We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

British Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
British Hotel
British Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for British Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We decided at short notice on a break in fascinating Valletta and delightful Malta. The British Hotel was one of only a few available. It's very well located just a short walk up the hill to the cathedral and city centre. It overlooks the Grand Harbour and so enjoys fabulous views across to the "Three Cities". The reception and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogermargaret2015
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Overlooking the waterfront opposite fort St Angelo a beautiful site light up at night . Staff friendly and informative .. Room clean ,sufficient for X1 person . Wifi available free . A bar with a collection of over 20 different whisky types .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kuccarda
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 November 2016

stayed for 2N in this very nice small establishment. room was on the small and old side, but the lobby lounge bar was very pleasant place to hang out, admire the view, and work. hot shower was hot and internet worked fast and was free. would most definitely go again. breakfast had decent variety and coffee was good. the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urmsu888
California
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The British Hotel is a low frills, basic hotel, very clean, great breakfast, a perfect location to walk around Valletta, (also close to the main bus terminal), has an AWESOME view of the Grande Harbor and maybe the best thing is their amazing & helpful staff. Yes, the furniture in the room is dated and low frills but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingbud
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This is a small hotel in need of a major refurbishment. That said it is in an amazing location with fantastic views over the Grand Harbour . If you are just looking for a bed and a shower because you are going to be out exploring ,then it works really well . Breakfast is poor but just round the corner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alistairbudd
Göteborg
Reviewed 15 November 2016

this hotel has a great location if you wouldl like to visit a center of Valletta town. It is located close to the bus terminal and you can easily get here by foot but be aware of that whole island are high hills and there are stairs on the street to get to the hotel. therefore I wouldn´t reccomend it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I have previously stayed twice at The British Hotel and enjoyed the location, the character and experience. On this third occasion I recommended it to my companion and we had twin rooms , single occupancy ( Rooms 121 and 124 @ over 100 euros per night each, room only) . As soon as I saw the rooms I requested a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shirgram
David M, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. The fact that you had stayed twice already says something. One thing I can say is that all rooms are different since its an old building and therefore the rooms shown on the Web site are not necessary the same rooms one books unless it's specified in the reservation. Rooms 121 and 124 are twin...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I stayed here in October 2016 and was happy I chose this hotel because of the location. Of course, as everyone else mentions, the view is amazing! Some of the positive aspects of the hotel of course are the location, but also the breakfast was very nice, and it is also wonderful to have that view every morning while eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniela3883
David M, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Sorry if there was no booklet in your drawer. We usually put one in every room in the desk. However I would like to point out that the safe is quite basic as it has a keyhole so one just needs to get a key from the reception at no cost.. I would like to point...

North Canton, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 2 November 2016

In some respects the British Hotel is ordinary. Typically small European room. Rather austere. But it's location is, in fact, terrific. On the Grand Harbor waterfront with rooms overlooking the water. Walk up steep inclines for a couple minutes and you are in central Valletta. Nice restaurant with very nice breakfast buffet. On my last night, I decided to try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel has had extensive work carried out to the benefit of the guests. The view from either restaurant or bar balconies is still the same - unequalled. The staff would do anything to help make your stay comfortable and deserve a lot of credit. A few regular faces among the staff still make you feel at home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
David M, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments and was glad to have you stay here once again ..looking forward to your next visit regards and thanks

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Inland Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Standard Seaview (25)
Viewed
Superior Seaview (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.8 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
3,571 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
483 reviews
0.5 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 13 in Valletta
375 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
290 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think you would want a higher floor for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles keepmovingmom, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with view of the harbour if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaastewart2016, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Harbor view a must.”
 of 5 bubbles Tim_Fletcher, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are not direct on a floor and you have to climb some steps”
 of 5 bubbles roelofv0, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask David the manager , he will accommodate your requirements email him”
 of 5 bubbles kuccarda, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5