The Pier Hotel

The Pier Hotel

The Pier Hotel
Traveller (104)
Sea View
Room & Suite (40)
The Pier Hotel
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 39 hotels in Eastbourne
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Looking for a place to stay in Eastbourne? Then look no further than The Pier Hotel, a small hotel that brings the best of Eastbourne to your doorstep. Free Wi-Fi is offered to guests, and rooms at Pier Hotel offer a flat screen TV and a desk. Guests of Pier Hotel are also welcome to enjoy breakfast, located on site. Nearby landmarks such as Emma Mason Gallery (0.4 mi) and The Wish Tower (0.5 mi) make Pier Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Eastbourne. While visiting Eastbourne, you may want to try some of our Chef's incredible menu. Eastbourne is also home to Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion, a popular historic site that is not too far from Pier Hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Pier Hotel as you experience everything Eastbourne has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Room features
Desk
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Farsi, Portuguese

Location

4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Lydd Intl Airport
49.4 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
54.5 km
See all flights
157Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 30
  • 19
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Adam B wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfy bed but noisy at night from the street. Old style keys not key cards which annoyingly take several attempts to get into lock. Room a good size but felt dated even though cant of been refurbished too long ago. Ham cheese and bread missing from the breakfast choice. Breakfast was only ok, full english was disappointing tbh, had much better elsewhere. Most annoying thing was I let hotel know it was our anniversary. They offered swan towels and flower petals on bed for £15. When I got there the concierge laughed saying "hope they remembered to do it" got to room and they had not done it.... stay if you need otherwise look elsewhere, there are better cheaper hotels in eastbourne
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andre Darabi, General Manager at The Pier Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Dear Adam, Thank you for your review, please accept our apologies that our keys were not to your liking and it took a few attempts, staff are always around to assist you if needed. As we are a newer business and only been open for one year, unfortunately we do not have the funds for such a large and expensive project for keycards, especially due to the world pandemic, it is however, certainly something we are aiming towards in future but may be a while before we get there. As for Breakfast, we are surprised to hear your comments as we are always praised on our Breakfasts, however due to COVID Health & Safety procedures, we have had to minimise our continental selection, which is why we offer separate boxes of cereals and juices, we have bread, cheese & ham available upon request as they need to be table service as we are not allowed to have guests help themselves until further notice from the Government. Furthermore, please accept my apologies for your misunderstanding and that you did not have swan towels in your bedroom, unfortunately the message we sent offering that service was not responded to, therefore we were not aware you were wanted them and were happy to pay the supplement until arrival, which unfortunately is too late as our housekeeping team were finished for the day. We sincerely apologise you were disappointed and hope in future we will be able to restore our faith. Kind regards, Catherine Head Receptionist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael M wrote a review Aug 2020
Epsom, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last minute booking with my wife phoned the hotel directly to book all was good and efficient with the girl who answered.
Great locating right on the beech and lovely looking hotel. Very easy check In parking easy too with a £1 all day parking voucher supplied by the hotel. Decided to pay a bit extra for a sea view room which was worth it all be it the chiming pier clock took a bit of getting used to!!!
Hotel was really well run while dealing with the COVID measures. Room all good very clean and a good size. Had a few drinks in the bar which gave a residents discount and was well staffed.
Breakfast was tasty in the morning and also well run by the sole waiter again no complaints.
Will 100% return for another stay soon thank you all and keep up the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Waterhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pier Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2021
The Pier Hotel is now under new ownership! We have been open since 28th July 2021 after a complete refurbishment and whole new look! We also refurbished the bar underneath which is now The Emerald Bar - the best Irish Bar in Eastbourne!! Come on down and check us out!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anon202020 wrote a review Feb 2020
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is like a hidden gem, breakfast cooked fresh with lots of fruit available. Amazing views right on the beach and room recently refurbished. Shame about the weather but that cant be helped. Will be back again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PierHotelEastbourne, Reception at The Pier Hotel
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear Lovelife1922, Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad to see you were comfortable during your stay and also that you enjoyed our breakfast i will make sure to forward that onto our chef which he will be pleased to hear! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Pier Hotel for your future visits to Eastbourne. Kind regards, Raquel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bibiana wrote a review Nov 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the pier hotel in Eastbourne for 6 weeks for work. The staff has gone above & beyond for me in all ways & I can’t praise them enough. I had my 3 course meals catered to my liking (I’m very picky), for 2 weeks my food was brought to my room. X2 the cab drivers were very very late in picking me up & a member of staff kindly saw the anxiety this was causing me and gave me a lift to my place of work.
They have made me laugh, smiled & they are very approachable and very helpful. You are in great hands when you go to this hotel.
The food- I’ve tasted it all & it’s all very tasty. Breakfast-very filling!
The rooms- all the rooms are comfortable however, rooms 205, 206 has the best view of the sea & room 208 is the largest! You will like it!
The rooms are always cleaned, the blankets and the beds are very cosy(trust me)
The hotel is conveniently located to the town centre which is a 6 minutes walk & I walk very slow!
The beach with pebbles is across the road.
It is a very quiet hotel. At my stay I did not come across noisy guests and the windows kept the noise out, which I’m grateful for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rodstoneman wrote a review Apr 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night on the 15 April . We checked in which was not a problem at all staff were friendly and
Reception was clean . When getting the key I was asked for my debit card for a safety deposit where nothing would be taken from my account but it was just a procedure , I have done this before and saw no problem , when looking at my account this morning £50 was taken out of my account , I questioned this and was told by reception that if nothing was to be charged I could expect the money back in 7 days . I know this is not a massive amount of money but as the room was £140 and there is no where to run up a bar tab etc I was not impressed .

We made our way to the sea view room and this is
When I noticed a black insect on the floor , when I bent down I found that it was not just the one but 20-30 ants 🐜 walking all over the carpet , I went down to reception and we were offered a similar room but without the sea view and complimentary breakfast as a sorry which I felt was a nice gesture.

The bar adjoins the hotel which has been deemed an Irish bar is extremely expensive at £5.85 a pint of which I personally feel does nothing to justify that cost . Inside is lifeless and gloomy and the manager gave the impression that he could not care less if you were there or not .
This is also where you have breakfast , as it was free I won’t dwell on it to much but had I have paid I would not be impressed . Everything on the full English seemed to be smothered in salt and the cappuccino which turned out to be a latte tasted as if it had been shown the coffee from a distance .

All in all we felt it was extremely overpriced for what you received, when the people above had a shower or a midnight trip to the loo you could hear everything.

Whilst the decor is lovely I honestly do not feel the room is worth anymore the £ 80 at best and we will not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tinker1980 wrote a review Aug 2021
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated as you would imagine - very close to Eastbourne Pier with beautiful views.

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and a very bright and clean reception area. Our room wasn’t quite ready but we were given details of how / where to park locally for £2 for 24 hours, able to leave our bags safely in the hotel and told of some local places to visit for a coffee while we waited.

Our room was beautiful. Newly decorated, spacious with tall ceilings and tastefully furnished. There was more than enough room for the three of us and a beautiful view of the pier and the coast.

Breakfast was faultless, a great choice, lovely quality produce and served with a smile every day. The staff went above and beyond to make sure my 5 year old had what he wanted every morning.

The location is perfect, it is close to all the local landmarks, right on the tourist bus route and well looked after but what really makes it is the staff. Whilst knowledgeable and professional they were friendly, approachable and made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel. No request / question was left unanswered or not dealt with.

It was a joy to stay here and we will definitely recommend and hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Waterhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pier Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Tinker, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are certainly very lucky with our position across from Eastbourne Pier, we're pleased you enjoyed our fantastic views. We are so proud of all the hard work our team have done to upgrade The Pier Hotel over the past year and reading reviews like this make it all worth while! We certainly do pride ourselves on our customer service, as a family run hotel, we like our guests to feel at home and welcomed, with no query left unanswered. I very much look forward to passing on your praise to the rest of the team! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Pier Hotel in the near future. Thank you, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
natters14 wrote a review Sep 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I visited here for a two night stay and chose The Pier due to its central location.

From arrival to departure, the staff were excellent - so friendly, helpful and accommodating.

The view from our room was stunning as we were overlooking the Pier and the sea, you just couldn’t stop looking out.

The room was big enough for our needs but a bit tight to get around especially in the middle of the night. The room was also really hot at night and during the night so we had to keep the windows open and get the fan out of the wardrobe and use too.

The room and bathroom were both clean and tidy with toiletries and towels provided.

There was some noise from outside but from about 11pm-12am it improved.

There was a small lift in the hotel too which we found useful at times being on the top floor particularly when carrying a lot.

We both said we would stay here again and recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Waterhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pier Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Natters, Thank you for your wonderful comments, we're so pleased you had such an enjoyable visit. I look forward to passing your praise on to the rest of the team, we certainly do pride ourselves on our customer service. With regards to the noise, we have now amended The Emerald Bar's live music times to finish at 11pm. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to The Pier Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Footiefanatic wrote a review Sep 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having booked a sea view room, on arrival we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor and my wife was only able to get a sea view by standing on tiptoe over the window sill. Bit of a con for the price and not what we expected. Told on arrival no option to change to another sea view room. If you want a sea view don't get a 3rd floor room. Staff were friendly and pleasant. When mentioned on checkout, there was no offer of a reduction in bill or proper apology.
Breakfast was nice but orange juice in a child's carton. disappointing. Overall would recommend hotel but with clarification before arrival. Staff at Breakfast very helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If a seaview wanted check first
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Waterhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pier Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2021
The Pier Hotel is now under new ownership! We have been open since 28th July 2021 after a complete refurbishment and whole new look! We also refurbished the bar underneath which is now The Emerald Bar - the best Irish Bar in Eastbourne!! Come on down and check us out!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chazevs wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a family wedding. It was disaster from start to finish. We couldn’t even get through to the hotel to book. When we finally did they couldn’t even tell us how much the stay would cost. They just told us to pay a deposit.
Upon arriving we were told there was no breakfast included, after paying for a very expensive two night stay we were never informed when we booked it was not included. Do not book breakfast it’s £10pp and not worth it. My other family members were all quoted different prices so who knows what it actually costs.
No air con,
Windows dangerous as they open all the way out,
Parking a nightmare as it’s all on street.
Shower dangerous with boiling hot water.
No clean towels in room after staying two nights
Staff argumentative, the guest was always in the wrong.
No phone in the room,
Blood stained sheets.

All in all it was horrific. As for the wedding don’t get me started, the whole place is completely unorganised and the staff are very rude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Cooke wrote a review Sep 2021
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night in September. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Hotel and the rooms have been recently refurbished. Coffee machines in room, Netflix on TVs, comfortable beds, good wifi, USB chargers. The lobby, dining area and bar (which has a piano) are a mix of tradition and modern with navy velvet chairs mixed with brass lights and gold painted ceilings which makes it feel luxe and fresh. The meal I had in the restaurant was superb. 3 courses for £20 - locally caught fish and the service was 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Waterhouse, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pier Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2021
Dear Justin, Thank you for your fantastic review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our refurbishment. We have all worked very hard this past year so comments like this make it all worthwhile. We're pleased you enjoyed your evening meal in The Pier Grill - we agree, our chef is fantastic and the food being locally sourced is very important to us. Once again, thank you so much and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Pier Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jot asked a question Jul 2020
Towcester, United Kingdom69 contributions23 helpful votes
Where is the best spot to park the car?
Answer from The Pier Hotel
Eastbourne, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Parking is on street, on the roads surrounding the hotel, on a first come, first serve basis. We have parking permits for all H Zones. These are purchasable from the hotel reception team at £1.00 per day (lasts till 11am the next day). The prices for parking permits will be going up to £2.00 per day by the end of August 2020
kezza23565 asked a question Jan 2020
Herne Bay, United Kingdom13 contributions7 helpful votes
We have booked to stay this weekend, does the hotel provide towels or do we need to bring our own?
Answer from The Pier Hotel
Eastbourne, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Good morning, Yes, the hotel provides towels for each guest in the room! 1 bath towel, 1 hand towel and a bath matt. We look forward to seeing you. Kind regards, Ellie.
Nora wrote a tip Jul 14
67 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is very difficult Not suitable for people with mobility issues"
Read full review
Maser4848 wrote a tip Jul 2
Chelmsford8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"for us do not stay in 102 , cannot comment on other rooms"
Read full review
Escape05141793873 wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sooooooooo good recommend"
Read full review
S12375 wrote a tip May 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom43 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If Eastbourne is busy don’t waste your time with the parking permit as you won’t find a space in the right zone. Just go to the local NCP"
Read full review
7tno8 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom174 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not worth the visit, even if desperate. Great location, right opposite the pier."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Eastbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
C$108 - C$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pier hotel eastbourne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Pier Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pier Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pier Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boom Battle Bar Eastbourne (0.4 km), Nigel Greaves Gallery (0.4 km), and Royal Hippodrome Theatre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pier Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at The Pier Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pier Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pier Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gr/Eat Greek Deli and Cuisine, MALAYALAM Restaurant, and Soup N Tap.
Is The Pier Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Eastbourne.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pier Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Portuguese, and Farsi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pier Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion (1.3 km) and East Dean War Memorial (6.1 km).
Does The Pier Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Eastbourne HotelsEastbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EastbourneHotels near The Pier Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars