We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Saint Shermin

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Saint Shermin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Shermin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

My stay in Vienna was made as comfortable as it' s possible and I had real home feeling. Property is located in excelent place with great accessability. Modern and comfortable interrior. Highly recomend this place. Thank you!

Thank puremed
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear puremed, thank you for your nice words. We are glad to hear you felt like at home, thats what we want to offer. A place to be and to come back! Best regards from vienna Sissy

Reviewed 19 October 2016

The apartment is great for all needs! it's super-equipped and very near the subway. The bed is very comfortable! In front of the apartment there is a supermarket. I reccommend this apartment to everyone!!

Thank favoletta_m
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear favoletta_m, thank you for your nice words! It seems you had a good night sleep in our boxspringbeds! and you could also find all your items you may need for a comfortable stay at our appartement. Nice to hear you will recommend our house! Please do come again Best wishes from vienna Sissy

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Pros: - Quiet area outside of the tourist drag - Clean and spacious room - Nicely decorated room with unique furniture - Excellent email communications before our stay - Good budget hotel, much cheaper than other hotels in Vienna - Very close to Nachtmarket - Many good breakfast eateries nearby Cons: - A bit far from attractions - Hotel not...

1Thank dorakk
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear dorakk, thank you for taking your time to send us your review. Nice to hear you found a nice room and a comfortable stay at a reasonable price, but this makes it impossible to have our reception staffed 24/7. Therefor we arrange a 24/7 telefon to help our guests in every situation and in case you forget a key...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, and to be welcomed with a glass of champagne was perfect! We were in room 16, which was lovely & spacious. The bathroom was super clean & modern yet very compact - however this didn't bother us. Nice touches with the hotel tablet instead of info book in the room & nespresso capsules. I would definitely return to...

Thank nkf01
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear nkf01, we say thank you for your nice words! We are glad to hear you have used the tablet in your room to get all your informations you may use. You took the chance to have a nice cup of coffee, freshly brewed and enjoyed it in your room. Hope to see you soon in Vienna and Hotel Saint...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

It was quite an unusual checking in experience when there was no staff around, however it was well organised and we easily found our way into the hotel and to our room. We stayed there for 3 nights in room 12 and it was quite spacious for 2 traveling friends with two large suitcases. It's located only a few minutes...

Thank BFStyles
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear HollyStyles, thank you for your nice review! We are glad you found the space you needed for your suitcases and you couldt see the city center nearby! Hope to see you soon at Hotel Saint Shermin and you will have the chance to try the homemade cakes for breakfast, which we offer everyday! Sunny wishes from Vienna Sissy

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This "B&B" is tiny, just 8-10 rooms. The front desk isn't always staffed and the elevator didn't work when we arrived. It's quaint and in a good location but definitely lacks amenities and space. Our bathroom was TINY. The TV had no English channels. The room was just okay. The breakfast was just okay. Yes, it's affordable but next time...

Thank SanFranDoc
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear SanFranDOc, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear we could not impress you. But please feel free to come to the reception so we can help you to make you feel more comfortable. We are a small house, but we never mentioned to be a big one, thats also the reason for not beeing able to...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I stayed in Room 20 at the St. Shermin for 2 nights. After flying overnight and arriving in the morning, they kindly allowed me to check in early. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. My only minor complaint would be that the window opened to a small open area between buildings that was shaded. It always looked like...

Thank weaver56
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear weaver56, thank you for taking your time to send us a nice review. Unfortunatly our building is one in a city and therefor we cannot guarantee for all our rooms nice views - thats a city! and you can believe us we would have changed it already if its possible, but this makes the rooms very quiet - which...

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We loved staying in this nicely decorated room just south of the old part of town. The staff were very friendly and even gave us a nice glass of champagne in the evening. When you arrive, the front desk may not be open but that is no problem, you just need to know that the reception area is on the...

Thank PileOfCorks
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear PileofCorks, thank you for your comment. Nice to hear you got the glass of champagne even when the reception is not open the whole night! Only short notice the reception is on the first floor located, just in case you or somebody else will use this review to find us! ;-) Nice to meet you soon in Vienna again...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. I’m not sure how I would describe the Saint Shermin. As main other reviewers have said it’s much closer to a B&B as what you get for your money is a room. You could probably say there and have no contact with a member of staff. Reception’ is manned for a few...

Thank cltboy
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear cltboy, sorry, to hear you didn´t see any members of the staff - we were here everyday during daytime and also at night and also during that time we offer the free champagne even during breakfast, but we don´t sell it by glass - sorry to correct you, but this was the price for the small bottle you have...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Saint Sherman recently for two nights. They organised an airport transfer when we arrived and the driver was great - knowledgable and took us right up to reception. The room was very spacious, had a great bath and awesome decor (room 21). Staff were friendly and very helpful and the location was right in the heart of...

Thank Tassj59
Sissy F, Manager at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review

Dear Mialeigh1990, thank you for your nice words. Our staff tries always to be helpfull and friendly, also our driver - who is one the best! hope to see you here one day - maybe we can show you another room- all of our rooms are different! Best wishes from Vienna, still sunny weather here! Sissy F

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (100)
Dining (10)
Room/Suite (21)
Bathroom (6)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
View from Room (1)
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Augarten Room (47)
Marie Theresia Room (49)
Dining (21)
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (147)
Room/Suite (49)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Dining (16)
Bathroom (1)
Other (61)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
1,165 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 366 in Vienna
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Wieden

Neighbourhood Profile
The fourth district combines elegant tradition with contemporary style and relaxed living. More than a dozen town palaces and churches such as St. Charles Borromeo have added glamour to a neighbourhood known for its traditional retail and crafts shops, taverns, cafés. Wieden is also home to Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest street market. Many bohemian types have found their way to Wieden: meet them in trendy cafés and bars, shop alongside them for vintage items, enjoy Wien Museum’s and Kunsthalle’s modern temporary exhibitions, and hang out with the bees at Vienna’s most beautiful urban garden, Karlsgarten.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stylish, family-run Hotel Shermin offers modern accommodation in the centre of Vienna, just a 5-minute walk from the Karlsplatz Underground Station. The daily breakfast buffet includes traditional Viennese coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious, individually furnished rooms come with a private bathroom, minibar, seating area, and a flat-screen TV. Room themes include Viennese sights such as the Augarten Park or the Lainzer Zoo's Hermes Villa, which was once the hunting residence of the imperial family.The Shermin Hotel has a convenient and quiet location close to the State Opera and St. Charles Church. The Kärntner Straße shopping area is just a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Shermin

Address: Rilkeplatz 7, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Price Range: $125 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Shermin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Saint Shermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shermin Hotel Vienna
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Saint Shermin staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Saint Shermin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only stayed in one but that I liked a lot. Rooms have numbers but also themes, mine was called the 'Wienerwald' and is a corner unit.”
 of 5 bubbles Oliver_ZeroKah, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I recommend taking the bigger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Haramachi, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Studio apartment ”
 of 5 bubbles favoletta_m, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a large room...ours was 18 and tiny.”
 of 5 bubbles SanFranDoc, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask about view from window”
  • Wardrobe and TV
  • Shutter, pipes, wallpaper and other flats to the left
  • Good size room
  • A bit cramped
  • Sink with toiletries
  • interesting bedisde lamp shades
 of 5 bubbles cltboy, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay