We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 2XL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
HolidayInn.com
US$59
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$69
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (24)

About

#6 of 14 hotels in Rotherham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is a modern hotel just off the M1 conveniently located for both Sheffield and Rotherham. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For evening meals and breakfast the 'Cow on the Hill' restaurant tempts a full steak and grill menu or choose the open lobby where lighter meals are served all day. The hotel also boasts a superb, refurbished leisure club with a large 17.5 meter indoor pool, steam, sauna and gym. For conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield offers 5 well-designed, air conditioned meeting rooms filled with natural daylight, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Fly DSA Arena and Magna Science Adventure Centre the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is the perfect choice for business or leisure stays.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1052Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 353
  • 190
  • 89
  • 76
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Doris Doe wrote a review Jan. 15
15 contributions41 helpful votes
Very good experience, friendly staff, comfortable spacious Queen room with good shower, nice & quiet at the back of the hotel. Excellent leisure facilities, enjoyed a swim with family before heading off to my sister's 70th birthday party. A very nice breakfast the next morning with plenty of choice of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, pastries & a varied full English if you fancied & unlimited amounts. Thank you very much, it all added to the weekend. We would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get there as soon as you can so you make the most of the leisure facilities
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vicandglen wrote a review Jan. 1
67 contributions1 helpful vote
Travelling with a larger family can often be difficult to accommodate so booked this room for one night as a stop over on a long distance trip, chosen as it can accommodate 5 and is convenient to the motorway. The hotel is so much more than that though! The rooms are fantastic, spacious, well equipped and meticulously clean… in our room for 5 there was 3 large beds plus a table and chairs alongside higher end refreshments, hot chocolates, nice coffee machine and a few items in the fridge. The breakfasts were brilliant, a great selection including vegetarian options and a specific gluten free area which is a rare find. The hot food was cooked to perfection and the choice of pastries, cheeses, meats, fruits and cereals far exceeded other hotels of this standard. The decor of the hotel was modern, bright and clean throughout and has a really cool vibe going on with lots of vintage and obscure items on shelves around the lobby and dining area. By far the best aspect however we’re the staff who were all absolutely lovely, so friendly and helpful, which was a great start to our New Year! Already planning a trip back to the area to use the hotel as a base.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. We really appreciate your kind feedback about your experience, I'm so glad you had such a great stay and found the room and breakfast to be of such a good standard. Thank you again for your time and I do hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa111111rob wrote a review Dec. 2022
85 contributions72 helpful votes
We attended for Christmas lunch today four adults and three children. In the lead up to the booking I had a lot of contact from the team just checking things over etc and even informing us of supply issues for one of the deserts but offering a similar alternative. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a friendly staff member and from then on each staff member was just as friendly and fantastic. The food itself was plentiful hot and really much better than I had expected especially with the number of people there too. The Turkey dinner had all the trimmings and a Yorkshire pudding too although slightly disappointed no mash potato but still delicious. They had even gone out of their way to buy each child a present which was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel for Christmas Day Lunch. We really appreciate your kind feedback about your experience and I'm so glad we were able to make it a special day for you. Thank you again for your time and I do hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david7619532019 wrote a review Dec. 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom9 contributions
Went a while ago and enjoyed breakfast meeting food. Went back today with partner who’s on a diet. Ordered the avocado and poached egg on sourdough bread. Paid, sat down with drinks then girl came over no avocado, meal came with 2 eggs on normal toast . Now I was planning on coming back with family and making it a regular thing . Not now , I work in catering and the order screens they have are very easy to update so someone couldn’t be bothered to do their job . We’ll find somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. I'm sorry to hear you were unable to get the items ordered on our online system, we will look into this with our chefs. We really appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to address these issues and I do hope you would consider the hotel for future visits. Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greeny wrote a review Dec. 2022
yorkshire44 contributions35 helpful votes
Visited here for the Christmas party package. Have to say how disappointed we were. Short staffed at the bar .. 2 people serving and for the amount of people who were there this was no where near sufficient. 2 staff pouring Prosecco and 1 stood talking. Very disorganised. We were in the downstairs restaurant and the DJ was literally in the kitchen playing music. Looked very unprofessional. The food was not the greatest. Rock hard vegetables .. a lot of people seemed to be complaining. Definitely not value for money Charging £30 for a bottle of Prosecco. Yes it’s hotel prices I get that but still this is not acceptable. Feel like I wasted our money. However we enjoyed the company of friends we were with. Would not recommend this Christmas package to anyone. Overpriced .. poor service .. poor food..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you felt as though the Christmas party package was not value for money, I have fed back your comments to the team to see where improvements could have been made. Thank you again for your time. Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gizzy wrote a review Dec. 2022
90 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed over for a christmas party all inclusive night. We really must praise the Staff and Management team for sorting us out after turning up on the wrong night. They could not do enough for us. Bob and Claire C were amazing. The food was lovely and the drinks flowed all night. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices. Check out time was great, especially after a night of partying. Worth every penny. Plenty of car parking spaces too
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We really appreciate your kind feedback, I will be sure to pass this on to Claire and Bob as I'm sure they will be delighted to hear they made your visit special. I hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkCaine-Grierson wrote a review Dec. 2022
Rotherham, United Kingdom313 contributions126 helpful votes
Been to the Holiday Inn tonight for a Christmas Party Night. and due to a mix up (on our part) we ended up having our meal in restaurant, I would like to thank Claire C for her very attentive service tonight and Bob also they made a difficult situation turn into a great experience. Thanks to you 2 your great service made s huge difference tonight.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded Dec. 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We really appreciate your kind feedback, I will be sure to pass this on to Claire and Bob, I'm sure they will be delighted they were able to make your visit special. Kind Regards, Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steerpike01 wrote a review Nov. 2022
keyingham120 contributions52 helpful votes
This hotel is in dire need of a refurbishment programme, the rooms are tired and old and very sparse, only one chair in the standard room when we asked about it they said the other was removed as it was old and the best have been kept, but there is not enough for two on a room. The window was open to hide the horrible smell of drains which got worse when you turned the taps on. The bathroom was tired with mould around the shower adding to the awful smell. No towels in the spa/swimming pool, you have to bring them from the room or request them at reception. Afraid we only managed an hour and decided to check out as the cleanliness and facilities did not meet my usual expectations for an IHG group hotel. As an IHG member staying in hotels all over the world this is the first time I have felt the need to leave a hotel early. The staff/duty manager tried to be helpful and address my queries but they had no solutions, they can only work with what they are given.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded Nov. 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Rotherham, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience and to hear you decided to leave the hotel early. I have shared your feedback with the team to understand the areas we could improve for the future. Thankyou again for your time. Kind Regards, Holly Guest Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael R wrote a review Nov. 2022
+1
We had a room that smelt of smoke, couldn’t be changed so it was awful. When we did move rooms, the toilet door didn’t close and the loo seat was wonky. Had to wait for someone to come and look at it. 10pm it got sorted. To say it wasn’t clean is an understatement. Bedding had a great big hole in it, that my foot got stuck and blood on the side of the sheet. The sugar sachets had seen better days and the dirty packets put back in the pot the next day. The wardrobe door didn’t open and got stuck. Towels were ripped and also had seen better days. Have emailed in but no one’s got back to me. Not really very good. Stay at your own risk. I don’t think I’d ever stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded Nov. 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Rotherham, I'm so sorry to hear about your issues during your stay, please be assured we have given your feedback to our Housekeeping department to investigate further. We really appreciate your feedback and I hope you can understand your experience is not the norm will consider the hotel for any future stays. Kind Regards, Holly Guest Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark L wrote a review Oct. 2022
46 contributions12 helpful votes
Hotel is a bit tired, and needs improing, breakfast was OK but only OK but more importantly they charged me twice, and do not reply to emails or telephone calls. Very poor customer service. Not usual for this brand.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Responded Oct. 18, 2022
Dear mark Many thanks for your review. My team will look into this today for you. Darren
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn rotherham-sheffield m1, jct. 33 hotel rotherham, rotherham holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireRotherham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Canklow Woods (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thirsty Flame, Jo-Jo's Brinsworth, and BEE JAYS Cafe at Wickes Carpark.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sheffield Manor Lodge (6.5 km), The Old Queen's Head (7.8 km), and Birley Spa Bath House (6.8 km).
Is Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,Jct.33, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.