We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 789: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wombats is conveniently located one small block from the metro stop and also just across the street from the wonderful Naschmarkt. The hostel is so big it's almost hotel-like. There is an elevator, guest kitchen, a bar/pub with pool table, and a paid all you can eat breakfast for 4,5€ every morning which is well worth the price. Mostly continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bbbicious
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms were really clean, the locality is good but the best part was the breakfast it was like a feast.The metro station was 1 min walk. There is local market right in front of it. Full value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaAghi
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Easy to find using the directions given on site. Good location. Like the fresh sheets but bare mattress was a little dirty. Comfy bed. Breakfast is SO worth the money!! Would recommend and would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie G
Reviewed 1 week ago

very good structure, bar, breakfast, good bedrooms (the one i stayed had a bathroom in it, which helps), great sheets and very nice environment. very close to the subway and walking distance to many of vienna's attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella W
Reviewed 1 week ago

I start with the location, that is very nice, very close to the metro. the staff are very friendly, the atmosphere are really nice and a bar that is very cool. I highly recommend this hostel. The room was comfortable and warm. very clean and was an amazing experience.. the best part of it: it's no expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iFelipe S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Room was super clean and very spacious. The bar area was very social and fun. Great ambiance all around and staff were very helpful. Only stayed for a short time but will definitely stay here when I return to Vienna.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The wifi does not working. We couldn't connect to internet in 3 days of our stay at wombats. It was terrible. If you are a traveller and if you need wifi connection don't choose this place. Wifi is not working anywhere in the hostel, including the lobby!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uğur Ö
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

Hi Ugur! Thank you for your feedback. We had the wifi maintained in the end of January, that's true. Every good service needs a maintenance at some point ;) But I can't confirm we had troubles with the connection for 3 days straight. Did you talk to the receptionists about your issue? Because in case people permanently can't connect, we...

Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great location to be in Vienna. The hostel was clean and well maintained. The staff was very nice, but it was kind of expensive for a hostel. Easy to find and get to from the airport. More geared towards groups as there were not many activities for solo travelers. Nice kitchen and seating areas!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was pretty big and spacious with a huge window that let in lots of natural light. Room was clean and bed was really comfortable. The breakfast for E4.5 in the morning is such good value for money. It's so well located for exploring the Vienna City Center too and having an U-Bahn station almost on the doorstep is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudiduZA
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location by the kettensbrucke u bahn train. Easy walk to the sights too. Right infront of the flea market on Saturday with amazing antiques it's like a museum. Supermarket next door. Heaps of restaurants and cool bars like Phil nearby. The bar is fun with games too and you can meet people you can't hear any noise from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinaMj

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (21)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm with Street View (19)
Viewed
Panorama Double Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Female Dorm (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 200 in Vienna
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Wieden

Neighbourhood Profile
Wieden
The fourth district combines elegant tradition with contemporary style and relaxed living. More than a dozen town palaces and churches such as St. Charles Borromeo have added glamour to a neighbourhood known for its traditional retail and crafts shops, taverns, cafés. Wieden is also home to Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest street market. Many bohemian types have found their way to Wieden: meet them in trendy cafés and bars, shop alongside them for vintage items, enjoy Wien Museum’s and Kunsthalle’s modern temporary exhibitions, and hang out with the bees at Vienna’s most beautiful urban garden, Karlsgarten.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Price Range: $25 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go there and check in early to reserve two (or more) beds together.”
 of 5 bubbles 100hey, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good quality”
 of 5 bubbles piotreks365, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“any room with no bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles doann167, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for street view and not mixed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MariannaD_Amore, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean rooms, great common area”
 of 5 bubbles 40beckye, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5