We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basic Hotel Bergen

425 reviews
Save
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (98)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good41%
  • Average27%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“name suggests”(7 reviews)
“bar club”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Accessible rooms
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (425)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Basic Hotel Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
46
91
52
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
91
52
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsname suggestsgreat budget hotelbar clubsmall fridgeloud noiselight sleepergood sizetop floorkey cardsmall citycoffee machinebig roomclose to the city centerflat screen tvnoisy at nightlate checkhotel is located
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Good basic room, but with the noise of a bar/dancing nearby we could only sleep after 01.30!!! Music started at 21.30 and continued to 01.30! Even with a room at the 5th floor the base made the windows vibrate every now and than.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tomE3929EQ
Response from Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel BergenResponded 10 September 2016

We appreciate your time and your feedback. It is very helpful, as we always wish to improve. We sincerely apologize for the situation, and wanted to let you know that we have recently been in touch with the locations near our hotel. They have installed...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016

It was a pretty basic hotel as the name would lead you to believe, but it had all the amenities we needed for our trip- clean rooms, comfortable beds, TV, good shower, clean linens and towels, easy walkable location to the center. Their customer service...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kwoogs
Response from Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel BergenResponded 10 September 2016

Thank you for this great review, we really appreciate it. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you are pleased with the room facilities and location. It really warms our hearts that you thought our customer service is great, as...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

This hotel is exactly what it advertises. Great location, but VERY basic accommodations. The room is small, but clean, the bathrooms are small, but are clean and have everything you need, hallways are dark and nothing to speak of, and there is no lobby. Just...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eackiron
Response from Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel BergenResponded 10 September 2016

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we really appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and location, and that you were pleased with the price. We do however apologize if your stay was not as cheerful as we would have hoped. At...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

When you're on holidays in Norway, you'll see that everything is rather expensive. We found this hotel on booking.com for a very reasonable price. The hotel is located in the city centre (close to everything), rooms are clean and the bed is big (compared to...More

Thank Niki D
Response from Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel BergenResponded 4 September 2016

Dear Niki, Thank you for writing this great review. It warms our hearts that you were pleased with the price, the rooms, and the location in the heart of Bergen. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Kindly regards...More

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

For one night is ok. The room is quite small but the bathroom is good. The reception's service is not working 24 hours, it's closed after 23 o clock, so if you arrive late they send to you an email with instructions how get the...More

Thank carolfaver
Response from Basic Hotel B, Receptionist at Basic Hotel BergenResponded 4 September 2016

Hi carolfaver, thank you for writing a review and for the helpful feedback. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the bathroom, late check-in procedure, and especially the location in the heart of Bergen. We at Basic Hotel Bergen work hard everyday...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1111213141545
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (98)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pratibhah2017
18 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Basic Hotel B | Property representative |
Hi pratibhah2017, Thanks for asking! Our hotel does not have private parking. Nearby Parking: - Bygarasjen at the bus station. - Grieg Park at Grieghallen. - Klostergarasjen in the city centre. (For maps and more... More
1
Vote
MRuth50
11 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jana M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the late answer, but yes there was a hair dryer in the room. I hadn't logged into my account for some months.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"As far away from the noise as you can get. Read other reviews."
Read review
"Tourth floor is best, fifth floor the top floor may be better but the lift only goes as far as four."
Read review
"Get as high a floor as possible"
Read review
"If you are sensitive to noise avoid the rooms towards the street."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing