We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thon Hotel Tromso

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Tromso
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Tromso
 Click to rate
Anaheim, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If for no other reason to stay in this hotel, stay for the amazing breakfast included with the room. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10am on weekdays and 8am-11am on weekends. Some items were not available every day. However, the variety made breakfast interesting. I highly recommend the chocolate filled bun with cream on top Buffet Items include: Roast Beef, Chicken, baked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold H
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is centrally located near many restaurants and shopping. During my recent 10 night stay in Norway, these rooms are the largest by far. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. A grand breakfast buffet each morning and being attached to a great restaurant tops it all off. I recommend the Thon Polar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 717perrye
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review after your stay with us at Thon Hotel Tromso. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location has been convenient for your visit to Tromso. Glad that our breakfast was able to amaze you and I do hope...

birmingham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of Travelsphere tour. Tour is fantastic Hotel is well located for all that there is to do in Tromso. 5 mins walk to Mack brewery and attached pub ( highly recommended) , and 5 mins in opposite direction to main shopping street and waterfront. There is co-op within 200 yds also. Sadly hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikefre3
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Greetings and many thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you had a good stay at Thon Hotel Tromso. Thank you for pointing out our location, facilities and not to mention the breakfast. We hope to see you again, welcome back!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel in central location. Positives - 1. Clean and modern 2. Excellent breakfast with a big choice 3. Comfy beds 4. Quiet 5. Friendly helpful staff Negatives - 1. Small rooms so if you're travelling with suitcases it's tight for space with nowhere to store your cases. 2. No safe which is important if you're travelling with passports etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelK1717
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review after your stay with us at Thon Hotel Polar. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location has been convenient for your visit to Tromso. Glad that our breakfast was able to amaze you and I do hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Started and ended my Norway trip here. Pretty good fun and good service. The rooms have good space and free WiFi. 10 minutes from the airport, it's rather central with a few restaurants and shops about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herman S
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Greetings and many thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you had a good stay at Thon Hotel Tromso. Thank you for pointing out our location, facilities and not to mention the breakfast. We hope to see you again, welcome back!

Kirkenes, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotell is nice, but the room to cold! Despite asking to regulate the temperature, nothing could be done by the receptionist. Temperature "could not be meassured". Nobody wants to pay for a cold room!

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moxifloxacin
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with certain aspect of the service we provide. You can be assured that your remarks concerning your stay have been discussed with the people concerned and appropriate actions have been taken...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The bedrooms were very comfortable, however, we were given a disabled room. We asked to change rooms, however, were told all rooms were the same, which was clearly a lie. On the last night, there was a group of teenagers staying with team-leaders who were extremely noisy. We complained 4 times to the hotel reception, however, the noise continued to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. We understand your point of view, regarding the fact that sometimes there is some noise in the corridor with people slamming doors. And we would like to apologize for it. You can be assured that your remark has been discussed...

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Even though we didn't have too high expectations based on the reviews we had read we were a little disappointed with our stay at the Thon hotel. The main points of criticism were: - the extremely small room - we could barely find a place for our luggage, let alone unpack our stuff because there was simply no room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelCat
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill out this satisfaction survey. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with certain aspect of the service we provide. You can be assured that your remarks concerning your last stay have been discussed with the people concerned and appropriate actions have been...

southampton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 305 from 3-6 February and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The rooms are not large, but my husband is 6ft4 and did not have any problems moving around normally, and the bed must have been kingsize as we both had so much room. The room is provided with two areas for hanging clothes (but one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missnuffy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent two nights here in February 2017 as part of a three night package - I missed the first night of my booking as our plane was diverted to another city due to bad weather at Tromso. The hotel is centrally located on one of the main shopping streets in the town and all the main amenities are within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth596

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
698 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Price Range: $179 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tromso
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Demand good enough heating!”
 of 5 bubbles Moxifloxacin, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All floors are accessible by lift, but the stairs are often less crowded if you are on a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles missnuffy, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“as it is centrally located there are other high buildings around so think you might struggle to get an outstanding view.”
 of 5 bubbles dickybird868, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chose a different hotel, there are lots of others in Tromso”
 of 5 bubbles OmerGatherer, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are under pitched roof, cozy but reduces the size somewhat.”
  • pitched roof
  • more ore less accessible bathroom
 of 5 bubbles PINELights, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5