We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thief

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thief
The Thief
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thief
See the most recent reviews
Showing 864: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Thief Oct 20-23 2016. The hotel is very nice with an interesting lobby and great public spaces. Our room was excellent with a great bed but the bathroom was laid out for someone who is disabled which made it difficult or us to use effectively. No shelf space and a huge walk in shower ( obviously to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sayarborough
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . I can gather from your review that you stay was far from optimal . I have to give you some feedback concerning our breakfast as we have a very professional and attentive staff . I can´t see why you would not receive the same , excellent service we are...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a room with sea view, but my room had an office building view. Room service did not pick up the phone when I called. Spa was OK but very small. To defend the price this hotel has to work a lot harder. Seems to be understaffed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hobiewan
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As i gather from your review your stay was not optimal and far from the standards we strive to achieve . I´ll be discussing some of your points with my colleagues and contacting your directly Wishing you a crisp Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic Guest Relations...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had read the hype about The Thief and worried it might be pompous or overtly trendy but it was a genuinely lovely place. Warm welcome at reception, modern, stylish yet individual decor, gorgeous room with a view, great cocktails and best ever hotel breakfast had in Norway. Ironically, only downer was sleep quality as the pillows were not very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N K
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . Glad that you found us to be genuine as our informality and attention to our guests needs is a major factor for myself and all my colleagues . To see that our breakfast was the " best , ever...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Hotel Wonderful 4 day stay Extremely helpful staff Speak to Serena on reception if you really wish to enjoy Oslo Have a great massage in the Spa and enjoy the hotel in general Great location everything in walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruttie70
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your short , precise review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have great therapist at The Spa and i highly recommend a few hours in their company . Glad that you got to know Serena as she is an exceptional young lady and...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there for 3 nights. As I am travelling quite often to Oslo, I can compare and it is probably one of the best hotels in the city! First of all, the rooms are super comfortable, especially the bed. The way they are designed makes it very easy to feel very good and at ease. The breakfast is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredK1412
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have "super comfortable beds" and what is a hotel without a comfortable bed ? As Oslo Taxis #1 client we have a very efficient service from outside the hotel door . There is also public...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a super hotel this is. Bacon is crisp at breakfast and overall quality just super. Rooms are very nice. Bed is excellent and the place is so beautiful, located in an amazing place. I love those golden M16 lamps you have.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 683patrikr
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have "excellent" beds and the comments concerning the quality of our beds has been a recurring theme since the opening of the property . The M16 laps your referring to were made by Philippe Starck...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend at this hotel. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Service was great, and love the location. Also had one of the better hotel breakfasts I've had. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V876GBmarcl
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your short , precise review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we serve a very fine breakfast and Chef Johan takes great pride in knowing the source of his ingredients . He has an extensive network of local producers to ensure the true taste...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I simply adored my one-night stay in this amazing boutique hotel. After a few cheeky hours in the spa (hamman, sauna, pool ... bliss) i enjoyed a delicious fish dinner (dish recommended by the manager ... excellent choice) before moving to the ground floor bar for champagne cocktails in the comfy armchairs, in front of the fire! The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickymoorhead
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned I´m a great fan of the local fish and Chef Johan has a particular piscatorial gift . He´s also very keen on his locally sourced and seasonal ingredients . Great that you took the time to...

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Overcharged me at check out. No Invoice/receipt was provided at all. Only when got back to UK I saw I had been over billed so I gave my card details to the hotel to process a refund. What do I find the following day? They took out a further £560 without my permission! I've been sent an email saying they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonam A
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As i can read you stay was far from optimal and way below the standards that we strive to achieve at The Thief . I don´t think there´s any point in going into detail concerning your review as i can see there were a series of errors that resulted...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I feel compelled to write a review for the very first time on trip advisor on my return from an absolutely fabulous get-away at the Thief hotel in Oslo. Boutique styled detailing, a joy to any admirer of contemporary art, the Thief is a haven of beautifully curated luxury. From arrival to departure, in the perfect spa pool and hammam,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottegoddard
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . Glad you took the time to enjoy The Sap as i highly recommend a few hours of pure relaxation in the company of out therapists . As you mentioned we have a fine lobby / bar and a bar...

797 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (472)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (218)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Grand Hotel
#26 of 90 in Oslo
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 90 in Oslo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thief

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: $415 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oslo
#1 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thief staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Thief staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best place in Oslo”
 of 5 bubbles MsDi111, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“make sure you ask what type of room you're getting”
 of 5 bubbles sayarborough, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for view of the harbor facing the sailboats. It's magical!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles lindasF2975BT, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles Boxer_Boston, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooking the harbor was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahM2011, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay