We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Show Prices
#104 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Province of Naples, Italy
Reviewed 2 October 2014

This was a nice hotel in a good location. It is in a quiet neighborhood about three minutes away from the U-bahn station and about fifteen minutes away from the city center by subway. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were super comfortable. Loved the beds and the bathroom was quiet roomy. They had free Wifi and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia P
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, the M-Team Sissi

Alexandria Governorate, Egypt
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albahar_123
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Our room was modern and a good value in an expensive city. But despite the room being for two of us, there were two twin beds and a bunk bed on a semi-hollow hard wood floor. Two "bathrooms" -- one with a toilet the other with a shower. Both had mirrors. The toilet one smelled fairly terrible and needed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetaming
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Pottsville, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

These rooms are very modern, clean and good value for money. Although, we did find sleeping on fitted mattress protectors a bit strange. We had a road facing room on 5th floor and the street/car noise still carries up. So maybe not a road facing room if noise bothers you. It is within a couple of minutes walk from hop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddys4
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, the Meininger Team Sissi

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 9 September 2014

I would definitely stay there next time: good location, place, area, easy the reach everything in Wien. embankment and undergrond stations are very close! Highly recommend. clean, cosy but we had some problems with internet connection in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letovska
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, the Meininger Team Sissi

Nantes, France
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We stayed 2 night there, we enjoyed welcome staff, clean room and very practical situation to go and back to the city center by walk. We get accident there and the staff had been very helpfull to call doctor and hospital. Thanks a lot !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solene M
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, the Meininger Team Sissi

Copenhagen
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed four friends in a four person room for a prolonged weekend in the summer. The hotel was clean, well kept and well equipped and the price was incredibly reasonable for a pricy city. The staff was helpful and friendly but I would recommend eating breakfast somewhere else, there are plenty of good cafés and bakeries within a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SiridBongo
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your kind words! It´s great to hear that you had such a good time during your stay here with us! We would be happy to see you in one of our hotels again! Best wishes from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

Targu-Mures, Mures, Romania
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is placed in a quiet area, 10 minutes walking till the city centre of Vienna. A good choice for family with kids, quadruple rooms has 2 extra bed available, nice staff, parking available in the neighborhood for 22 euro/day. The hotel has a small underground parking but usually full. Wi-fi was quite a challenge, works but with many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camelius
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, even though the wifi was not as you were hoping for. We are already working on improvement and are sure, there won´t be any interruptions the next time you decide to stay with us. Best wishes from Vienna...

Schweiz
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked this hotel, because on the homepage it was written that the have 3 bed rooms. As we arrived, there was a double room with a bulk bed! The bulk bed was a sofa and extremely uncomfortable. We asked at the reception for another mattress, another room or a discount, because it was not like priced. The extremely unfriendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chicordable
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you did not really enjoy your stay here in MEININGER Sissi. We will work on all the issues that troubled you and perhaps at some point you can try MEININGER again so we can convince you of our qualities. Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

Winterthur, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Even though the location of the hotel and the rooms are relatively good, there are couple of downsides. First, the wifi! The network cant support the number of guests the hotel has and therefore it is technically impossible to connect to the internet! The stuff was also not very helpful when this matter was brought to the table, all they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leakviolet
Toni M, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your stay here in Vienna. We are sorry about the wifi - there are indeed some technical problems at the moment, which we are working on and we hope to solve them as soon as possible. For urgent cases we offer 2 computer...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 366 in Vienna
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#165 of 366 in Vienna
336 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#90 of 366 in Vienna
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: $57 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#105 Family Hotel in Vienna
#112 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the receptionist anything they are great!!”
 of 5 bubbles liliananatukundak, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid rooms close to the stairway”
 of 5 bubbles Bas1965, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oriented to Young People”
 of 5 bubbles 928marcelar, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Easy access, free wifi”
 of 5 bubbles MahwishN, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check out "Shöne Perle" Restaurant nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles hoomang2013, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5