We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Brosundet

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Brosundet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brosundet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay at Brosundet hotel was just perfect. Its location is excellent, right in the center of Aalesund. The staff was very professional and helpful. Our junior suite was amazing: large, bright, and exquisitely furnished. We had dinner at the Maki restaurant inside the hotel. Since it's often fully booked, it's better to reserve in advance. Both the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jtcase
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am so happy to read your review. Our junior suites are deffinitly our greatest rooms and we also encourage our guests to book a table at Maki in advace. We really hope to see you again at Hotel Brosundet and Restaurant Maki. Thank you for taking time to share your experice. Best regards Christel Furnes General Manager,... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff with perfect english and lots of good recommendations, GREAT breakfast (included in the price of the room) and supper (very expensive but fantastic food) and really comfortable beds in fully kitted-out bedrooms in perfect condition! Would most definitely (and cant wait to ) return!

Helpful?
Thank Martha B
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Martha, Thank you for your kind words. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Brosundet. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Christel Furnes General Manager, Hotel Brosundet More 

barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel Brosundet and we really enjoyed it. The hotel has a perfect location by the water in the center of Alesund and getting a room facing the water was really worth it. The hotel is a perfect example of warm design. The rooms give a cozy and homy feeling keeping a strong sense of... More 

Helpful?
Thank psmaria
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On our recent trip to Scandanavia, we stayed in 8 hotels, based upon information from TA. Hotel Brosundet was the only disappointment and our only regret of the entire trip. The staff have obviously no interest in service, and our lukewarm greeting at check in set the tone for a very unsatisfactory experience. The room was tiny, with practically no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susan J
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Susan, I am really sorry to read your review. I can not describe how dissapointed I am that you had this experice with us. We will for sure discuss this internal and we will find out what have happened and what went wrong. It would mean a lot for us to make this up to you. This is not... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Averaging only 35kms/hour whilst travelling by car in Norway, we were shattered each evening as a 400km trip would take 10 hours and we arrived at Hotel Brosundet exhausted. We had booked a Double Room with Sea view and stayed for 2 nights at NOK1690 per night, which we thought was great value. We were assigned room 304 which had... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Madam Josephine, I am so pleased to read your kind words. I will share your feedback with all of the hotel staff, and we do hope to see you again soon in Ålesund. Best regards Christel Furnes and all of your friends at Hotel Brosundet. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a very difficult time with our hotel check in. When we arrived we were given a regular room with a street view. The reception at check in said they "were completely full" and that the street room view was all that was available. We had to produce a confirmation email confirming that we reserved a Jr. Suite with... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewcoSteve
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stopped one night at Hotel Brosundet in Alesund in july, the hotel has a fantastic location on the waterfront and it was clean, quiet and exceptionally comfortable with a nice breakfast. Our room was a junior suite,it was spacious and well appointed and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.We would have liked to stay longer, but we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank OzTravellers2009
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed Hotel Brosundet and Ålesund. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Christel Furnes General Manager, Hotel Brosundet More 

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is superbly situated for ease of exploration of this charming town. Sure, it does not have its own parking, and that is inconvenient, but the multi-storey is just a stone's throw away and, depending on your time of arrival, the helpful staff will guide you on where you can park on the street for a period, and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Expl0rer007
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First, let me thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that the staff, service and atmosphere fulfilled your expectations. I am really sorry that you were dissapointed with the size of your room. Some of our rooms are unfortunatly a bit small. The hotel is located in an old storagehouse and... More 

Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at in Norway! It has tonnes of rustic charm and atmosphere. The rooms are super cute, and the fire place downstairs is a great place for a pint of local (expensive) beer. Nice breakfast, really nice staff and a location to die for. My view was right on the little harbour bit,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linn M
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear Linn, Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to read your kind words. Hope to see you again soon in Ålesund and Hotel Brosundet. ps: next time - remember to book a table at our seefood restaurant Maki! Best regards Christel Furnes General Manager, Hotel Brosundet More 

Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to our stay here, having read the favourable reviews. However, the off-hand manner of the reception staff on our arrival set the tone of a hotel that does not seem eager to please every guest. We were given very vague and unhelpful advice on parking; it was actually a very pleasant parking warden who directed me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, I am sorry to read you review. This is not how our service should have been, and based on what I read it seems like you have been given a single room. I would like to make this up to you. Please send me direct mail to christel@brosundet.no. Hope to hear from you. Best regards Christel Furnes General... More 

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
0.4 km away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
379 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
509 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.1 km away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunnmore Alps The Sunnmore Alps and not least the ski resort Strandafjellet is voted Norway's powder paradise number one by many. It is not without a reason that both national and international magazines throughout all winter come all the way to Strandafjellet to produce articles. One card, several possibilities! This package contains the ski pass Alpepass, which is a joint lift card valid for 6 selected ski destinations in Western Norway. Snow enthusiasts of all ages thereby get access to among others: 29 ski lifts, more than 60 down hills, 800 metres drops, terrain parks, free riding, lots of snow and fun. In this way, you are free to choose yourself! Strandafjellet Skisenter, orsta Skisenter, Sunnmorsalpane Skiarena Fjellseter, Stordal Alpinsenter Arena Overoye, Stryn Skisenter, Harpefossen Skisenter. Please note that some of these ski resorts are closed on week days. Hotel Brosundet in alesund In the middle of the idyllic town of alesund you will find Hotel Brosundet - a little pearl offering something out of the ordinary. ”In all silence, alesund has got one of the most beautiful hotels in the country”. The newspaper Dagbladet, 24th of August 2008 The rooms are all designed by the architect company Snohetta in line with today's level of design and comfort. THe hotel is a perfect base for the quality-conscious who wants to stay comfortably, eat and drink well and have all facilities within reach – anyway, the mountains are just a small car drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet

Address: Apotekergata 5, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Price Range: $173 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brosundet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brosundet Hotel Ålesund
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alesund
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Brosundet staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Brosundet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need space do not select the smallest room, they are small.”
 of 5 bubbles Lini_bellini, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to get the largest room on the water that you can afford.”
 of 5 bubbles jjudynor, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The water view rooms are excellent, if available”
 of 5 bubbles saalton, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Water side , quiet and nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles susandan, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a room that doesn't face the street and the higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles Cranbury46, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay