do with being painted but not sure if that is allowed due to its history....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claireg517
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claireg517 Thank you for writing such an informative review. I do hope that apart from a few niggles you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,769 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
698 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
835 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: $67 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask or a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittywanders, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for best room available”
 of 5 bubbles _lindascott1965, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites are also available”
 of 5 bubbles mrsalbertz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room, get breakfast in deal.”
 of 5 bubbles jackiemcseveney, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you cant walk far get a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 967mikee, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5