We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 566: English reviews
UCKFIELD
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We found this hotel to be perfect for a basic 1 night stay after an evening performance at the Congress theatre. This was no better or worse than we expected at the very reasonable price we paid.The room was clean, bed very comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita C
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests’ feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was clean and your bed was comfy. I do hope we can welcome you...

Sydney
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We saw good online reviews for this hotel on another well known site so booked it online without seeing it in person. What a mistake this was, and because they wouldn't give a refund we checked out anyway at a nights cost to ourselves. This was preferable to staying another minute. In our opinion the hotel was offensive to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank O2Bubbler
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests’ feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am unsure as to the bleach smell you claim to have been used, the hotel does not permit the use of bleach. The only odour containing chemical we use...

Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We had a great night at the big sleep, helpful staff and a massive 'suite' with a sea view, loved the furry curtains (might even get some at home ) my only crtiism would be that the bathroom has a full length window looking out onto the street with only a net curtain which made me feel a bit exposed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda H
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you didnt like floor to the ceiling windows in the bathroom, they have been like this ever since...

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Staff very welcoming and accommodating. We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are basic with in testing decor. Not sure about the cookie monster curtains or the random pic of a man in the wall. Breakfast was basic but good enough. Perfect place to stay for a short budget break.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meg S
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found staff welcoming and accommodating. The picture of a man on the wall is actually of a Hollywood actor...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I was prepared to be disappointed by this hotel, but it was great in many ways. My room was quiet, and very comfortable, with a proper desk and en suite that included a wet-room-style drenching shower. The continental buffet breakfast was very acceptable. Staff were all very pleasant and efficient. My two nights, booked well in advance, cost me only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulsutherland
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and were not faced with dissapointment. I am also pleased to read the team were all friendy. I hope...

Reviewed 5 September 2015

We stayed for two weeks at "The Big Sleep" and it was excellent value for money. The room was very spacious clean and presentable. The bathroom/toilet was also very clean and fairly modern. Comfortable bed and fresh spotlessly white sheets. There was tea/coffee making facilities with plenty of tea and coffee provided. Our room had a large flat screen TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian J
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments on our curtains, they are not always to everyone's liking. I will pass your comments...

Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

My sister and I spent two nights here while touring the area. Our twin room was on the side of the hotel with a lovely view of the sea and was very comfortable. We found the décor quirky and fun with the furry curtains and bed bases. The room was clean with plenty of tea and coffee provided. Wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deborah W
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. i welcome your comments regarding the curtains, they are not to everyones liking. i am pleased to read you...

London
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel was easy walk from the station and en route to Beachy Head so a great location. The room was basic but clean - the muppet like furry curtains and bed base might not be to everyone's liking but made us laugh! Breakfast was yummy - the warm mini croissants were delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tilda841
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks you for your kind words and hope we can welcome you again in the future. Once again, thank...

London
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Selected this place for its location and quiet location at the end of the sea front. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but suited our needs. Bedroom was fine if a bit dated looking can understand the point other reviewers mention about the fury look to the room and fury curtains. Would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenLeigh250
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments on the fur curtains and appreciate they are not to everyone’s taste. Thank you for...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Stay at the big sleep for one night in a double room ,staff friendly but hotel room was a bit shabby and smelly pipe work made a lot of noise and the curtains looked like they were just washed up on beach then hug ,won't be staying again!! Just telling how it was !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jnorris46
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I note your comments on the fur curtains and appreciate they are not to everyone’s taste. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent stay with us...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,650 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,224 reviews
0.9 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,469 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $63 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for seaview”
 of 5 bubbles bodilh700, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view are great”
 of 5 bubbles Malachite11_13, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view suite would be my choice again.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulrich150, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a room with a view expect some traffic noise early in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisnS34QV, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have only stayed in a Suite, both Suites were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles FluffyBunny2017, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5