We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Show Prices
#101 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Serbia
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Nice, clean and modern room, separate toilet from bathtube. Worm and pleasante. Helpful staff. Sound proof windows. Hotel parking is expencive, but if you spend a weekdays than is free of charge to parking on the street in front of the hotel. Not far from city center, 10-15 min by foot. We take room with 4 beds and we hade...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ivanast
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are really happy to hear that you had such a good time staying with us! We hope to welcome you again soon - either here in Vienna or in any other MEININGER Hotel located all around Europe! Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 12 February 2015

The hotel website uses photoshop enhanced or computer generated photos. Over priced. Upon communication the management did not satisfy my needs. I checked in and checked out immediately. My advice ask them to send real photos of your room before confirming the booking as it is mostly non refundable.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank M Assad R
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay at our hotel. The photos on the websites though are all real, just as the ones the management has sent you per email. The exact size of the rooms is also listed on most of the booking websites. In case you have any questions...

Reviewed 11 February 2015

The romos are bigger tan what they look in pics (this not usual). Very clean. The only thing WIFI is not so stable and requires several attempts to get thru. Very close to center via metro. Staff is ver friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seraidi C
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are really happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and liked basically everything about it :) We will work on fixing the internet, so the travellers will not have any trouble regarding this. We hope to welcome you in one of our hotels again soon! Best...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

I must say this hotel is alot like its sisters hotel meininger franz about 2-3 blocks. Nice clean n modern rooms n bldgs. Really cool laid back atmodphere, with amenities open late.. very late n located close enough to walk to main city center. Maybe 10 mins. More of a younger crowd n that I mean later 20s to mid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vinay S
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for these kind words, we really appreciate it! It´s good to hear that you had a nice stay here and enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere so typical for MEININGER. Now that you checked out the Vienna hotels it´s time to visit the other MEININGERs - maybe in Salzburg, Munich, Amsterdam, Brussels, Berlin..? Best wishes Your...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Nice hotel / hostel located in a quiet neighbourhood. It had supermarkets nearby which came in handy as it offered a fully functioning kitchen for guests to use. It was also very clean and the rooms were quite modern. As a hotel, it was nice and reasonably priced but also as a hostel it struggled to get the hostel charm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank yo uvery much for your exhausting review! We´re happy ot hear that you had a nice time staying with us, even though we do not have a hostel atmosphere here. MEININGER in general is indeed a mix of a hotel and a hostel - you could say you can find a hotel quality here for hostel prices....

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2015

rooms were clean. bathrooms were clean and provided everything you need. great location. wifi is not very trustworthy and unique code is given to each device. location is walking distance from downtown (about 10 minutes). Close to the river. breakfast is same of European hotels (light). have a washer and dryer and a kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenFromTaiwan
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! We´re glad to hear that all in all you had a pleasant stay here in Vienna. It would be nice to see you in a MEININGER again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

Lavis, Italy
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 124teresam
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the Meinnger Hotel Sissi after I had stayed at the Franz nearby earlier this year. We were overall very pleased and had a positive experience. If you are looking for the hostel vibe to meet other travellers, you would be better off finding somewhere else. We were happy it was very family oriented though....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mykool W
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you very much for your feedback! It´s always good to hear that our guests are satisfied with their stay and that we have met their expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again soon! Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Sissi Team

Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

It's a really good option when u want to travel and save some money, i paid 11 euros per night and it was clean and save, near to the city, the attetion was good, they have their own breakfast room, highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arturo C
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Vienna so much! We hope that we can welcome you again soon - maybe again in Vienna or in any other MEININGER city! Many greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Sissi Team

Reviewed 8 December 2014

I was there last week and to be honest when I fist came to the lobby I was a bit disappointed, as it doesn't look anything but nice. The first impression it was we were in a youth hostel or something similar. The good news is that the staff is really friendly and nice, also professional. The rooms are quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank filobraccs
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are really happy to hear that you had a nice time staying with us, even though you had your doubts at the beginning. We hope we can welcome you in one of our hotels again in the future! Best wishes from Vienna Your MEININGER Sissi Team

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 367 in Vienna
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#165 of 367 in Vienna
339 reviews
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#80 of 367 in Vienna
213 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $72 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#105 Family Hotel in Vienna
#112 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double check your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles advbg, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pop to loca Aldi and buy a few things and costs are even chealper”
 of 5 bubbles 159kevint, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask the receptionist anything they are great!!”
 of 5 bubbles liliananatukundak, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid rooms close to the stairway”
 of 5 bubbles Bas1965, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oriented to Young People”
 of 5 bubbles 928marcelar, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5