We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Franzenshof

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Franzenshof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Venice, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Overall a good hotel. Good staff and the breakfast wasn't to bad. I will recommend it to anyone who is wanting a good night. It is close to the city and stations and other restaurants and supermarkets.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 244philipe
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Phipip, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards Family Sobotka & Team More 

Prague
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The hotel is in a neighborhood I feel scared walking along after 7pm, and the whole setting is really out of dated so I think it's over charging.

Helpful?
Thank Zhozho
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Zhozho, thank you very much for your feedback.We can not understand why you felt uncomfortable on the street. The Hotel Franzenshof is located in a quiete residential area. Vienna is a safe City and as woman there are no problems to walk around alone in the night in Vienna. Does something happen on the street during your stay? Best... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Coming home from Germany, we decided on the run to spend a night in Vienna. Since Vienna is always a very crowdy place, some friends recommended that we stay here. It was not a bad choice. Friendly staff, they helped us with important information (like there is no parking fare on Saturdays and Sundays in the town), the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andreea N
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards Family Sobotka & Team More 

Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

First the positives and the reason I have the hotel 3 stars instead of 2: the hotel is well located, the price is very hard to beat and the rooms are clean. Breakfast was standard and the wifi was generally acceptably fast. Sounds good, right? My first complaint: We stayed 5 nights at the hotel and were given the tiniest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Epic M
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Epic, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not felt confortable during you stay. Due to the fact that our house was built in 1911 we have smaller and bigger rooms. Room 223 is a smaller double room. Yes it is true that we still have in Vienna a liberal Smoking policy. Our... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and kind. I stayed in a single bed room, which was well appointed. The showers and toilets were shares, however really really (unexpectedly) nice and clean. The room could have done with more plugs available by the bed for those of us who like to have our phones charge next to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Emmadoesit
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Emmadoesit, thank your very much for your feedback and suggestions. Best regards from Vienna Family Sobotka & Team More 

Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for two nights the breakfast for €8 was good. Wrapping a bread roll each for lunch was a bonus. The soup available at the bar was spicy but just what I needed after a tiring day. The room was clean and adequate. I just wish the room had a fridge. My only problem was that they insisted on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, thank your very much for your feedback. Unfortunately it seems that there was a misunderstanding. Of course you can pay the room and breakfast with credit card, we only prefer cash. Buffet breakfast means that you can eat how much you like, but we are sorry it is not allowed to take a lunch packet with you. Beste... More 

Crumlin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One front of house staff member was brusque which was offensive at first but learned to find it charming. The room was small but comfortable and very cheap, Bathrooms were also v. clean and room cleaned daily. The hotel is easy walking to the city centre but also right next to the underground station and a stand where you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank 949mikemacfarlane
Barbara S, Inhaber at Hotel Franzenshof, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope that you felt comfortable during your stay. Best regards from Vienna. Family Sobotka & Team More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#253 of 366 in Vienna
278 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#216 of 366 in Vienna
273 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#219 of 366 in Vienna
216 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#153 of 366 in Vienna
1,417 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#237 of 366 in Vienna
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We welcome our guest to a friendly and cosy atmosphere in our charming City Hotel. Enjoy your stay in our bright and friendly furnished rooms. Relax after an exciting day and make you feel at home.Whether you travel with your Family, or arrive for a business-trip, just on your own - we offer a wide range of accomodation, from single rooms to spacious four-bed rooms among you can choose as desired.Our rooms have shower/toilet, timber flooring and allergic linen. Furthermore in all our rooms we have Sat-TV, telephone and WiFi.After a comfortable night we offer you a full and balanced breakfast buffet with tasty and fresh Austrian products. Family Sobotka is looking forward to your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Franzenshof

Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 19, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $44 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Franzenshof 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Franzenshof staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Franzenshof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never visit this one! ”
 of 5 bubbles loupvovk, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Bring a double plug if you want to anything else plugged in next to the bed in addition to the lamp provided!”
 of 5 bubbles Emmadoesit, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“maybe an extra blanket although Im sure they have them down stairs if needed”
 of 5 bubbles heraldohiggens, 19 May 2014 | Read review
“great economy choice”
 of 5 bubbles keesya_face, 5 Jan 2014 | Read review
4 of 4