We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

pentahotel Ipswich

pentahotelUS$66*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
pentahotel Ipswich
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 443: English reviews
Start your review of pentahotel Ipswich
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed my stay as a 1 night business stay at last minute due to an error with a booking at another hotel. I am so glad there was a mistake as this hotel was in a great location, had friendly chatty staff and a great vibe. The rooms were basic, but very clean, modern and had everything needed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbass89
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a really strange review as I love the style of the hotel but I cannot get over how poor the quality of sleep was. I'll start from the beginning... The hotel is right on the river, not too far from Ipswich train station and a 15 minute walk in to Town. There is minimal parking onsite, perhaps 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JadeyNunn
England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated about 150 yards from the station, but with the entrance irritatingly in the car park so you have to walk further, this hotel pretends to an 'edgy' feel, which really means that check in is done by bar staff, and there's lots of purple lights. At heart it is a pretty standard hotel for business stopovers. My check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sussex1955
Reviewed 1 week ago

I got a good sense when I was booking this hotel, I was down for the weekend to celebrate a friend's wedding but I didn't really want to stay where the reception was so I booked here. The staff are friendly and welcoming and quite helpful seen as this was a solo trip, I found it useful that they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David O
operationsipswich, Front Office Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for the feedback following your recent experience at Pentahotel Ipswich. I am pleased that the hotel and the service offered meet your expectations and hope to welcome you back again soon. Please rest assured that your findings will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer. Yours sincerely...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I luckily was looking on line at my reservations the night before I was to fly to England and found that my reservation at the Pentahotel was cancelled without an explanation as to why. Good thing this was done through booking.com as they are the ones to notify me via email. My mistake in transposting my phone number but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari D
operationsipswich, Front Office Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Kari D, I sincerely apologise for the cancellation of your reservation. unfortunately on this very rare occasion we had a technical glitch on our booking system which caused the hotel to overbook. I'm sorry we could not contact you directly. As per terms and conditions from booking.com all changes and amendments have to be notified through the travel agent....

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice friendly modern hotel... But I was served raw chicken on my evening meal so would avoid restaurant other than that rooms have free movies but limited to only one plug socket that worked in room others faulty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joke_mp
operationsipswich, Operations Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Joke_mp, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. I do wish you had mentioned this when at the Hotel. I am sure we could have resolved any issues you may have had. I can only apologise at this point, however if you would like to speak to me...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice hotel looks lovely and has a nice vibe in the bar! I have stayed here a few times now and my only criticism would be that the wine list is not very extensive and on more than one occasion the wine or champagne on the list is not in stock.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
operationsipswich, Operations Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Becky, Thank you for your time and trouble to write a review on the pentahotel Ipswich. I am sorry to read that you had a less than satisfactory experience at the Hotel. This is not the impression we wish our guests to leave with. Please do accept my apologies on behalf of myself and the team. I am pleased...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a regular Ipswich stopover and my usual hotel is the Holiday Inn which I use to collect the priority points as much as anything. However, last week I was booked into the Pentahotel. Its quite a bit different to the Holiday Inn that's for sure. Its a cross between a hotel, a nightclub and a city bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smarbers
operationsipswich, Front Office Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Smarbers, Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay at Pentahotel Ipswich. I am pleased that overall the experience met your expectations. Please rest assured that all your comments will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer. Thank you for choosing Penta Ipswich. Yours sincerely Adrian Clampin

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on Business, a right mix of guests, although room was booked staff said thwre was no booking and ended up in a twin. Very basic with a cold feel to it. The reception area nicely decorated and the bar is open 24hrs... breakfast again basic and self service. Ok for price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
operationsipswich, Front Office Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Tanya B, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Pentahotel Ipswich. I am sorry the experience did not fully meet your expectations and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the Front Office team, so that we can continue to improve the consistency of the service we offer....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Is a high class hotel!!! Very kind stuff!!! Excellent rooms!!! Excellent service!!! Very nice bar and reception!!! And of course all of this in very nice price!!! If you looking in Ipswich hotel go straight in PENTAHOTEL⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petros V
operationsipswich, Front Office Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Petros V, Thank you for the feedback following your recent experience at Pentahotel Ipswich. I am pleased that the hotel and the service offered meet your expectations and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Adrian Clampin Guest Service Supervisor

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Accessible Room (29)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Penta Plus Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Twin Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.4 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.9 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
815 reviews
2.2 km away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
549 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From an ideal location on Ranelagh Road, pentahotel Ipswich really is the perfect base for a relaxing stay, business meeting or conference as well as being a great launch pad for exploring loads of many local attractions or historic nearby towns like Colchester or Felixstowe. We're just five minutes on foot from Ipswich's central rail station, Ipswich Town Football Club and Ipswich Town Centre as well as the award-winning Water Front Marina and its busy bars and restaurants being close by too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Ipswich

Address: Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your pentahotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Pentahotel Ipswich UK - Suffolk
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Ipswich staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Ipswich staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“201-231 have river views”
mbass89, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from their carpark and away from the lifts.”
JadeyNunn, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Nice hotel. Good stafff. Enjoyable stay”
iant853, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Al rooms are good in my experience”
hadyn1963, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not ground floor if you don't want to be woken by drunks and coaches!”
doogle63, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
pentahotel
US$66* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$69
Expedia.comUS$67
Hotwire.comUS$67
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates