We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Sjolyst

Show Prices
#38 of 98 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Sjolyst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilden2017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived in the very deep dark Norwegian January night after driving in total snowstorm. Worn out, crying baby and car was no match for this hotel. Check in took about 5 minutes, 10 minutes later car was parked in safe garage and 25 minutes later all soundly asleep in a very nice king size bed. +Kids under 13 stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Kris Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am delighted to read that we were able to ensure a comfortable and hopefully a memorable stay for you and your family. I do hope to see you back with us soon. Warmest regards Theodor von Porat General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Some rooms are nice, other quite old. The cleaning is not good, thay do not remove the towels even if you follow the instructuíons and put them in the sink. I also had garbage in the trashbin in the toilet from a previous guest. I have provided feedback on the breakfast several times, but no progress. For example the vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida K
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Ida K Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a few words after your recent stay with us. First of all, please accept my apologies for the lack of cleaning that you point out. There is no excuse for this, we haven’t done our job. In regards to the breakfast, I don’t doubt that you...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Set in a nice neighborhood, a minute walk to the train station, variety of restaurants and shops close by makes this a perfect choice. The staff are quite friendly and helpful, the breakfast had a wide variety of food. I would recommend to stay here any day and would definitely be back there soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William N
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear William N Thank you so much for staying with us as well as taking the time to share some from your experience. Great to hear that the area and location suits your needs. Delighted to read the comments in regards to my colleagues. I do hope we wil see you back in the near future. Warmest regards Theodor von...

Reviewed 7 November 2016

Very good location and good hotel. Refurbished rooms and comfortable beds. Also the personnel is very kind and I'm feeling like home. They offer vouchers for frequent guests and you can spend them into the restaurant which offers good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sorin R
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Sorin R Thank you so much for you kind words. So nice to read and learn that you enjoy staying with us and that the frequent guest program is appreciated. I do hope we will see you back in the near future. Have a great day and welcome back. Warmest regards (From the cold in Norway) Theodor von Porat...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I always stay here when I come to see my clients nearby. It's very friendly, nicely designed, the rooms have everything you need, the food is nice and the bar/restaurant is very welcoming and chilled for solo business travellers. There are nice touches like online quick checkout and a little shop in the reception.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenwM7609SJ
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear helenwM7609SJ Many thanks for a wonderful review. So happy to learn that the location and hotel suits your needs. Delighted to read that you mention my colleagues in such positive terms. Hope to see you back in the near future. Have a great day. Best regards Theodor von Porat General Manager

Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I stayed here two nights in September. The location of the hotel is excellent for the business purpose of my visit, so I will probably book here again, but I am not really impressed by this hotel. Breakfast is good but the cleanliness can be improved: stain on the curtain, a hole in the fresh towel... But the receptionists are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I_V_R_1982
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear I_V_R_1982 Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a few words after your recent stay with us. Many thanks for the appraisal of my colleagues. I will definitely look into the feedback in regards to the cleanliness and discuss this with my colleagues. As I don't know which room you stayed in I would really...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Have stayed at Scandic Sjølyst on a number of occasions. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Only issue I have is the bar being very expensive (although not dissimilar to general Oslo prices). Very close to Skøyen Train Station so easy to get to and from city centre and also to and from Oslo Gardermoen Airport.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenwD1538QA
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear stephenwD1538QA Many thanks for writing us a fwe words. Delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us. Prices are not the lowest in Europe unfortunately, but we do have competitive prices compare to other establishments in Oslo as you state. Hope to see you back in the near future. Have a great weekend. Warmest regards Theodor von Porat...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My room was extremely small. There wasn't even a closet! I was surprised because it was expensive and I attributed this to how expensive Norway is. However, there were a number of small problems and one big one. This hotel is near a concert venue and the hotel filled with rowdy drunk teens attending a Bieber concert. As a business...

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 299clintonk
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear 299clintonk Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a few words. We do have have a few single rooms which is on the smaller scale. Approximately 13Square feet. Not sure if you requested a bigger room when you were here, but if we do have that available, we are more then happy to change to...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The hotel is not centrally located but has a tram stop and bus stop nearby. It is located near several restaurants and shops. I really liked the area even though it was a bit further from the city center. The hotel itself was nice but the room lacked a bit of charm, they set us up in a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eluminaz
Theodor v, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Dear Eluminaz Many thanks for writing a few words after your recent stay with us. I’m happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the area we are located in nice. We do have both twin bedded rooms and double bedded rooms. We are more then happy to change the room if we do have availability. From what...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#42 of 98 in Oslo
408 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 98 in Oslo
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#45 of 98 in Oslo
375 reviews
Scandic Fornebu
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: $110 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oslo
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Sjolyst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Sjolyst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Engodmonsen, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Gym is available.”
 of 5 bubbles avishri2016, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Quiet hotel - no noise at all but don't expect views though. My room looked on to an office block.”
 of 5 bubbles 149cathl, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles 591svena, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you can make sure you get a refurbished room (not sure if this is 100% refurbished and also check whether the bed is a 'double')”
  • The wet room
  • My 5th floor room
  • Clever clothes rail
 of 5 bubbles couchmagpie, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay