We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 1 hotels in Lewdown

Lewtrenchard Manor

409 reviews
Save
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (22)
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the owners”(44 reviews)
“murray family”(28 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(20 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (409)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Lewtrenchard Manor
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
342
44
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
342
44
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownersmurray familyafternoon tealog firesdining roomfour poster bedprince rupertexcellent foodfirst classa real treatsandwichesst clementsthree courseslovely groundsbeautiful placewedding anniversarycountry house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Over the August Bank Holiday weekend I took 22 of my family to Lewtrenchard. From the planning stage to our leaving, they couldn't have been more helpful and I have to mention Vikky for whom nothing was too much trouble. My guests said their rooms...More

Thank Athenafran
Response from Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard ManorResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Athenafran Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and that the weather was not TOO much like Devon weather can be!! You will obviously have to come back for weeks to get through the...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Spent a single night here en route to Cornwall. A beautiful 17th century Manor in wonderful grounds. My bedroom, Lyndhurst, was very tasteful with a lovely padded window seat overlooking the grounds. Room well appointed and bathroom very generous. A delicious meal in the dining...More

Thank Katherine D
Response from Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard ManorResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Katherine D We are a very good stopping off point for guests on their way to Cornwall and thank you for your kind words about your stay. We hope you will use us again when venturing to the West Country!

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Elegant Lewtrenchard Manor is a charming hotel with a lovely calm atmosphere. We stayed in the St Gertrude suite which has large windows on three sides, making it beautifully light. The dinner menu changed slightly each evening. Every course was beautifully presented and full of...More

Thank KentManKent
Response from Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard ManorResponded 9 October 2017

Dear KentMan Kent I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our staff and so it is so nice when they get recognition from our guests for their efforts. Thank you so much and we hope to see...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were on holiday in the area when we went for Sunday lunch at Lewtrenchard Manor for my birthday. It is a very small hotel with 14 bedrooms with beautiful gardens and surroundings. The Manor House was beautiful too in its Jacobean...More

Thank BizzieLizzie63
Response from Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard ManorResponded 9 October 2017

Dear BizzieLizz63 Thank you very much for your very kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday lunch and I look forward to welcoming you both back to Lewtrenchard very soon.

Reviewed 28 August 2017

very poor service in a beautiful setting. very small servings after a very long wait. didnt stay for dessert as thought it would take too long! had to sit out on terrace in very hot sunshine as we had been told there wasnt room for...More

Thank Jacqui B
Response from Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard ManorResponded 9 October 2017

I am sorry that you were so disappointed in your lunch here in August. We had two large parties booked for that day - both booked some time ahead as it was a bank holiday. One at 12 noon and your party at 1.00 pm....More

PreviousNext
12345681
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (22)
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Bathroom (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$204 - US$302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$204 - US$302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jannerbloke
19 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Mr_H_10 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. there is disabled access, I believe the courtyard rooms are easiest access, it is dog friendly with free Wifi
1
Vote
Libby H
15 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Duncan M | Property representative |
Most of our beds are King size or super King, but some rooms for instance the four poster beds are smaller. It is always best to call or email us at the hotel to find out our availability.
1
Vote
Room Tips
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite