We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

First Hotel Victoria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
First Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing to complain about, nor nothing to high-lite. Lobby staff where polite, but could have offered better service. Room size for the superior was ok, and there was clean and nice bathrooms. Breakfast was ok, but the hotell did not offer a takeaway supplement if you have to leave before it's served.

Helpful?
Thank Joachim N
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests so that we can improve the service and our product. We hope to se you again very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We just recently stayed in the First Hotel Victoria. When you enter, you think this is pretty. Reception checked us in, took our money, there was no "enjoy your stay" , didn't tell us where our room was located or where breakfast is in the morning. Such poor customer skills. We entered our room with a metal silver door which... More 

Helpful?
Thank 106raff
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me this important feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. It is important for us to get feedback from our guests so we can use this to improve the service and product. I am so sorry to se that you didn`t have a good experience staying here.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hamar hotels

Hamar
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Everything you need, close by 😊 Close to shopping and bus- and rail-way stadion. The best for me was short distance to school. I did not enjoy the restaurant connected to the hotel. Did not like the service or the sushi I ordered.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mona O
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments after your stay with us. I appreciate it and I am glad to se that you overall had a nice experience staying at Victoria Hotel even if you didn`t like the service and sushi in the restaurant. I will give this feedback to the owner of the... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The hotel has a very good location in the center of Hamar, very close to the railway station. Quiet. Excellent breakfast. I got a room with a very nice view overlooking the Lake Mjösa. The staff was very kind and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank historian448
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay at Victoria Hotel. I truly appreciate it and I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back with us very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Close to the railway station, to the lake and to the city centre. Very comfortable beds. Unfortunately the room was very warm during the night, but the weather was very stuffy and not to be blamed on the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ellensR1303HU
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you overall had a good experience staying at First Hotel Victoria. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Eastern Norway, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The food was excellent, the staff were fiendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and the rooms are good with a nice view out at the Norways largest lake, Mjøsa, BUT the full impression was disturbed by labours working outside and in the same building during our stay. has to make sure that the workers outside does not disturb their... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank benteo66
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate. First of all I would like to apologies for the noise from the workers. We are currently expanding the hotel with new rooms and a restaurant so we can give our guests an even better experience staying with us.... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We loved our short stay here, an hour north of Oslo airport. The room was very nice, the bathroom was clean and bright and updated. Breakfast was fantastic with wonderful homemade breads and plenty of options. Staff was friendly. We could walk to the cathedral ruins, staying next to the lake during the walk. Kept our window open at night-... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your very positive feedback. I truly appreciate it and I will tell all my staff that you find them friendly. And I will tell the kitchen manager that you enjoyed the breakfast. Again, thank you so much. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Trude G.... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had the superior twin rooms, which were very spacious. There was a kettle but only 2 tea bags, no option of coffee. As mentioned in other reviews the trains are very noisy and you need the windows shut to sleep, which means a very hot night. Air conditioning would be a useful addition.

Helpful?
Thank knight950
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am sorry to see that you didn`t have a good sleep due to the train at night. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard that will be a bit more quiet. Again, thank you... More 

Asker, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Nice location, good breakfast, friendly staff. Good standard. Some construction work currently going on at the hotel but that did not affect my stay to any extent. The railway alongside the hotel may cause some noise.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 782lastnight3
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Victoria Hotel though you experienced some noise from the railway. Next time ask for a room facing the back yard. We hope you will visit us... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Hamar one minute from the train station. The rooms are OK standard with good beds, clean and a nice bathroom, The staff were very friendly and helpful and they were flexible about check in. check out. All in all a good stay and good value for Norway.

Helpful?
Thank Pål G
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this nice feedback after your stay at Victoria Hotel. I truly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you had a nice stay with us an I am especially happy to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back here very soon. Best regards Trude G. Oreld... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamar
0.8 km away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#3 of 6 in Hamar
113 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
4.1 km away
Scandic Ringsaker
Scandic Ringsaker
#1 of 1 in Furnes
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
27.2 km away
Scandic Elgstua
Scandic Elgstua
#1 of 2 in Elverum
155 reviews
28.3 km away
First Hotel Elverum
First Hotel Elverum
#2 of 2 in Elverum
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about First Hotel Victoria

Address: Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Price Range: $138 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your First Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Hamar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Victoria staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tampa, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend a room with seaside view.”
 of 5 bubbles joachimn883, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake view and upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles stuberjuerg, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Gill128, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Of course lake side rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles NitinUniyal_jet, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Renovate room 724”
 of 5 bubbles knuterikn2015, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay