We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 695: English reviews
Brussels
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We went already several time to this Hotel and it always great to be back, the service is really professional, the rooms and shower awesome and breakfast is probably the best in town offering eggs Benedictine. The view from the top floor is amazing, there you will have breakfast and you could also enjoy the view from bar in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mi2perdomo
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear mi2perdomo, Great to hear that you enjoy our hotel so much that you keep coming back. We really appreciate your kind words and it is a pleasure to share this with my team. I truly hope to welcome you again in 2017. Warm regards, Fernando López Lens General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I went there for an event (free entry) and I really have to say that everything was good from the venue, food (some meat, macaroons and other sweets), drink (not free), staff to the music. I really enjoyed that night!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlicejaneEvans
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear AlicejaneEvans, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while being at our hotel. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to spend a night at our hotel in the upcoming year. Kind regards, Fernando López Lens General Manager

Reviewed 12 December 2016

This hotel deserves without a doubt 5/5 stars. All staff members are very professional, friendly and provided great service throughout our stay. Very spacious and well designed room with all necessary amenities inside. Their breakfast buffet is incredibly good. You can choose between a variety of many different choices that will fit anyone. Be sure to try their freshly squeezed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armin F
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Armin F, Thank you very much for your extensive review about our hotel. It is a true joy to read your comment and hear about your satisfaction. I am convinced that each and every one of my team will be very pleased to hear that you had such a great time. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome...

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Quite nice hotel, but with very few services - does not deserve a 5 star category. Nice bar at top floor. Very expensive restaurant with average food. I went there several times for business travel. Lacks character.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank varsleis v
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Varsleis v, Thank you for having shared your opinion with us. We are sorry to hear that our hotel does not deserve a 5* rating in your eyes and that the level of service was below your expectations. Rest assured that each and every one of our ambassadors do their very best to ensure a true five star experience....

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel, centrally located with friendly people and fantastic service. The rooms are modern and very well appointed and the views from the bar area is stunning. Check in at reception was done swiftly. All in all a very professional set-up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maalberts
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear maalberts, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and were satisfied with all of the different services which we have to offer. We look forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Fernando López Lens General Manager

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The staff here were amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had dinner in the top floor restaurant and the aperitifs were to die for! We did spend around €250 on dinner and drinks and I was surprised that our parking wasn't validated for free and we had to pay an extra €23 for this it should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Clare J, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. It is a real pleasure to read about your great experience which you had at our hotel. I will make sure that it will be shared with our kitchen brigade and the entire f&b team. The parking does not belong to our hotel which unfortunately does not give us...

Highland Beach, Florida
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

A great location with views of the old town the sofitel grand ducal in Luxembourg is a great place to stay.‎ The room which faced the valley and old town was average size with good amenities including plugs, wifi, oversize shower, separate wc and tv. The complimentary minibar had several bottles of mineral water. Breakfast on the 8th floor offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Highlandbeachflorida, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time at our hotel. I will make sure to let my entire team know about how satisfied you were. I hope that we can welcome you again when you are in Luxembourg. Sincerely, Fernando López Lens General Manager

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

All great apart from dinner, over cooked steak, but okay, what is not good was the total blank I had from the waiter when I told him. Also the LED lighting around the bar spoils the view of the city because of the reflections.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S G W
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear S G W, Thank you for having shared your opinion about our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the fact that the steak you ordered was not cooked to your liking. Usually all of our waiters are properly trained to know on how to handle such situations but rest assured that I will follow up. Thus, the unpleasant...

gosport
Reviewed 6 December 2016

just had a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a great stay its in a really good location and the views from the hotel bar is stunning . the only down side is the price of the breakfast which is a bit over the top , if you could just pop up and pay for a coffee that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GosportBlue
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear GosportBlue, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again. Sincerely, Fernando López Lens General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 30 November 2016

From what I understand, Sofitel Le Grand Ducal is among the best hotels in Luxembourg... I'm afraid that this says a lot about the paucity of the local hotel market, rather than the quality of the hotel. The Sofitel is a modern building with a rather average lobby and dull overall decoration, lacking desperately charm. I have stayed there 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Elliot, Thank you for having taken the time to express your opinion about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you expected your stay to be different and that we were not able to provide you with the amenities and service you were hoping to get from a hotel as ours. If you decide to come back...

588 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (539)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (198)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.2 km away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
667 reviews
1.3 km away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,416 reviews
1.8 km away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
3.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,685 reviews
0.1 km away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
L'ETOILE du Top Floor
L'ETOILE du Top Floor
Cuisines: French, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Price Range: $203 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gte a room overlooking the city”
 of 5 bubbles 339334, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a view to the old city; a must!”
  • Odd arrangement, not sure I really liked it!
 of 5 bubbles ZoZoMelbourne, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a room on the 7th floor, you won't sleep at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 310erwinc, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking to the valley are nicer - and more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles varsleisv, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“back room were nice and quite”
 of 5 bubbles GosportBlue, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5