We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Enter Backpack Hotel

Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good40%
  • Average23%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“northern lights”(14 reviews)
“great wifi”(2 reviews)
“bed room”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsgreat wifibed roomfresh towelsvisiting tromsocentre of townbeds were comfortableshort stayhotel is situatedfridgesupermarket
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 125 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018

I reserved a room at this hotel through booking.com and was told my card would not be charged at the time of reservation. When I realized they charged my card a couple of days later, I promptly cancelled the reservation (over a week before my...More

1  Thank brabbit99
Response from fredrikabc, Front Office Manager at Enter Backpack HotelResponded June 30, 2018

Hello, We are sorry that this went the way it did. But as a non-refundable booking is non-refundable, we can not do much about this issue. Best regards, Enter Backpack Hotel

Reviewed April 4, 2018

This hotel used to have a different name. It was ABC Hotel, one of the two hotels in town owned by the same guy. This one was relatively less expensive and it was run more like a hostel rather than a hotel. It had a...More

1  Thank PacLighter
Management response:Responded April 17, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your comments. We still have a fully stocked kitchen and a lounge with several tables, sofa and TV. (common-room) The opening hours is something we will look into and try to get better soothed for our guests. Best regards, Enter Backpack...More

Reviewed March 12, 2018

We were visiting Tromso to get married and see the northern lights. Our apartment was impeccable, perfectly clean and comfortable. The hotel was aware we were getting married and upgraded our apartment for us which we were naturally delighted about. We ran into some paperwork...More

Thank rosidom1991
Management response:Responded April 17, 2018

Hello and thank you! It is so nice to read that you are satisfied with our apartment and our staff. We are proud to have such good people with us at our hotel. So nice that everything turned out great and that your stay here...More

Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Horrible place, me and my boys had a long weekend at this terrible hotell, we paid 10k for the hole weekend. But after 15 hours we GOT kicked out, without any warnings. The place stanked, no isolation and the staff was disrespectfull, absoluttely awfull.

1  Thank Mats S
Reviewed January 11, 2018

Comfortable rooms in a really good location of the city, close to the center and many shops. It has a shared living room and kitchen facilities. Great for short stay. For additional fee, car park is also available.

Thank Tibor R
View more reviews
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Price range
US$68 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Price range
US$68 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ràńà H
November 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fredrikabc | Property representative |
Dear Ràńà H, A taxi is about 200,- NOK. And jonathangohyongsing is correct with the bus prices. If you pre-pay for your ticket it is about 36,- in kiosks, or you can buy a 24 hour pass. Best regards, Fredrik ABC hotell
November 19, 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Simen S | Property representative |
Hi Sophia! The shuttle is 70NOK, and as Larisse said you can also take the citybus number 40 or 42 from the airport to the city. Regards Simen ABC Hotell
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Read the fine print when you book."
Read review
"The apartments are well worth the money, they are spectacular!"
Read review
"private room with bathroom"
Read review
"The apartment was always warm & inviting with a great view."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing