We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Globe Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Globe Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Globe Hotel
 Click to rate
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the negative. On arriving we found that the lavatory in our room had been used but not flushed. On the positive side, the room was a good size, acceptable clean (apart from the above) and the king size bed was comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tim l
BLamichhane, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at our hotel. We value our customer's feedback and take every opportunity to make improvements our services. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel. Best Regards, Buddha Lamichhane Operational Manager

Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I do not often take time out of my day to review things but i was pretty disgusted by my experience this weekend at the Globe hotel. Arrived to check with a lady that was all fine. Upon entering my room i went straight to the loo to find that the floor was flooded with a discoloured liquid as well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gloveroa
BLamichhane, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Glover, Thank you for your letter dated 8th April 2017. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer guests with a quality service and are grateful to receive feedback to ensure that we can continuously improve. Having investigated your complaint with our housekeeping team and the front...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst night I've ever had in a hotel. The noise of traffic outside the window was relentless, and due to no soundproofing around the door I was listening to people going up and down the corridor, banding doors and having loud conversations until 2am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adela M
BLamichhane, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Globe Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve upon the services that we provide to our valued customers. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are glad that you chose to stay with us....

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such good value for money!! Hotel is quite basic yet very clean and really accommodating. Staff friendly and nothing too much effort. The bed was huge and we slept really well which we don't usually in hotel beds. Breakfast was great with a wide selection to choose from. Hotel thoroughly recommended. Thank you xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is indeed a pleasure to read your positive comment about facilities and services offered. Also, I am delighted to know you had an amazing experience at our hotel and we were able to deliver to you the Globe Hotel service standards we pride ourselves on. Good News! Our hotel...

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Needed a local hotel to stay for a few days every other month because of my work. Tried a few ones but the Globe hotel is by far the best because of its location (proximity to town, train station and bus service) because of how peaceful and quiet it is but mostly because, staff's so friendly and polite. They even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilias I
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind appreciation and for taking the time to share your review with other TripAdvisor readers about your experience at Globe Hotel, Colchester, Essex. We are so thrilled to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us. It is encouraging for all of us to read such wonderful compliments and we shall share...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

So me and my friend booked this hotel as it was fairly cheap for a weekend away clubbing, we ended up switching hotels after the first night, it started off as the night receptionist phoned our room and offered us free drinks when we come back from our night out. But then as we left our hotel for the taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahls9429
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time write review on TripAdvisor page of our hotel. You made a booking for two guests for one twin room. You returned at the hotel at 4 o'clock in the morning with two additional men, Who were not part of the original booking. You attempted to accommodate the additional individuals in your room.You were...

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I regularly have nights out in Colchester and usually stay with friends but on this occasion accommodation was unavailable so I looked online and this hotel came up as a late booking deal for just £40 a night. Needing somewhere to sleep for the night it fitted the bill perfectly. I paid extra for breakfast upon arrival which was around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phammel2016
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your kind appreciation about the hotel and its facilities is well noted, and we are honored by your complimentary words. Also my job is to make sure you had a wonderful stay as we love to each and every customers in our hotel. Best regards, Buddha Lamichhane Operational Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I have never been treated so AWFULLY. Do not stay here. Rude, offensive and money grabbing. Basically we booked through booking.com, but upon arrival the hotel couldn't take the payment through the card given - which given examination- calling my bank etc was a clear error on the hotel's part. The worst part was how this was dealt with, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mattbor86
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write review on TripAdvisor. We received a booking for one guest for a single room. Upon your arrival you informed us that the room was paid for as you believe that your colleague had paid for the room. We informed you that the card used by your colleague was declined and payment was required....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Booked this hotel in a hurry, more of a case for finding somewhere very quickly and at a budget price. Stayed four nights, at a good price which included breakfast, free wifi and on site parking. Room was really as expected for the price, bed was ok, good telly, room cleaned daily, As well as fresh towels, hair and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birtabroad
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customers, Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us feedback on your stay. We value our customers' feedback and take every opportunity to make improvements to our services. Reviewing your feedback, we will ensure that we will make it right first on your next visit. We will ensure that Wi-Fi in the room will work better and...

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

I was looking for some cheap digs in Colchester and this was the cheapest (£50) for a night . Arrived to be greeted by an extremely friendly lady who made a good impression . Room was fine even if the floor was a little creaky , would definately use again if in Colchester . Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard5003
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your kind appreciation about the hotel and its facilities is well noted, and we are honored by your complimentary words. Also my job is to make sure you had a wonderful stay as we love to each and every customers in our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.8 km away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
371 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
242 reviews
4.2 km away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
0.6 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: 71 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globe Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Globe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
gloveroa, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a quiet room, maybe they have some at the back of the building.”
13adelam, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is next to a busy main road so rooms at the rear of the property are likely to be quieter.”
phammel2016, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask to be in a room located as near to a near wifi module as posible”
Birtabroad, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor on the roadside and had a really good nights sleep”
BfFC-John, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5