We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

PricelineUS$51*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$64*
US$51*
Great Deal
US$52*
US$52*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,306: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The staff always seem to be rushed off of their feet and as a result are not entirely welcoming in their customer service. The place was pretty busy the week we were there and there was some miscommunication with dinner arrangements resulting in a particularly chaotic dinner session one evening. The same evening the plates were too hot to hold...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jamie1998899
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

We have been here many times & always had good rooms but a seaview room ar the best by far looking over the harbour.I like it cause once you have booked in you just get left alone to do your own thing no one bothers you at all.Always found the staff friendly very quirky hotel close to town,pubs,casinos

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela T
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Oh dear oh dear. Do these hotels still exist? Old, tatty, decrepit in places. Lucky to be a central location. The centre piece of a hotel is it's restaurant. Get this right and everything else will seem fine. Unfortunately this was the worst possible experience. Ignore the pork pies in the buffet starters (truly laughable), the unclean carpets and the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeff C
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

notts
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This Hotel is very nice, clean and central to everything, we had a double room and it was very spacious. Most of the furnishings are quite dated but all kept clean and tidy. It seemed to be a popular Hotel for senior citizens, so if you are young maybe not the one to go to. Only downside was we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arkwrightNotts
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Right so this hotel needs updating but lets put that aside the problem is the guy at reception, not the guys in the bar or the young kids working, but from the reviews below I am guessing he is the day time "Duty Manager". Never have i met someone who enjoys winding random customers up like this bloke. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank ryan a
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We checked into our rooms at 2 o'clock when we arrived..ther was four of us and we had two rooms however they wasn't together..ours was 302 which had a lovely double bed and a dressing table with a flat screen TV. And bedside tables with lamps that all worked well..the bathroom was spacious and clean like the bedroom. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle D
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Morley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

My two friends and I went to The Royal for a short holiday because our coach holiday to Stratford had been cancelled. Never again.The food was terrible. No bathmats were provided. My kettle didn't work. I had a badly broken window in tbe bathroom and curtains hanging off the rail. One friend didn't even have a chest of drawers. The...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank joyceirvin
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 20 June 2015

well me and my wife stayed here on numerous occasions and every stay is the same. the staff cannot do enough for you always helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and spacious. The entertainment is always good something different every night ,prices are good too , if you are going away to feel special for a few days then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oberonsghost
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 19 June 2015

On arriving at the hotel at first things looked alright. Though like most old hotels in the UK a bit tired. Then went up to the room found that were no chest of draws in the room( on speaking to other residents others rooms also had no draws),the room had 2bedss,1 small wardrobe, & glass bedside tables & a coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Katey C
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards,

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We stay at the Royal Hotel every time we go to Scarborough because of the location and we love the hotels facilities and value for money. We stayed for 3 nights on the 24th May with friends (who booked the wrong GRAND hotel opposite). As repeat visitors we loved the newly refurbished room(s) number 206 with large flat screen TV...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mtbtlr
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

884 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (873)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (413)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,642 reviews
1.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.4 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,173 reviews
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $83 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question
10 days ago

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you choose a Sea view the rooms are noisy. you can hear the bins being moved around at all hours.”
G2835JLmatthews, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book a superior sea view room”
323GillB, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“From travellers pics all rooms seem in poor state. We were at back brick walls for a view. The best tip don't go.”
alisonl2013, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view seem to be the better rooms”
VickyG83, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go some where else!”
648bernied, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$51* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$52
TripAdvisorUS$52
HotelQuicklyUS$64
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates