We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of The Golden Fleece Inn
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight on our way up to the Western Highlands from Manchester - it was a lovely evening which kicked off a great holiday. Very easy to find, with a really comfortable, warm, and spacious room ready for us to freshen up when we at arrived around 6pm after a few hours in the car. The meal was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirlou125
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

We're really grateful for your kind review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. There's no doubt The Golden Fleece is in a beautiful and convenient location with the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and southern Scotland all within easy reach. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip 'up north'!

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had booked a table on the Saturday afternoon for that evening. When we arrived we were shown to a lovely seating area to look at the menu and order our drinks. I ordered sea bass and my husband order sirloin steak. Both were cooked to perfection. The restaurant was busy but not noisy and the atmosphere was relaxed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bell1998
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of carefully preparing only quality ingredients which we source locally whenever possible, as we are sure this is evident in the food we serve. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal - please visit us again soon!

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have never yet had a disappointing meal at The Golden Fleece and once again Lunch was fantastic.As a Chef my self I understand the work and commitment that goes into service and how precious time spent with family is.The Golden Fleece never fails with its warmth,great food,local ale and being family friendly.Well Done Chaps

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracytaylor1971
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review - much appreciated!

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

No need to bad mouth this place, amazing! Staff and service all efficient and would recommend to anybody!! Food delicious and staff friendly and welcoming . Perfect after a family walk in the cold and be welcomed into a warm hearted place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naomiwood123
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't go there!!! My friend booked a room and meal for a family function at this venue and thier atrocious service ruined their day. The venue was booked months in advance however The Golden Fleece proceeded to get every detail wrong and we're completely unapologetic. In fact they were down right rude! My friend was in tears and felt embarrassed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nikki B
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on behalf of your friend – we have been in touch with them directly to apologise personally Robert Cowen, proprietor.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch today & sadly there have been changes that don't appear to be for the better. The lunch menu is now much smaller with very few main courses, what we ate was ok but not to the standard of previous visits. Also it was very quiet but was 45 minutes from ordering to food being served. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngBennett
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we are sorry you felt your visit did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Being located in the countryside means that the numbers of lunchtime guests can be variable and you obviously popped in on one of our quieter days. This is also the reason that we do not offer the full restaurant...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having never been here before, you always wonder if you have booked somewhere nice. The answer in this case in emphatically yes. I found out that they underwent an upgrade last year and the place has a character and charm that is delightful. The bedroom we had was very large and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Staff were helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Robert C, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review – it's always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed our services. Come again soon!

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for the first time after hearing good reports for Sunday lunch, opted for the roast beef and Yorkshire, a couple of slices of rare roast beef, about 100 grams in weight, Yorkshire on top, and the veg was hidden under the beef, with one very small roast potato lonely on the other side of the plate. The waitress was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordieboy2016
Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for a weekend stay with my friend. We booked it because we wanted to stop in a B&B in a pub with a real fire. We were not disappointed, The staff were amazing from the moment we arrived. They had put us in a double room, but we would have preferred a twin. They immediately changed another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppy061
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We ate here for Sunday lunch, I had the roast beef which was amazing, I asked for just roast potatoes, no mash, and they sent 6, which were the roast potatoes we're the best I've ever had! The veg that was served alongside was just the right amount! I loved that they brought the bread out while we were looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi J

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlisle
0.0 km away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
912 reviews
0.0 km away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
568 reviews
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Bubble Inn
The Bubble Inn
#3 of 24 in Derby
182 reviews
0.0 km away
Ayuda House
Ayuda House
#1 of 1 in Bowdon
62 reviews
0.0 km away
String of Horses Inn
String of Horses Inn
#2 of 65 in Carlisle
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Ruleholme, Irthington, Carlisle CA6 4NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early as you wont be disappointed....”
 of 5 bubbles 191nickh, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We only had food”
 of 5 bubbles Lgateshead, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay but if rooms as good as food then they will be good”
 of 5 bubbles sheilajaneh, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“One room has adjoining double rooms & bathroom behind one entry door - for those traveling together/families you can be together, yet apart.”
 of 5 bubbles WPKR, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 has massive bed and overlooks the carpark which is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Jillybobz, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5