We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Byparken

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Byparken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

804 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Byparken
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel needs to be refurbished, the room is quite sad - so is the rest of the hotels interior. Untidy and unwelcoming Lobby and breakfast area. Mixed service from the reception, one of the receptionists, was serviceminded with a big smile - the other encounter with another receptionist; quite the opposite - a person with complete lack of charm;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimenPR
Management response:

Dear SimenPR. Thank you for taking the time to write this review after your stay with us. We have a quite old hotel, and are continuously making small and large changes, both in our guestrooms and common areas. Approximately 120 rooms were light renovated in 2014/2015, and we will continue with the rest of the rooms. I will speak to...

MADURAI
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night (12-7-2016) Breakfast fast was good! Location was excellent! Front office staffs were helpful! When we complained about the dark and dingy room, they gave us a corner room which was little better! The room was too tiny even for our hand luggage (for one night stay)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANNADURAI
Management response:

Dear ANNADURAI. Thank you for your response and review of our hotel. I am glad to see that you were satisfied with the service, location and breakfast! We have many room categories, I recommend you to try one of our Superior rooms for your next stay. Hope to see you here again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager Scandic...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff and especially the duty manager Antonia did everything possible to make us feel at home and we did. A warm, hospitable, friendly environment with an absolutely awesome breakfast. Certainly the best hotel we have ever stayed in all our travels. Thank you Antonia for branding your hospitality in our minds; that's how hotels should be. Petros and Lynn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petros48
Management response:

Dear Petros48 Thank you so much for your review and rating. I will make sure to show this to Antonia, I know she will appreciate it! Hope to see you here again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager Scandic Byparken

New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night after leaving a Hurtigruten cruise, before our flight home. The hotel was easy to find from the dock. The lobby area was very crowded, and required navigating past tables set up for dinner to get to the elevator. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet (we were at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linette L
Management response:

Dear Linette L. Thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel, I really appreciate it and I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us! I hope to see you again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Acting General Manager Scandic Byparken

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived during a strike in Norway, so they first gave us a room that was dirty, then they gave us a room that was so far away from the elevator it felt like we were at another building. The services were limited due to the strike, however the staff that was working was very polite. Breakfast the first day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
Management response:

Dear Patricia H. Thank you for the feedback. During the strike, which lasted one month, we were low staffed and had to reduce some of the service offers to be able to keep the hotel open. It was important for us to follow the rules during the strike which ,among other, doesn't allow us to use any extra help. I...

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived mid afternoon and greeted by really friendly reception staff,who offered us a choice of room (road side or quieter room at the back) we took the latter. The room was very small with little space to hang up clothing etc which was the only down side as the bathroom was excellent. It was cleaned daily . the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter1958555
Management response:

Dear peter1958555 Thank you for your feedback and review. I am very happy to read that you were pleased with the service, cleanliness and breakfast. The fridge in your room should have been replaced immediately, and I apologize that this was not done. We had to close the restaurant for some days, but should definitely have communicated this clearer when...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

In May 2016, I planned to have daily excursion to visit Flam Village by bus, train and boat. This hotel provided me everything i need, including tasty seafood breakfast, buses shelter within walking distance and near to the railway station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AchmadDjauhari
Management response:

Dear AchmadDjauhari Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. I really do appreciate it! Hope to see you here again. Regards, Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager

Costa Rei, Italy
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Nice hotel, really easy to reach from the airport and just 5 minutes distant from city center. The bed was extremely comfortable even though the room was basic category I suppose. I asked for a better room but nothing was available unfortunately. Stayed for 3 nights, had an amazing breakfasts everyday. In case I'll ever go back to Bergen i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmm2
Management response:

Dear Gianmarco M Thank you for the great review and rating of our hotel, I really appreciate it. Hope to see you here again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in the city. You can reach this hotel by bus. This hotel also near train station so you can walk to the train station. Room is not big but modern, cozy and clean. You should take breakfast in this hotel. They have good food especially salmon. Their salmon is so fresh and delicious. If you only have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank irma_01
Management response:

Dear irma_01. Thank you so much for this great review and rating! I wish you a happy new year and hope to see you here again. Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We went to this hotel last summer from August 4th to August 9h. Even though the room was clean, but too small for two people, and quiet. The breakfast was good enough to say that it is worth it to come for a short stay in Bergen. Also the location was perfect. Really close to the Bus and Train Station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
Management response:

Dear Roberto C. Thank you for the review after your stay with us. We have many different room types, from Economy to Suites. I can recommend our Superior rooms, which are newly renovated and quite spacious. Hope to see you here again! Kind regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
994 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
448 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
521 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
501 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Price Range: $144 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Byparken staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Byparken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very good”
 of 5 bubbles Petros48, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We went for cheapest but would advise next step up as our room was very small”
 of 5 bubbles peter1958555, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you visit Bergen city, I would recommend you to stay at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles AchmadDjauhari, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to the bigger rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Edokon, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid lower floors - street noise can be disturbing.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaAthens, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5