We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 659: English reviews
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel when the air show was on and was lucky enough to be able to watch the show from the balcony, the gardens (with a croquet lawn) are well kept & the swimming pool looked inviting! We ate in the restaurant and the staff cannot do enough for you!. the breakfast was great. we did find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 522shorty
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for placing your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you so well. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the team and especially highlight your breakfast experience. On behalf of all the team I look forward to welcoming you back to...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

See my brother-in-law's account of this celebration - I echo it whole-heartedly and I am the seventy year old who celebrated with my family! The hotel thought of every detail, the whole process from my initial inquiry to the execution of the event was smoothe and efficient. The staff were friendly, polite and always on hand to help in any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following the birthday celebrations. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and that you echo your brother-in-laws praise for the team. On behalf of all the team at the Hydro I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when I can assure you of our very best attention....

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night on a Travelzoo offer. Great value for money. It is an old-fashioned hotel (opened in 1895). We had a room with a magnificent uninterrupted view of the sea. Breakfast was fine. Room was of a good size. The restaurant did not look that interesting so we had a meal in the town. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MYDOGISFINN
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. The Hydro Hotel is situated set back on the cliff as the coast line rises to Beachy Head and so we are blessed with stunning sea views and views over the South Downs. Over the past week there has been a power issue in the Meads area...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having never been to Eastbourne before, we took a chance on a Travelzoo deal of a stay at the Hydro Hotel - and it turned out to be a perfect treat! The bed was huge and comfortable, the room was spacious and we had a lovely view of the sea - given that it was January and the weather wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coco20one
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in January and that you found your room to be comfortable and spacious with the additional of a stunning sea view. We have now started our 32 bedroom refurbishment programme which will certainly enhance nearly half of our bedrooms and...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Despite living locally we decided to stay overnight at this beautiful warm and friendly hotel. The period look added to our initial first impression and the Christmas décor was superb, both thrilling and blending in perfectly. Our room, affording an excellent view across the gardens and out to the sea was so very comfortable. The bathroom spotless, the room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our Murder Mystery event. We do find that many people who live in the Eastbourne and surrounding areas frequent the Hydro for our events and they also choose to stay like you. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the...

Stanmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. Although the hotel is a little "Old Worldly" the staff were very efficient & helpful at all times. The food was excellent & the restaurant service very good. The bedroom was basic but adequate although the bathroom was very cramped. On returning home my wife found that she had left a blouse...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeffis
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your stay over New Year. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the team were helpful at all times. Unfortunately we send back numerous items of clothing that are left in our bedrooms and with the rising cost of postage we do have to cover this which...

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Hydro Hotel to celebrate my siter-in-law's birthday. On the afternoon of the dinner we had cake and tea in our room for 16 guests, quietly and efficiently served by one of the hotel teams. Pre dinner drinks were served in the nearby lounge and dinner was arranged in the Meads Room. The dining table looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjchitts
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly may i convey my teams best wishes to your sister-in-law on her recent Birthday celebrations. I was delighted to read that you and the other guests thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon and evening events. I will certainly convey your kind words to the housekeeping team and the Crystal restaurant brigade who you mention in your review. On behalf...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hydro's location is second to none, and it has a traditional feel, which suits us well. We had booked for a short January break, at a bargain rate, with a sea view room at the front. The room we were given on arrival was pleasant, but on the small side. An enquiry at reception led to us being moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giles W
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read the team reacted quickly to your initial comments about your bedroom being small. We do try and empower the team so they can take quick decisions to enhance our guests stay. I note that you enjoyed your breakfast each morning and found the team...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a fantastic weekend in Eastbourne staying at the Hydro. Booked a sea view room - got 222 at the front which had a fantastic view of the sea as it was situated on the 2nd floor right at the end & directly over the croquet lawn. We didn't have our evening meal in the hotel but the cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BullenG
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you had bedroom 222 which boast tremendous views looking out to the sea. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the team who will be very proud to receive these. On behalf of all the team I...

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have always had a good time when I have stayed at the Hydro wonderful food service etc but this was my 1st time here for New Year & it was one of the best New Years I have had. everything was good excellent fr too much food really good band on NYE everyone dancing & the most wonderful atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie J
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your New Years Eve Package I was delighted to read you enjoyed our festivities and entertainment. I will ensure your kind words are relayed to all the team. Our New Year programme is very popular and already we have significant bookings for next year. Wishing you a Happy and Healthy New Year...

697 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (576)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Double Sea View Room (35)
Viewed
Double Town View Room (35)
Viewed
Executive Single Town View Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Town View Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Inside View Room (32)
Viewed
Single Town View Room (33)
Viewed
South Downs Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (98)
Viewed
Twin Or Double Sea View Room (31)
Viewed
Twin Side Sea View Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,418 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
799 reviews
0.9 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.6 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#20 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Crystal Restaurant
Crystal Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hydro is Eastbourne's finest 3 star hotel. From its clifftop location, 121 feet above sea level, the hotel features magnificent views of the sea and the cliffs of Beachy Head. With 81 bedrooms, two restaurants and five function rooms, it is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Plenty of free parking on site and surrounding the hotel, friendly and professional service, excellent cuisine, newly refurbished bedrooms and Wi-Fi included in the accommodation rate. The Hydro is the perfect choice for your next stay in Eastbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Address: Mount Road, Eastbourne BN20 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $120 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hydro Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hydro Hotel Eastbourne staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
21 days ago
Lincolnshire
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hydro Hotel Eastbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great if you like to walk along the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles 522shorty, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Those with a sea view are well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 871carolinej, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles MYDOGISFINN, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms have a bay window with seating to enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles coco20one, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the sea has got to be done!”
 of 5 bubbles 100garyp, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay