We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 666: English reviews
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff provided very good service, very professional and helpful from the moment we arrived. As for the rooms the furniture in the rooms needed an update. Curtains were looking dirty. Bathroom was a bit dirty, we could see the mould on the tiles. Wi-Fi connection was terrible, we were having a lot of difficulty connecting to WIFI in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIanchong
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spend 2 nights here for my family trip. Room size is big, even 3 persons stay in the room still have space for you to walk around. My room is facing the sea which add additional mark. In the bathroom, they have to repair or refurbish as some of the items is not function/broken or not presentable. Breakfast provide variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iyrischin W
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my first time staying at Flamingo and we really enjoyed our time, front office team very friendly and attentive same goes to all of them except housekeeping, not fluent in English and very bad behavior when we asked for one extra shampoo and they started to talking to each other for so long that we eventually gave up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PanizAmani
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought it was a while since I stayed here, so I booked my family in this hotel. Upon arrival at about 10pm, I went to check-in. Goshhh.........what a welcome! No smiles or whatsoever, but, I guess the girl who checked us in must be tired. Never mind.. We went to our room, which is a 2 bedroom suite, well, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jademoon
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shocking reception behaviour! Poor service! Poor breakfast buffet! dirty room in a 4 star hotel! We booked and confirmed prior to arrival. Check in was not good at all! No welcome! No greetings! The first thing we were welcomed with was: do you have a reservation?!!!!! Then they wanted to share us more than what we expected! Nothing is done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mohatravels
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were happy on arrival when the lovely lady at the front desk upgrades us to a king bed on a higher floor (15th) so we had a better view. The pool is lovely and bed and pillows are very comfortable. Room is clean and bathroom and room are huge in size. Highly recommended hotel however it is not close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccampxx
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach...

Kangar, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

flamingo is my favourite hotel when i'm in penang. I always recommend this hotel to my family n friends. in december only I stayed there for two weekends. I always go for 2 bedroom suite. highly recommended to visitors who want to enjoy the sea peacefully. the spa is great. only one thing that need to be upgraded is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazilah5555
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although traveling alone this place is great for families , if you're alone you can get Uber taxi for a third of the price than local taxi to George Town and surrounding areas! Most rooms have sea view and the view is amazing as is the pool area with food and drinks available most of the day . The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach...

Ampang, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had 3d 2n stay in flamingo. We went with mixed feeling as the reviews in trip advisor gave us quite a scare, but suprisingly it was not so bad after all. The hotel is packed (of course, coz its the season of the year) but our stay was good. Room was spacious and we love the sea view. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nisha J
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with my team and work towards improving the areas you have mentioned. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by...

Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is very run down and service are very bad due to congestion of guest. Having breakfast is also very uncomfortable whereby tables were not cleared and everyone was everywhere getting there foods. The only thing we enjoy is the view from 29th floor and beautiful beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General...

1,020 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (526)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#4 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
695 reviews
3.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,589 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
746 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,985 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $56 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request for rooms on the high floors and directly facing the sea (full view) if not you will get partial view or slightly obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles SIanchong, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles PanizAmani, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do Not waste your holidays and your money here!”
 of 5 bubbles mohatravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view room Hill view rooms are near to busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles car0lc0chrane, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view would be great”
 of 5 bubbles gmnorthcott75, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay