The Lansdowne, Eastbourne

The Lansdowne, Eastbourne

Traveller (596)
Room & Suite (337)
The Lansdowne Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#4 of 39 hotels in Eastbourne
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the property a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Lansdowne occupies a premier position on the seafront overlooking the Western Lawns with extensive views of the sea and Beachy Head. The property offers 98 bedrooms, large lounges with sea views, bar, function rooms and contemporary restaurant, 1912 Seafood & Steak. Dogs are welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Game room
Hiking
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Raquetball offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Rate:Two Night Coastal Escape voucher - £139

Location

King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Lydd Intl Airport
50.2 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
54.7 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,269 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Lansdowne Hotel in Eastbourne garners compliments for its comfortable amenities, praised seafront location, and the generous breakfast it offers. While guests enjoy the tidy rooms and the friendly service, some have noted the need for modern updates and maintenance. The hotel's atmosphere, with its tasteful decor and sea views, is often mentioned favorably, though noise levels can vary. Value is generally perceived as good, with affordable options available, but opinions on this do differ. Overall, the hotel's prime location near the beach and local attractions is a standout feature.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,269Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,175
  • 728
  • 235
  • 76
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
linda k wrote a review Sep 2020
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great week here, staff were fantastic, helpful and under the circumstances of Covid very thoughtful. There is a one way system in place which works when guests use it, not the hotels fault! All the staff wear visors when serving and plenty of sanitizer in public areas. Good timed breakfast, a little different from the usual buffet but worked for us. Bar and restaurant menu was very good. We chose sea view rooms and well worth it, on the 3rd floor so view was great and you have no noisy guests above you! Perfect location for all of Eastbourne, lots of great walking from here or bus stops just a short walk away, aling with other restaurants etc. Car parking vouchers available on reception for £2 a day valid along most of the seafront.
Would definately stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Clifford, Owner at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear lindak Thank you for your review. Its great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We are very fortunate, as you mention, to be in such a good location for shops, restaurants, the beach and great walks. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon D wrote a review Sep 2020
Amersham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a really nice 3 day break at this older and well kept hotel. The room I chose was a single without sea view and though small was more than adequate and actually I got a side sea view, an added bonus. The hotel are doing a great job with the Covid situation and are running a one way route throughout the hotel which is quite a feat due to narrow corridors and a few confused regular guests. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel staff can only enter rooms at the start and end of a visit. There are available plentiful room supplies of towels, soaps, teas etc; you just ask and they are left outside your room. Breakfast is wonderful and very generous; you need to book your time slot in advance. Hats off to the breakfast servers who were all very nice and chirpy in particular ‘Rose’ who took my breakfast order every day. The location of the hotel is at the quieter end if the resort I believe opposite the Ferris wheel (which is very stately and worth it for all ages). There are several restaurants within 5 mins walk and many more within 15 mins stroll. A very pleasant stay, I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Clifford, Owner at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear 621simond Thank you for your review. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything from the room down to breakfast met your expectations. We do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
McDonnell31 wrote a review Aug 2020
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night as a last minute break.
Hotel is very well organised for Covid-19, with a one way system, hand sanitizer and notices up everywhere.
Reduced meal menu, evening meal is taken in the Regency Bar but it’s a great location,
Plenty of social distancing, and food was
lovely and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included with our booking and was waitress service and very nice.
Staff are all very helpful & friendly, a very well run hotel.
Located on the sea front our room had a side view which looked over the sea. Parking was a worry before we went but no need to be as park out the front in the loading bay, get a parking voucher from reception which enabled us to find a bay across the road for our stay.
Would definitely recommend for a short stay, nothing to fault, 3 star hotel with 5 star staff and service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamieson Berriman, General Manager at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear McDonnell, Thank you for posting your extremely kind comments and Five Stars on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased you had a 5 Star break in a 3 Star hotel. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please note booking direct saves money, we will always match and beat any rate found on line. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ronjo1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Dartford, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in August 2020 and had a very plesant stay in what was a superb room, at a reasonable price, however fast forward twelve months and the picture had changed for the worse. Not only did we have to pay twice the amount we paid last year but the room was nowhere near as nice. The contract in rooms was just too much. Much smaller bathroom which included an overhead shower, smaller room, smaller bed, furnishing not same of similar standard. and no separate show room. Both years were similar have just come out of a lockdown, hjowever the breakfast service was not as good, although there appeared to be more staff. On the Saturday of our stay we were left waiting 45 minutes between toast/cereals and our cooked breakfast. The last morningthe normal breakfast could not be served as their food and beverage team were having to self-isolate, which wasn't reallyn surprising seeing that the majority of the staff were not wearing masks (very few guests, could also not be bothered to wear a mask).
Although normal room cleaning had been halted still because of covid, we were able to leave towels and cups eetc; outside the room each morning to be replaced.Sometime the cups were not replaced, sometimes they were but without coffee or tea of milk.
On arrival and seeing outr room I did make a complaint and the General Manager did visit me in our room the same evening. He promised me that he would have a couple of other rooms becoming vacant the following moring and would contact me so I could see if they were more suitable. Having waited until mid-day I rang the reception only to be told that the Manager was in a meeting, he obviously didn't think it necessary to get a message to me regarding the fact that he had been called to a meeting. We never heard from hiim after that, promisses obviously mean nothing to him and he could not even be bothered to apologise.
Concidering that they were stillnot offering helf yourself breakfast and normal room cleaning service I fail to see why they needed to charge double the price from last year. I think they were obviously just taking advantage of not as many people being able to travel abroad as usual.
Would I stay there again? Definitely not, very poor service!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms at the front of the hotel have sea view, generally a quiet area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Clifford, Owner at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear ronjo1 I have looked into this and Im surprised to be quite honest. First of all last year you were lucky enough to get our Superior Room which i refurbished in 2019. You got it at an extremely good rate. Fast forward 12 months and the demand has doubled. The prices are led by the market and as you know, staycation has been particularly strong. The room you had this time round is and Executive Room and is an extremely popular room! It has double aspect with unrivalled views out to the sea and across to Beachy Head. It has a new carpet, furniture and bathroom. The only thing that I need to finish off in this room (and you can't do everything at once when you are privately owned!) is the curtains! It is a large room (barely smaller than the room you had last year) and it is well maintained. As far as breakfast, yes we had to isolate our staff and the wearing of masks with our staff is now down to them with the relaxing of rules and likewise with guests. We are usually very on top of replenishing items from guests room - maybe on one occasion this got missed. I had a brief chat with my GM regarding what happened and according to him he did try and speak to you but you were not available. I totally disagree with you over 'poor service' It was not our fault we had a lack of staff and my team at the hotel have all been working tirelessly in difficult circumstances. I am thankful to all our customers who actually can give us a bit of leeway in some instances and who actually appreciate all that we do to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CatdiverKent wrote a review Mar 2020
Kent
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for one night on the Travelzoo offer. We paid extra for an upgrade to our room and was very happy with the room we were given. Direct sea view and very comfortable bed. We had a separate shower (it would have been nice to have a shower cap as I wanted a quick shower and did not want to get my hair wet, but there was not one there - hint hint management) We also had a separate bathroom with bath, sink and toilet. We had a cream tea in the afternoon which was lovely but the poor barman was very overstretched, serving drinks, bringing food, trying to clear tables etc. He did a great job but could have done with a hand, well done to him though. Breakfast was lovely and service was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again. Staff seem to organise lots of charity events which is brilliant. Parking is a bit limited but you can buy a parking permit from the hotel for £1 which entitles you to stay until 11am next morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamieson Berriman, General Manager at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Jul 17, 2020
Dear CatdiverKent , Thank you for posting your extremely kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a nice break. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please note booking direct saves money, we will always match and beat any rate found on line. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MWC-UK wrote a review Aug 2020
Orpington, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed an overnight stay here in Mid August. We found the hotel very well organised for Covid - screens atreception with masks and gel available. A one way working was set to access rooms and return to reception. The ample lounges well well distanced and weak evidemmnce of regular cleaning. Bar and serving staff work masks or shields. We onlystayedovernightso we uncertain about housekeeping although they too were wearing nasks and gloves when we saw them cleaning rooms.
The hotel was as comfortable as usual and nice to see at least one of the lounges tastefully redecorated during lockdown. Breakfast was by order and naturally no buffet. It was served reasonably promptly although to maintain service and distancing we were asked to vacate the table at a set time: not a problem for us although guests overran the table we had been allocated. We enjoyed several bar meals. Great weekend. Many thanks to all the staff and management.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamieson Berriman, General Manager at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Dear MWC, Thank you for posting your extremely kind comments and Four Stars on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you found the new covid preparations in good order. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please note booking direct saves money, we will always match and beat any rate found on line. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James D wrote a review Aug 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife & I are enjoying our fourth fantastic stay at the Lansdowne which is again excellent. In this present pandemic they have really gone out of their way with social distancing and cleanliness, so feeling very safe here. On arrival we were met with a lovely smile from Chantelle the receptionist. Our room was amazing with a stunning Seaview. We booked directly with hotel and had an amazing deal with B&B, it’s always best to book directly with the hotel. The whole hotel is immaculate with spacious rooms newly refurbished with a bathtub & separate shower. Wi-Fi in the room is very good also the usual tea/coffee & biscuits are well topped up. We have pre dinner drinks in the hotel bar served by the very attentive Steve and the most kindest barmaid Helen. Both dinner & breakfast are yummy with enough variety for everyone’s taste. The restaurant was comfortable and spacious with undivided attention from Rose who organises the social distancing tables. Well done the Lansdowne, everything is perfect including all your wonderful staff. Stay here and you won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamieson Berriman, General Manager at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear James, Thank you for posting your extremely kind comments and Five Stars on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a great stay with us, commenting positively on our wonderful team members and fantastic offerings. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please note booking direct saves money, we will always match and beat any rate found on line. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EtonWickAl wrote a review Aug 2020
Windsor, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just come home from a 3 night stay and have to say this is with out a doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From the second we arrived to the moment we left we had the best customer service you could ask for. We stayed in a family room with sea view, and boy, what a view. The room was large and the bathroom especially impressive, although it did get a bit steamy when running a bath or shower but that is no big bother. You do need to watch the water temperature as it gets scalding hot quickly. The staff were terrific and very helpful, especially the gentleman that served us at breakfast time and the lady, I think her name was Helen, who served us drinks and meals in the bar in the evening. So kind and friendly and even wished me a happy birthday which I had whilst we were there.

Safety was adhered too at all time with a one way system in place and the staff wearing face coverings. Reception were fantastic.. I phoned down to ask for extra supplies for the room and they were delivered in under 20 minutes, being left outside the room so we had no physical contact with the staff. All the meals were delicious and plentyful. The breakfast lasted us right up until our evening meal, which was amazing value for money, especially as the hotel are taking part in the half price eat out to help out scheme Monday's to Wednesday. The hotel location was lovely.

If in the future we were to holiday in Eastbourne again then this is the hotel we will be staying at.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have lovely views but can be a touch noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamieson Berriman, General Manager at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear EtonWickAl, Thank you for posting your extremely kind comments and Five Stars on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had a superb three night stay. On behalf of myself and the Team at the Lansdowne Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please note booking direct saves money, we will always match and beat any rate found on line. Kindest Regards, Jamieson Berriman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
golfbj70 wrote a review Sep 2020
Amersham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Lansdowne before and always enjoyed our visit and this time was no exception. however a complaint with this visit was the lack of daily room maintenance. Anything required, i.e. towels etc had to be requested at reception and they were then delivered to the room where they were handed to us at the door or left in the room when we were out. The bed did not get made, the rubbish remained in the room and the bathroom did not get a clean. The restaurant food at breakfast was good but the choice appeared to be limited. There were no menus and the waiter had to reel off the available food which did not include fresh fruit.
We appreciate the hotel had to amend the service given due to the virus but we felt the lack of bedroom maintenance was unnecessary, we are not happy with a room in which we have to make our own bed which was not the case in two other English hotels we have recently stayed in.
Would we stay again, YES, but we hope the hotel reviews the service on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Clifford, Owner at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear golfbj70 Thank you for your review. Im sorry to read that you were not happy with the lack of daily maintenance of the room. All our new procedures would have been made clear in any correspondence that we had with you prior to arrival. We have been working alongside Best Western Head Office who teamed up with Quality in Tourism to adopt a new gold standard for anti-Covid-19 across all its 297 hotels to make them 'the safest hotels in Great Britain' This new kitemark for safety and cleanliness has seen Best Western hotels 'overlay new standards' on top of the brand's cleaning requirements and processes and involves 'comprehensive risk assessments of every area of the property' Therefore as part of the risk assessment it was deemed not safe for our staff and guests that staff enter the room during the guests stay. This has been welcomed by nearly all our guests as they know that their own hotel bedroom is a safe place. We happily bring all items that a guest would need to the room, be it towels, tea & coffee, toiletries etc. And of course if a bin needs changing we ask guests to put it outside their room. As far as the restaurant, again, all of this would have been communicated to you prior to arrival. We are not allowed to have a buffet as im sure you understand and therefore the operation of breakfast is extremely labour intensive which therefore warranted a reduced menu to provide the service we wanted to. We do not give out menus as they are a 'touch point' but the breakfast menu is displayed on a stand as you enter the restaurant. We will be remaining with the current operation, so Im sorry if this doesn't suit you, however, I hope that I have made it clearer to you the reasons behind these changes. We do hope that we will see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annebwatt@hotmail.co.uk wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughters, baby granddaughter and I have just returned from a very pleasant, relaxing break at The Lansdowne Hotel.
The seafront location is lovely. Our family room was very spacious and a cot was provided for the baby, who slept very well indeed in an unfamiliar environment!
We loved the spacious lounge area which overlooks the seafront ; very nice for evening drinks.
We had breakfast on our first morning. Although only a 7.00 slot was available, we enjoyed the selection provided - both cooked and continental.
The only issue we had was the fact that the bins in our room were not emptied; this definitely should be done daily, Also, we had to ask for lavatory paper-again, something which should be checked on a daily basis.
All in all, we did enjoy our stay, and the fact that the hotel is so family friendly is a definite bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Very spacious family rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Clifford, Owner at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Responded Aug 1, 2021
Dear AnniefromLondon Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you, your daughter and granddaughter all enjoyed your stay with us. Our lounges are indeed popular with guests as the setting is so lovely and I'm pleased you got to enjoy them. As far as the bins and toilet paper. On your pre-checkin communication we tell all our guests that due to Covid protocols, staff do not enter the rooms and if guests require any thing to be replenished that they ring down to reception and bins to be emptied are just left outside guests doors. We look forward to seeing you again soon..
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter G asked a question Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom
What car parking is available?@
Answer from redgraverose
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom108 contributions66 helpful votes
I agree with the comments above. The parking is on a wide street right opposite the hotel - so you can keep an eye on your car!
Tony S asked a question Jul 2023
Morden, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hi , when will all rooms be refurbished
Answer from carole c
Horsham, United Kingdom52 contributions38 helpful votes
I always double check on breakfast included when I book and it was and was good. The evening meal wasn’t included but was good value and a variety of prices. Our first room had a walk in shower but not alit of room to manoeuvre they do have rooms with twin beds but again I would phone the hotel direct to book and discuss at the time your needs. There are 2 lifts quite small and there is a lift up the steps at the front of the hotel as well as the normal entrance but check this is working they are currently waiting for a part. Alit of people using the hotel we’re older with frames and sticks and nothing was too much of a problem for the staff to help when necessary.
Answer from matthew b
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Because it is cheaper to book woth Best Western than with Booking. Com or Agoda etc I saved £20 a night booking direct with Best Western instead if Booking. Com
Bob H asked a question Oct 2019
Melksham, United Kingdom44 contributions21 helpful votes
Is there tea making facilities in the room please .
Answer from
London174 helpful votes
Yes, kettle,tea,coffee and milk. Also biscuits in our room
David H wrote a tip Jul 7
Crowborough, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the standard double room , especially if you are staying during hot weather."
Read full review
Gillian H wrote a tip Jul 5
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms can get a bit hot"
Read full review
Kryzz wrote a tip Jun 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If visiting in the summer in a sea facing room on the 3rd floor ensure the room has aircon!"
Read full review
Bob H wrote a tip Jun 2024
Melksham, United Kingdom44 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking right opposite"
Read full review
Wander26677625877 wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"In a great location in Eastbourne for Holywell Beach "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Eastbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
C$130 - C$243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western eastbourne, eastbourne best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Lansdowne, Eastbourne - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Nearby attractions include Devonshire Park Theatre (0.2 km), Towner Art Gallery (0.2 km), and Eastbourne Lifeboat Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sabaidee Thai Restaurant, Rosetto, and Godfrey's Restaurant.
Is The Lansdowne, Eastbourne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Eastbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Lansdowne, Eastbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lansdowne, Eastbourne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, and Polish.
All Eastbourne HotelsEastbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EastbourneHotels near The Lansdowne, Eastbourne
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars