We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 5,853: English reviews
sheffield
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This building must be appreciated for providing a glimpse into the past. Considering what a huge building it is, its still in perfectly good working order. Bear in mind this is a hotel that was built in victorian times. The food and the room is very good value for money. Free breakfast with a more than reasonable room price. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simoned1989
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Just got back from a lovely 5 night stay at the Grand. Initially went for 4 nights but we were enjoying it so much we booked in for an extra night. We got a bargain 4 night double room for a mere £126 and then managed to get the extra night for just £26 how can you complain at those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imanhonestreviewer
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited in a party of four. I was surprised at how nice it was. A little tired and the room two of us had was a bit basic. Our two friends however had a lovely modern room with a whirlpool bath for the same price. we were on a deal so all our breakfasts and dinners were included. Good choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huddibud2013
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Huddibud2013 Thank you for your reviw, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experiance

Wakefield
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel in great need of refurbishment very nice atmosphere though very busy food ok breakfast nice the room we had was not worth money paid it was very small husband hit head on sloping roof if money spent on areas of hotel will be excellent hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Vikki H Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the unique hotel design we are not a bland generic hotel, our rooms are all of diferent shape, size and layout which we feel adds the unique style of the hotel.

Manchester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel wasn't to badly priced but the service was second to none, from Kieran on reception when we first arrived, very polite and helped us sort our booking and car parking without so much as a mumble, great guy thank you, made the Start of the stay very pleasurable. We didn't eat there in the evening but did go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hockeymonkey14
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Hockeymonkey14 Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you made the most of your time with us here.

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

my daughter and I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel the location and the food were perfect, The problem was the room, we requested a room on a low level floor we were put in a room on the top floor. I use the term room tongue in cheek, it was so small that where the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 782echo
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear 782echo Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you request for a certain room could not be accommodated. Whilst we do take requests these are never guaranteed due to rooms becoming unavailable or other guests extending their stay with us. Due to our unique design and historic building, not all of our rooms are of...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

to start with dog owners let dogs sit in chairs with dirty paws....and hair all over them , so when you sit down thats you filthy....second...parents that go to bar and let their kids run riot bare foot around the rest of the hotel...3rd....watching caberet with wife and 2 young daughters and a man drunk as a skunk started dancing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean H
Halifax,West Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights on National Holidays deal. Food very good, restaurant staff very efficient and friendly. Fifth floor room smelled damp and was draughty and cold however was clean. Don't agree with dogs being allowed in and entertainment started too late. However location is second to none and well with a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smort56
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear smort56 Thank you for your review, and we are pleased in the most you enjoyed your stay with us. Each bedroom temperature can be fully controlled by using the thermostat, I am only sorry that you did not mentioned this during stay as we could have advised. Our entertainment is designed to start after we have finished our dinner...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 days. Great time.bedroom clean.would have preferred a shower. We were on fifth floor. Corridor smelled of mucky mops. Other than that great value. Will return.lovely views from dining room. Not sure about allowing dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lis962
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Lis962 Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to us through your tour operator. We are sorry that you discovered a "wet mp" smell within the corridor, this is not normal and we will investigate further, but hope you mentioned this to a member of the team at the time. We...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nothing grand about the hotel. Very very run down so needs redoing. No money is spent on it. Carpets are stained the rooms are very run down. The list goes on. The hotel could be amazing if millions was spent on it. I'm sure in its day it was but sorry to say not any more. Would not recommend at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pet Shop Boys T
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Pet Shop Boys T Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us. We do have an annual program of works across the entire hotel, this includes replacing carpets, furniture and repainting.

1,990 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1862)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (383)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (846)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,199 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,275 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
755 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $45 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
107 questions
Ask a question
kingston upon hull
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (107)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms to be had”
 of 5 bubbles BevJ_12, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles karenpO9136NA, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If booking on line ask in advance for a room with a sea veiw or city”
 of 5 bubbles 5denise1961, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles jshieldsy46, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get sea view”
 of 5 bubbles martintyke, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay