We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thon Hotel Spectrum

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Spectrum
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Spectrum
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was currently under renovation as of the wed night I stayed 22 FEB 2017. The room was nice and comfortable, however I was woken up at 0100 by loud screaming. There is a bar right next to the hotel. I'm not sure if that was the cause, but the loud yelling and screaming back and forth continued on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry that you were unable to sleep. The street outside is a busy pedestrian street, so some noise from people can unfortunately occur. This week it has been winter holidays in Norway, so I can imagine that there were more people out than normal on...

Solna, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice and clean hotel close to the city center, central station and communications. They were renovating rooms and restaurant, so breakfast was served at a nearby cafe. They don't have a gym, nor do they cooperate with any which is a shame. I went to nearby SATS Spektrum and paid 200 NOK for 24 hour pass. It's a very basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zebban
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review, it is highly appreciated! We are glad that you found the hotel to be nice and clean, and centrally located. As you say, we are currently renovating the hotel. In addition to renovating all the hotel rooms, we are building a gym, a breakfast room and a lounge - so this...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I went to Oslo to see Green Day in concert. I chose this because of the location to the Spectrum. To say it was close to everything is an understatement. It was an easy to walk to Karl Johan's Gate, there is a large mall called Oslo City very nearby, there are good places to eat. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfayaz
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a review. We are glad to see that you were happy with our location, and that you liked the room! Thon Hotels is doing a major renovation on many of the hotels now, and our goal is to present the hotels as colourful and inviting - hence...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a nice, newly renovated room. Beds are really comfortable, so in general the comfort of the room itself is great. However, the breakfast is served in a nearby café as the breakfast area of the Hotel is under renovation. I must say, that the breakfast is quite possibly the worst Hotel breakfast I have ever been served. If...

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Erik, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the breakfast, and can assure you that we are working continuously with the Café to increase the standard of the breakfast product. As you know, this is temporary, and our own breakfast room will be ready for use during...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The hotel is going through a renovation and we had one of the new rooms. Rooms are very spacious, modern and comfortable. Very centrally located, close to the Oslo S train station and Karl Johan street (all walking distance). The front desk staff were extremely helpful in giving us directions on how to get to places. Pastries and coffee available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgarcia718
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel and that the front desk staff took good care of you during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you to Thon Hotel Spectrum again on another occasion. Best regards Monica Vestad Reservations...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Had a nice balcony which I enjoyed. Room was a bit tight though getting around. Staff was friendly. The location was OK. The price was more reasonable than some of the others downtown so I went with it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopBloke999
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. However, I think you might have reviewed the wrong hotel? We do not have any rooms with balcony at Thon Hotel Spectrum. As there are 15 Thon - hotels in Oslo, it is easy to make the mistake of choosing the wrong Thon - hotel to review....

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Well located hotel. Within easy walking distance of the bus and rail station and airport limk. Very quiet well equipped compact room which was extremely comfortable. A big bonus was lots of good budget restaurants close to the hotel.f Front desk staff helpful . Excellent Scandinavian style breakfast in comfortable surroundings. Excellentf value for Norway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeandcharlie
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice review! We are glad that you liked our location, and that you were happy with the room. Easy access to restaurants and shopping is absolutely a bonus when staying with us. Good to hear that you got the help needed from our front desk staff, and that you enjoyed our breakfast....

Reviewed 8 November 2016

Just a few minutes from the centralstation and towncenter, a small problem getting in and out of the shower because of the high bathtub. Very god bed and a huge smart-tv whit internett Access. Close to several good resturants.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert j
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our rooms have separate shower and not bathtub, so please notify us in advance and we will reserve a room with separate shower for you for your next stay. We hope to see you in Thon Hotel...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 6 November 2016

But therefore also fully exploited so small rooms, a lot of people and traffic and little space in the common room. Perfectly fine place to sleep, but not a hotel feel for relaxation. Shortest path to Spektrum concert hall so easy way if you are going to a concert

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brit G
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is highly appreciated. We are happy to see that our location suited your needs. Our rooms have varying sizes, some are quite small and some again rather spacious. The breakfast room is currently being renovated, and will be a much bigger area when it...

Buzau, Romania
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel really 4 *, located near the railway station Santa Maria centrala.Camerele equipped with everything you need, iron, tv, wifi, kettle for preparing coffee, clean bathroom, cleaning zilnic.Micul breakfast is rich .Nearby found shopping centers, restaurants and baruri.Personal well trained, attentive and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgescviorel53

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#13 of 99 in Oslo
669 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 99 in Oslo
939 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#19 of 99 in Oslo
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#32 of 99 in Oslo
571 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 99 in Oslo
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Spectrum

Address: Brugata 7, Oslo 0186, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: $186 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Spectrum staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Spectrum staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If arriving through the train station, finding the hotel and Brugata street could be tricky.”
 of 5 bubbles dgarcia718, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request for rooms facing inner court for better sleep”
 of 5 bubbles footsteps333, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room, room 406, while facing a car park was quiet in terms of traffic noise 'compensated' by a resident noisy seagull.”
 of 5 bubbles johnrichardm2016, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large sunny”
 of 5 bubbles trulsroste, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“As in all city hotels, rooms as high up as possible (5. or 6. floor) will be the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles sigmundm, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5