Imperial Hotel

Imperial Hotel

Great Location. Very close to the Beach Pier and Town.
Traveller (208)
Dining (20)
Room & Suite (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#8 of 39 hotels in Eastbourne
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Welcome to Imperial Hotel, your Eastbourne “home away from home.” Imperial Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Emma Mason Gallery (0.2 km) and The Wish Tower (0.5 km) make Imperial Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Eastbourne.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area, and guests can go online with free internet access offered by the hotel.

Imperial Hotel features 24 hour front desk, newspaper, and a gift shop, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts free breakfast. If you are driving to Imperial Hotel Eastbourne, there is paid public parking available nearby.

While in Eastbourne, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Imperial Hotel Eastbourne, including Exquis French Bistrot (0.4 km), Athens Greek Restaurant & Steakhouse (0.3 km), and Gr/Eat Greek Deli and Cuisine (0.3 km).

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Eastbourne Pier (0.4 km), Nigel Greaves Gallery (0.1 km), or Towner Art Gallery (0.5 km), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Imperial Hotel puts the best of Eastbourne at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Street parking
Public wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
Polish

Location

16 Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AH England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Lydd Intl Airport
49.8 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
54.5 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles978 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Imperial Hotel garners applause for its superb location close to the seafront and local attractions, with many guests commending its spotless environment and attentive housekeeping. While the rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness and comfort, there are occasional calls for updates and size and temperature concerns. Guests often appreciate the friendly service and wealth of amenities, though some encounters with slow service are mentioned. The hotel's value proposition, with its reasonable pricing and attractive packages, coupled with a welcoming atmosphere, make it a popular choice among travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
978Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 452
  • 325
  • 133
  • 38
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
bcs wrote a review Nov 2021
Worthing, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first post covid pandemic break with Daishs. A Turkey & Tinsel Stay. Self-drive - was aware parking was limited; on arrival car park was full but had no problem with on street parking in Devonshire Place, obtained "Hotel Guest Parking Permit" from reception £2 per day. Warm & friendly welcome at reception. Room was ready early (303) - a good size room with seating in bay window, a side sea view. Restaurant table was already allocated, so on arrival for dinner we were shown directly to table, Service was friendly and prompt. A good selection on menu for dinner and breakfast. Evening quizes, bingo and entertainment jn the balloom. Being a Turkey and Tinsel break. we had Carol singing, a visit from Santa, and saw in the NewYear. A very enjoyable break.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such fantastic feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review.  We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garreth H wrote a review Aug 2021
Crawley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in a great location, right by the seafront and a 5-10minute walk from the centre.

We stayed for one night whilst attending a concert in the area.

Triple rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. The rooms do get very hot thought, even with windows open or the use of a fan, no air circulates so it can make for a slightly uncomfortable sleep.

If you're driving there, parking is available outside. Just send somebody into the hotel to buy a permit (£2 per 24hours) - a lot cheaper than the pay and display machine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
stardust46 wrote a review Aug 2021
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
hotel is okay. very conveinient for seafront and shops etc. meals are okay, nothing special but ok for half board. my room on the third floor had a bath which i asked for but no shower over bath , so had to ask for a jug to wash hair sitting in bath. very awkward. however room was nice kept very clean. lifts are small and very slow. all staff were very good and friendly. special mention to stefan he does everything and works very hard, nothing is too much trouble for him. one word of warning, do not book the rye and hastings trip with daishes, stuck in rye for hours with nothing much to see then a short stop in hastings. you are much better off getting public transport to hastings and spending the day there at your leisure. brighton trip with daishes however is well worth the 10 pounds, short stop at beachy heah for photos then straight on to brighton, where you get 4 hours. our coach driver gordon was so entertaining and informative, he had us laughing all day. if your lucky enough to get gordon you will have so much fun. thank you gordon you weremy highlight of the holiday. i would definitley go back to imperial again should i book with daishes in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: my room was so hot like the tropics.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue L wrote a review Feb 2020
Croydon, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Good central location. Arrived to be met by friendly polite staff given a £1 permit for parking and was able to park outside hotel. First impression very outdated tiny lifts max 3 people. Room was cold damp woodchip wallpaper peeling off the walls, old 1980's floral curtains.Matress awful and uncomfortable. Small TV in a position too low to watch in bed a wall mounted would be better, No Wifi in rooms. Towels were hard and smelt musty and all crammed onto one small towel rail so if you used one you would make the rest damp or have to leave it on the floor. Poor security no safes in rooms and window catches were broken ( we had a flat roof outside our window), witnessed a guest impatiently waiting to get her key as was unmanned for a few minutes walk round the back of reception and take her key (You have to hand your key back if you leave the building for fire reasons)
Breakfast was ok nothing special orange juice was horrible watery and sharp & toast was undercooked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy wrote a review Sep 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have contacted Daish’s who operate this hotel prior to writing a review and they have not responded beyond asking for my reference number.

This hotel is like something from the 1950s but not in a cool retro way - more like no money spent on it since then. The bathrooms are very old and decrepit, some newer showers are being installed but it’s very hit and miss what you get. Likewise the rooms, some are ok but others are more like a cupboard or a corridor with beds in. We had two rooms, one was spacious but had an awful bathroom, the other was very small and had no shower at all.

The mattresses looked as old as the hotel, and we felt every single spring in them. We asked about alternative rooms and after the first night were moved from the small room without a shower to a narrow yet strangely high ceilinged alternative that at least had a shower.

The staff were really friendly and did their best but had nothing to offer as the hotel was in such a poor state. The bar area was bleak and lacked any character or atmosphere.

So if you are not too fussed about getting yourself clean, getting a good night’s sleep or having any sense of comfort from your hotel then this could be a great choice. Sadly the website does not advertise these features and so you may be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2021
After speaking with the hotel and Customer Services they have no recollection of this. All rooms are serviced daily apart from those who have asked for it not to be. We always get excellent feedback from our guests for our rooms and food as can be seen from all the excellent reviews left on TripAdvisor Please can you contact me on 01202 638840 or at info@daishs.com as we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your complaint.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spontaneous Adventurer wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very outdated hotel . Hotel staff are only interested in catering for their coach parties that stay here. They completely disregard any other guests staying at the hotel . Made me and my parents feel like mugs and not welcome here. I’m not sure why they advertise rooms out for other guests , when you get the raw end of the deal with the treatment you receive. For example , whilst the coach parties enjoyed a slap up cooked breakfast every morning in the restaurant, we were told we couldn’t join them and were given breakfast lunchboxes to have in our rooms instead which were bland and boring . It needs to be more clear on the Booking.com booking what ‘breakfast included’ actually entails for non-coach party guests . Waste of money, considering we paid for rooms expecting a cooked breakfast every morning. If you are 29 like me, I would not recommended this place as mainly aimed at pensioners, facilities and entertainment wise. The bathroom was also dirty and untidy, with dust behind the hand towel rail , a broken loo seat and a cracked glass shelf. The only positive thing I can say was that the bed was comfortable and sheets fresh and clean everyday . I will not be coming back here again .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check what you will get given breakfast wise .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maria Green, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Jun 14, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. the websites state that the breakfast is continental and served in a box, this is due to social distancing restrictions and currently we do have to limit the access to the restaurant to our Daish's customers only. I hope aside from these issues you had an enjoyable break.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaneyG_10 wrote a review Mar 2022
England
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Imperial Hotel as part of a group booking. The staff welcomed us upon our arrival, our cases were delivered to our room and our room keys given out quickly and efficiently. Our rooms were ready for us upon our arrival. Our first floor room was basic, clean and had everything we needed. It was very hot even with the radiator off and the window was very heavy and difficult to open and close. We managed a small gap at the bottom which gave some relief to the heat caused by a very hot pipe running from floor to ceiling. Plenty of tea/coffee and milk and a clean kettle. The food was okay, we got what we paid for is what I would say. There is a choice at dinner of a roast, salad, a fish dish, a chefs special. Portions are small but adequate as 3 courses. Breakfast and dinner were at set times, I would have preferred a more flexible offer of breakfast between say 8am and 10 am, we were on holiday after all! Evening entertainment was good and there were two games of Bingo each night for those bingo fans amongst us!! The hotel is stifling hot with no ventilation even like opening windows in the dining room. We had to ask each night for the air conditioning to be put on in the entertainment area. Would we stay here again? Yes! Top tip: ask for a room on the first floor, the water pressure is not good on the 4 th floor!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check out the buses from the sea front good for sightseeing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review. Fans are available on request from the reception. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaky wrote a review Oct 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish this was a very pleasant hotel. Friendly greeting at reception was the beginning of a faultless few days stay. Hand sanitiser station as you enter the hotel and throughout:by the top of the stairs and as you exit the lift. The room had a sea view which was a bonus for us. Fresh looking and all clean and tidy were first impressions of our room. Three course evening meal was served in a timely fashion and at breakfast the following day we were asked to make evening meal decisions; not a bad idea so the chef can cook for the appropriate numbers.
All the staff we came across were agreeable and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.In fact the chamber maid positively jogged down the corridor one day to speed up the cleaning process as we arrived back from breakfast, so we did not wait any longer than necessary to re-enter our room. Very reasonable prices at the bar too.
Will return one day to, hopefully, better weather!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ladieswholunchDarwen wrote a review May 2023
Darwen
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from our lovely hotel break in Eastbourne. The coach trips there and back were on time with an excellent driver who took us both ways. Hotel was really warm, staff were welcoming and friendly. On arrival, our cases were removed from the coach by hotel staff and carried directly to our rooms, and then we left them outside our rooms the morning we returned home and they were put directly on to the coach by the hotel staff. So no having to drag cases along corridors or in lifts. Our twin room was lovely, immaculately clean and serviced daily. Complimentary toiletries were provided and replaced daily. Breakfast started at 8.30 am with several choices including a full English or continental. The food was plentiful and well cooked served by polite and friendly waitresses. The evening meal was at 6.30 pm again with several choices including roast beef, roast turkey, roast pork, lasagne, and various salads followed by some amazing desserts. Evening entertainment was really good starting with a quiz, a couple of games of Bingo and singers/ comedians. Bar prices were fair, cheaper than most hotels and the entertainments room was large and comfortable. For those who required them there were mobility scooters available to rent for £36 for 3 days. There were day trips by coach to Hastings and Rye and Royal Tunbridge Wells, plus we went directly to Brighton on the local bus. Compliments to all the staff and many thanks for an enjoyable break.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded May 2, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review.  We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
km402018 wrote a review Jan 2022
Gillingham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely 5 day break. The staff looked after us well. Great food and entertainment. Our room was very clean and was checked every day by housekeeping. Our only problem was getting water to the shower when everyone else was using so we adjusted our times of use. this hotel is in a great position for the seafront and a small walk to the shops
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Beaumont, Owner at Imperial Hotel
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback, it is always great to hear such a positive review.  We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TIMELORDLeicester asked a question Jun 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom202 contributions157 helpful votes
What time evening meal wanted to book theatre show
Answer from Margaret C
Thornton-Le-Dale, United Kingdom36 contributions25 helpful votes
6.30pm
Jean H asked a question May 2023
9 contributions10 helpful votes
can you rent mobility scooter
Answer from Chris P
Preston, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel rent out their own mobility scooters but they are not boot folding scooters and are expensive to hire. There is a shopmobility in the local shopping centre, about a five minute walk from the hotel, (the beacon) Where you won't get ripped off!! I would strongly suggest you stay at another hotel to ensure a nice holiday.
John C asked a question Mar 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
are the meals particularly breakfast buffet style or table service
Answer from lorraineph40
Oldbury, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
All meals are served to your table
Anne P wrote a tip Jul 8
Bristol, United Kingdom82 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room at the back. It was extremely noisy in the front with people shouting in the street on a regular basis all night."
Read full review
Vivienne B wrote a tip Jun 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Entertainments room fills quickly soon after dinner so good to secure a table early to have a comfortable vantage point."
Read full review
anne r wrote a tip Jun 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the little train on the seafront. Goes from Holywell Retreat to Sovereign Harbour. For a very modest fare you can get on and off all day"
Read full review
Mike Bearsby-Cook wrote a tip May 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's plenty of on street parking immediately outside the hotel, & its not expensive."
Read full review
Teresa H wrote a tip May 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is perfectly placed between the beach and town centre. It's also flat so no hills to climb "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Eastbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
C$191 - C$309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial hotel eastbourne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Imperial Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Imperial Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Imperial Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boom Battle Bar Eastbourne (0.4 km), Nigel Greaves Gallery (0.07 km), and Eastbourne Bandstand (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Imperial Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Imperial Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Imperial Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Imperial Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Imperial Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gr/Eat Greek Deli and Cuisine, MALAYALAM Restaurant, and Soup N Tap.
Is Imperial Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Eastbourne.
Are there any historical sites close to Imperial Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion (1.7 km) and East Dean War Memorial (5.9 km).
Is Imperial Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Eastbourne HotelsEastbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EastbourneHotels near Imperial Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars