We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

1. The reception is great, workers there speak fluent English, and they're really nice. 2. The baggage room is locked from the reception, so it's kinda safe 3. The room is just GREAT. Pillows are in good quality. Everything is clean and tidy. Every bed has its own lamp and socket. 4. Bath room is clean and has the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 書瑋 郭
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelling alone it had been a while since I had stayed in a hostel. Any reservations I had disappeared quickly once I'd arrived and unpacked. The hostel rooms are basic but the en suite is a welcome change to having to leave the bedroom to use the toilet/shower. The hostel has a good vibe with a real mix of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

As a group we are usually very onto checking reviews, but had booked a triple private for a friends birthday weekend months ago and made the mistake of not checking reviews closer to the date. Unfortunately we were woken in the night with the discovery of bed bugs, then having to spend the next 5 hours cleaning our clothes before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamieson C
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place I booked after a lot of consideration and since a friend had recommended. Turned out to be a very basic place. Just about okay. Dont think I would recommend this place to anyone again.If you have no such fussiness you can book here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pallu16
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hostel é confortável, mas... Infelizmente uma das staff, nos atendeu muito mal, tínhamos apenas uma nota de 500 euros para pagar a hospedagem ela disse que não iria receber a nota e teríamos que trocar a mesma para pagar. Sendo que era domingo e estava chovendo, disse que a gente teria de trocar de qualquer forma ou ela não poderia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro B
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience. In the e-mails you've sent to us you did not tell us what was wrong about your stay, you only had troubles to understand the 14€ charged from your credit card. I'm happy to try and explain it once more: The mistake happened on your behalf when you booked online. You made a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maybe the best hostel I ever been. Everything clean, a very beautiful common room and spacious. The bar is also very good but with high prices. The breakfast is excellent, a buffet for 4,5€ with a lot of options. I recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank André R
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best hostels I have been to around Europe, I was in a 4 bed female-dorm, it was very spacious for a dorm, and even bigger than any hostel dorm I have ever been into. The room was clean, they give you fresh sheets on arrival. The bathroom was clean. Power sockets available for each bunk, wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noha M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Wombats for 3 nights. I've stayed at other Wombats before and was throughly impressed. So I didn't think staying here was any different. Great location and friendly staff. However, I received a lot of bed bugs bites and now currently treating my room for it. It's a hassle and I'm not all pleased about it!! Probably wouldn't recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doan N
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the bad experience you had at our hostel, unfortunately bed bugs are currently on the rise all over Europe. Did you tell our reception staff about it? If not, could you please contact us with details of your stay, so we can treat the affected room. Safe Travels! Your WomCrew

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wombats, Nashmarkt, Vienna has been one of the best places that I and my wife have stayed together. We wanted to stay in a hostel during our Euro trip and thanks to Wombats for this great experience. It is centrally located with lots of restaurants around and the main attraction is its just in front of the famous Nashmarkt of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Novel C
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Wombat's Naschmarkt for one night. Very close to the city centre, staff are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and clean. Towels are available to rent for free. Good selection of breakfast, could be a bigger selection but enough for a hostel. Free coffee machine available at breakfast too. Received a drinks token upon arrival at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e21m27

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (21)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm with Street View (19)
Viewed
Panorama Double Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Female Dorm (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 366 in Vienna
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
1,166 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Wieden

Neighbourhood Profile
Wieden
The fourth district combines elegant tradition with contemporary style and relaxed living. More than a dozen town palaces and churches such as St. Charles Borromeo have added glamour to a neighbourhood known for its traditional retail and crafts shops, taverns, cafés. Wieden is also home to Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest street market. Many bohemian types have found their way to Wieden: meet them in trendy cafés and bars, shop alongside them for vintage items, enjoy Wien Museum’s and Kunsthalle’s modern temporary exhibitions, and hang out with the bees at Vienna’s most beautiful urban garden, Karlsgarten.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Price Range: $27 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room with no bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles doann167, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for street view and not mixed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MariannaD_Amore, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean rooms, great common area”
 of 5 bubbles 40beckye, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“beware of room 102, i slept on the upper bed”
 of 5 bubbles gladyscha, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing Naschmarket are well ventilated, airy and bright.”
  • 4-bed mixed dorm
  • 4-bed mixed dorm facing Naschmarket
 of 5 bubbles Sharma2013, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay