We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Nidelven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Nidelven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 498: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Nidelven
 Click to rate
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

With more than 60 participants, our group was professionally handled by the staff. The food was very good. The benefit of the location is a beautiful view of the river from where you sit. I've always recommended this hotel for visitors to Trondheim.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taarhaug
Eastern Norway, Norway
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quite satisfied with my stay. The room was tidy and clean. Very comfortable bed. Extra pillows in the closet. Perfect breakfast and very polite and friendly staff all over. Quiet room and area. However one of the glasses in the bathroom was filthy. Better inspection from room cleaning would discover that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_notcolumbus
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

3rd time of staying here. As always staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast excellent. The barista makes the best cortado and enjoys his work! The room had the best view though was perhaps a little frayed in the bathroom and the mattress a bit tired. The location is great and we will always come back here for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestcoteFamily
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I`m also very glad to here that you liked our hotel, location and service delivered from our staff. I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Famous for its breakfast and it is very good. Almost worth a stay by itself. The hotel is in general good, but not luxurious. Have a gym but it is small. Room average size - nothing fancy. Walking distance to downtown Trondheim. Airport bus stop close to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tad_10
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your good feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our hotel and our famous breakfast as much as you did! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again at Scandic Nidelven soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The dot-award, broken down The Location: Centrally located. Walking distance to train station. About 10 min walk to the (old) city centre, but close to the gentrified old dockyards. The Room: OK, nothing else. Opted for the budget version this time and the value for money was not great. Clean. The Bed: OK, but nothing else The Bathroom: Same as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again at Scandic Nidelven soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice hotel central in Trondheim. Rooms are very nice and the staff was very friendly and serviceoriented. This is a modern and very nice hotel. The restaurant and breakfast is just great, and they have several awards due to their extremely good breakfast, it's totally amazing. But not at least the lunch choice in addition, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dag L
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I`m also very glad to here that you liked our hotel, location and service delivered from our staff. I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are clean but quite simple. The aircon was not working in our room, so quite a warm night. Service ok and the hotel is partly on the river, close to the city center with all the shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is amazing, with everything you can wish for this time of the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guri A
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback to us. I wish you a lovely spring, and hope to see you again here with us soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first hotel on a series of 5 on a 2 week trip and it was a great starting point, reception was efficient, although the room was a bit of a walk from the lift lobby it did mean it was quiet, the room was functional with a nice view over the inlet to the Fjord, the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cfincham
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations :-) Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is frendly and offers the best breakfast in Norway, a very lagre buffet with everything you could wish for. Ask for a room facing the river, the rooms facing the other way is a bit noisy. About 10 min walk to Nidarosdomen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne6753
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations! Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The breakfast is famous in norway, but i was still impressed with the selection and quality of the food. Only let down in this hotel is that the room i had was so small that i was convinced that it was for one person. Did get another room and it was ok. Airquality and temperature was not good. But i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deaf_leopard
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your good feedback to us. Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

807 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
Amenities (105)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (Corner) (54)
Viewed
Dining (172)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
666 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.4 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
362 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegaten 1-3 | P.O. Box 101, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Price Range: $174 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
Minnesota
7 days ago
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a corner room with great views”
A2077SUkarenw, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms directly facing the footbridge”
ro45li, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a nice view order a room with looks on to the river.”
14mariannek, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best room is to have a view to the river, fall asleep listening to the quiet sounds of the water.”
Selandia22, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you bother: ask for a view of the marina.”
nicholasj124, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5