We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

PricelineUS$144*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

802 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 798: English reviews
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We like the Harbour brand and their Sidmouth hotel exudes all the style of their other hotels. Fabulous view of the sea, excellent room and good food. We were in a courtyard room, outside the main building which is reminiscent of a 1960s motel. Not a problem as the room we had (151) was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oscarposh
CHELTENHAM
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped down to Sidmouth for a one night stay & being firm fans of the Victoria next door we felt we were taking a bit of a risk . However we needn't have worried . Salcombe harbour is a lovely hotel. It's setting & location are superb & having undergone a multi pound refurb it is bright , sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SALW217
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had read other reviews and was a little concerned at the booking made. My mum was treating me to an two night beak so we went with an open mind. The hotel on arrival was clean and light, we were informed we had been upgraded, 1st concern a reviewer had said they were upgraded to the courtyard by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SonjieC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like Harbour Group hotels with Christchurch being a firm favourite. I've also visited and eaten at St. Ives. On the strength of this I booked a two-night break for my wife and I at Sidmouth which gave B&B plus an allowance towards evening meals. The hotel itself was as good as I expected other than the room that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor after your recent visit and I am sorry that you felt the standard of the food was a let down. The menu description for the fish grill reads " grilled fish on the bone " and as such, all of the fish is grilled with skin on...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a two night weekend break with our two year old daughter. Welcoming and attentive staff at all times meant nothing was too much trouble. Took the option of an upgrade to a room with balcony and sea view and wasn't disappointed! Hotel was quiet (thankfully no weddings!), food was great and our confidence in a British sea side break...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsumner137
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am really pleased delighted to read that you had a delightful weekend stay with us. I am so glad that you found the food to be great and the staff to be welcoming and attentive and that nothing was too much trouble for them. Now...

SW England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, helpful staff special thanks to Jade, Rachael, and Soreen for enhancing our stay. Spa area was lovely, Pool was warm, steam room one of the best I have been in, hot tub and sauna very good. Excellent gym if your into excercising whilst on holiday, food quality was good and service very efficient. All in all a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank netgear1
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor with regards to your recent stay and I am delighted that you have given us a five star rating following a really positive review. I am really pleased to hear that you found the staff to be exceptionable and that you were well looked after throughout. I...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has the most stunning views and it's almost worth going for this reason alone. However I went for lunch with friends and sadly the food was disappointing and expensive for what it was. We paid £1.95 for individual tempura prawns which were the size of a 50p...a tiny bread basket was offered but all in all a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonesies29
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am pleased to hear that you found the location and the views from the hotel to be stunning and I apologise for the issues that you had with your lunch, and can confirm hat these have been addressed. I do hope that you will return...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with six friends (all in our early 70s) and stayed for two nights. Friendly, warm welcome. Room was good with a sea view and well appointed. Restaurant and bar were great, with sea views. Food range and tastes were good. Would be nice to sit on the terrace in the summer - a bit cool when we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor after your recent visit and I am pleased to read that you found your room had a lovely view and that the restaurant and bar were great. I am delighted to hear that you found both the service and the standard of food to be good and...

shropshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a fabulous evening with girlfriends drinking cocktails. The bar man was excellent making cocktails to suit our needs not just the ones on the menu. Beautiful setting in the hotel lounge but non residents made very welcome ( we weren't staying at the hotel ) . In good weather the bar / lounge has a lovely outside seating area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison Y
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your cocktails and were made to feel very welcome. We look forward to many more visits . Kind regards Ken Cumming

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I just returned from a short stay in Sidmouth. The place is so beautiful. The hotel has a really good location with amazing views across the whole bay. We thought we would not be spending all day in the room, so we booked a courtyard room. It was lovely, with a king bed and gin, and sherry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matkk
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review won trip advisor and thank you for your five star review . We were delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be amazing and that you had a fabulous stay. Thank you also for your kind comments with regards to the standard of food that was served and...

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
825 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
501 reviews
0.6 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
190 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: $209 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Redditch, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Gosport, United Kingdom
England
South Molton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 33 it was excellent with sea view”
margaretkirby573, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms in the main building are accessible by lift as is the dining room and lobby/reception area.”
01JanetS, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps avoid the "courtyard rooms" as noisy and dark with no outlook. Spend a bit more and get a room in the main hotel.”
oscarposh, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“First floor courtyard rooms are OK but best not to have one omn the ground floor. Upgrades to a sea view were costly.”
stuartt456, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are better”
IanMetherell, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$144* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$144
TripAdvisorUS$144
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates