We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Meryan House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Meryan House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Meryan House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed as a family party of four for one night in early August and, frankly, couldn't fault it. Price was reasonable, food (dinner and breakfast) very good - all topped off with easy access from and to Junction 26 of M5. Definite first choice for our next stay in that part of the world!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chenrywood
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for your kind review, and I apologise for the delay is responding to you, many thanks again.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

just got back from a 3 night stay must say the place was very nice the owners couldn't do enough for us booking all taxis when needed breakfast excellant all served up fresh and very hot would stay again if passing that way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom c
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest My apologises for the delay in getting back to you, may I take this opportunity and thank you for your kind review.

watchet
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Felt compelled to write a review about recent reception held at the Meryan House Hotel. The staff were friendly, happy, and considerate, with a 'nothings too much trouble' attitude. Food was a fantastic, homecooked feast, delicious! Can't thank you enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thea M
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for even taking the time to give the Meryan such a great review, many thanks from myself and staff

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely B ans B hosted by Cherry nothing too much trouble. Plenty of car parking and lovely pubs/eaterys in short drive away on A38 towards wellington. Outside of taunton tucked in the quiet village of Bishop hull still easily asccessible by car or taxi. Post office nxt to b and b and large tescos off A38 North of Taunton before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jump44
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to look after you, during your stay at the Meryan, and thank you for taking the time, to give us such a great review.

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A very homely hotel. We were given a very warm welcome. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very approachable and accommodating. The gardens were beautiful with plenty of room to sit and unwind. Breakfast was everything we could have asked for and piping hot. Definitely we stay here again. Many thanks all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 862jen51
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf on myself and the staff, we would like to thank you for your review, and for taking the time to even give us a review, many thanks again

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We have been to the Meryan House Hotel before and have always enjoyed our stay. The bedrooms are attractive, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast just right. We managed 2 excellent nights of sleep, always a sign of a successful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May I take this opportunity and thank you for your very kind words.

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

A nice little hotel in an old house (550 years old) Comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Very handy for the Hospital (Musgrove park) if you are visiting there for work / training Hotel is in a quiet village away from the centre of Taunton, so you need a car to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Albia-Newton
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to take this opportunity and thank you, for taking the time, to give the Meryan a review, with reference to your point about en-suites!!! the word Hotel gives this away, you cannot be called a hotel, if all the bedrooms, do not have en-suites, the collection of art, is from one of the owners, who...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

A really interesting hotel set in rural somerset with a fascinating mix of curios from bronze statutes to photographs of Marilyn Monroe in the gents loo. Certainly worth a visit. Food and service was good with friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Upgrade of my room, great. Breakfast really nice. No dinner on offer despite being shown on the web site for the days I stayed, really disappointed, looked forward to this. No evening buses and too far to walk. Secondary double glazing meant room got quite stuffy. Mind, the bed was very comfortable. No information re Taunton or Somerset, found some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornishkris705
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay at the Meryan, however, we would like to clarify some of the points you raised, re: the bus service, we have no control over this, as its a council decision , the double glazing slides to open, a staff member would have done this for you, had you...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and what a gem we found! We were in room 5 and it was lovely room with such a comfortable bed! The breakfast selection was good and more than we expected. Free Wi-Fi and free parking too. Would definitely stay again if we return to Taunton

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahEC12
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time, to give the Meryan such a heart warming review, and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit Somerset, many thanks. Owner and staff

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
2.4 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
608 reviews
10.6 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
143 reviews
1.9 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
762 reviews
7.1 km away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Meryan House Hotel

Address: Bishops Hull Road, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $145 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meryan House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Meryan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryan Hotel Taunton
Meryan House Hotel Taunton, UK - Somerset
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Meryan House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Meryan House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Liked our room (room 8) First time to sleep in a half-tester bed”
 of 5 bubbles Chenrywood, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles 862jen51, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not sure whether all the bedrooms have en-suite bathroom facilities so best to check when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 945grahamb, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms quiet as has own parking and is on the edge of town”
 of 5 bubbles petersD6269VZ, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“I would think all rooms are good, but enquire direct as this is a good way to go.”
 of 5 bubbles phamil2n, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5