We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deeside Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Deeside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deeside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 531: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Just spent two nights there with a friend, room decor was a bit dated but bed was comfortable. There is no double glazing and the windows steamed up in the bathroom after a shower and in the bedroom during the night. The lounge is very comfortable and the menu in the restaurant was very good. Good breakfast menu. Central location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GlasgowPat42
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review - very glad that you had a good stay with us and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Best wishes, Joanna Whysall

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The hotel is right in the centre of Ballater. This means there is no car park for the hotel itself but there is on-street parking and a free car park within 50 yards. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom - full bath, but the shower was a bit of a disaster, as is so often the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allesca
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

It's always nice to have a thorough review - and we appreciate you taking the time to do it. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have, already, passed your comments regarding the administration charge to our head office. Thank you again. Joanna

Frederikssund Municipality, Denmark
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

The room has a low standard. Old and needs updating all over, especially the bathroom is miserable. The restaurant and lobby however is cosy. Food is good and is prised resonable. The Inn is situated in the middle of the town. All in all a night here is to expensive compared to the standard of the rooms. The place should...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Soeren3600
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I remember speaking to you during your stay and I do understand your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and am glad that you appreciated our reception rooms etc. Our bathrooms are not modern - but they are clean and functional and we hope to upgrade at some point. Thank you for your comments - I have...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We had stayed at the hotel a few years ago and had been very disappointed. What a difference now. The hotel has been vastly improved . The welcome was warm and the food delicious . We will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prodger
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Hello there - I remember speaking to you both on the stairs and discussing the changes here in recent years. We are very pleased that you came back and even more so that you enjoyed it. It was interesting to hear the difference in your experience. We still have lots to do but are certainly working towards making The Deeside...

Staunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The room we stayed in at the Deeside Inn fit our needs, but we were caught off guard by being denied service for dinner in the dining room after we checked into the hotel, because there was apparently an unpublished dress code. Since we saw many people in shorts and other more casual clothes the next morning being served in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmiller3332
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I have to say that I was sorry to read your review - but I don't disagree with you. We do have a dress code in the evening of smart casual - basically no shorts or trainers etc - however, guests are always welcome to eat in our bar instead. I think in the end it comes down to how...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Scotland and the people are magnificent except of the Deerside Inn and its manager in Ballater. This was the highest priced Hotel/ B&B that we booked in Scotland, at $214/ 139 pounds a night. The room was cold and damp, the bathroom was out on the 1930's, the TV had no remote thus didn't work, the desk had no chair...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Kerry G
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I have to say that I do not recall your complaint with any clarity. Obviously, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I understand that you dealt with my deputy as I was not on duty at the time. I have never shirked from a complaint so I know that had I been here I would...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

It was our first visit to the Deeside Inn although we have often stayed on the campsite in our Motorhome. We were attracted by the Crerar HOTELS TWO NIGHT DEAL and it was certainly excellent value. We arrived on a Monday after a large wedding on the Saturday and although the. Staff must have been very tired, it didn't show....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moyreen W
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Very glad you chose to come and stay with us last time - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Glad too that you benefitted from our latest offer - we do have some brilliant offers so it's best to check our website regularly and also make sure that you are on our mailing list. See you again...

Buckie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Central location,large lounge with log fires,large dining room with excellent menu, Bar/restaurant manager Peter ensures you are looked after by the numerous friendly staff.Hotel manager Joanne is so helpful and considerate she certainly enjoys looking after residents and her sincerity shines through.We were on a golfing break and will certainly return in the near future.If all Scotlands hotel staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmckay2015
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

How kind - Peter and I both blushed! We are very pleased that you had a good stay. We loved having your party to stay - and hope that you will come and play some more golf in Ballater sooner. Best wishes, Joanna

dunfermline
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Stayed here for a few days recently and found the Deeside Inn very much to our liking. Ideal for a short break, the Inn has everything you would want. Great location, very comfortable, a helpful and willing staff, and good food beautifully prepared and presented. There is no doubt that this hotel is a flagship for the owners, and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim l
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Gosh - we were very delighted to read your review and are very grateful that you took the time to review your recent stay. Your review leaves a lot to live up to - but we are going to do our best. Thank you so much. Best wishes Joanna

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

spent a lovely weekend at the deeside inn. cream tea on arrival, which was a wee surprise for my wife as was the bottle of wine at dinner. six course taster dinner was excellent and something different.food was really good and peter and all staff were very good.will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weeernie
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - so glad that you had a good break here and we very much hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Joanna

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
9.4 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
342 reviews
22.3 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
22.9 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
349 reviews
22.2 km away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
0.3 km away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Deeside Inn Restaurant
The Deeside Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Deeside Inn is an authentic Highland inn situated in the picturesque village of Ballater in the heart of Royal Deeside - a few miles away from Balmoral Castle, the Queen's summer home. Only an hour's drive from Aberdeen, this part of the Cairngorms is world famous for its stunning scenery and offers some of the best walking, climbing, mountain biking, river fishing and wildlife watching in Scotland. We can arrange a huge range of outdoor activities on behalf of our guests. The inn itself is welcoming and cosy with open log fires, wooden floors, tartan carpets, comfy tweed furnishings and well appointed comfortable bedrooms. In our Ceilidh bar we offer over 40 Scottish single malts and hearty Highland dishes, and also host fantastic traditional music sessions every other Wednesday. In our brasserie style restaurant we offer an a la carte and grill menu, which feature game, salmon and Highland beef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deeside Inn

Address: 13-15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Price Range: $137 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deeside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Deeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deeside Hotel Ballater
Deeside Inn Ballater, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deeside Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
dumfries &galloway
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Deeside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most of the food on the menu can be bought locally”
 of 5 bubbles Neilg33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A front room overlooking the park area is nice”
 of 5 bubbles ianc186, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask fo a room overlooking the green.”
 of 5 bubbles R0bert1950, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the Victoria wing which was excellent and quiet as away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles heike0range, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on North have a good view to square and Church. Some noise from floorboards in room above in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeG442, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5