We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,017: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

GROSS. My sister and I booked to stay at this disgrace of a Hotel on 6th June 2015 as our friend was getting married in the area. Firstly, the website states that parking is available - it is not. Very misleading. Secondly, upon entering the hotel it smelled of damp and stale smoke. The reception staff were unfriendly and didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Leanne S
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Leanne S Thank you for review. We are sorry to read you did not stay with us during your recent visit. Our on-going refurbishment programme continues to address many of the areas highlighted. Our team work hard to ensure all our customers are given amazing service which many our reviewers in the community have commented on.

Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

We arrived in Scarbrough at 1:15 walked down to find our hotel, the location was excellent right near the beach/shops/bars. Went to the desk and the lady said we couldn't check in until after 3pm, when i specifically asked on the website for it to be between 1pm/2pm (booking.com) As we couldn't book in we went to the bar for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire L
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Claire L Thank you for your review. Oh dear doesn't sound like we ticked all your boxes during your stay with us. Our on-going refurbishment programme continues to address many of the areas highlighted. We will ensure that you feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review. We are pleased to read you will stay again and...

Staindrop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

It is a lovely hotel, but it still needs some TLC. I booked well in advance so got a good rate, but the room we were allocated on arrival had no windows - beware if they try to give you a room on the lower floor as the ones at the back of the hotel are windowless. I refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carnivalqueen
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear carnivalqueen Thank you for your review. It sounds like were able to tick all your boxes after your upgrade. Due to the Grade 2 listed status of our hotel some of our rooms vary in shape size and design. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our team. We do hope to welcome you back to the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

My sister and I were staying over in Scarborough as we were attending a friend's wedding party nearby. We drove to Scarborough instead of taking the train, as it states that there is free parking on the website, only to find on arrival that there was no room to park and so we had to drive elsewhere to pay £10...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Kate S
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Kate S Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read you were unable to experience the hotel. We are interested to know which website says we have car parking as the hotel has never had any car park, if you could let us know we would appreciate this, on street car parking is available directly outside the...

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Needs updating !! I know its budget but please chef update your breakfast tasteless scrambled eggs horribly awful fried bread and marmalade served in a big pot where everybody helps themselves not very hygienic lovely staff this is a very tired hotel and I appreciate thing cost a lot off money Britannia get your act together get this hotel up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan R
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Susan R Thank you for your review. We will be addressing your feedback directly as part of our on-going refurbishment programme. Our Big Britannia Breakfast offers amazing value for money with mounts of choice we do consider all feedback and this will discussed with our Head Chef for improvement. We do hope to welcome you back in the near...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Having read some of the reviews on here, I feel they are a little unfair but it does depend on the price you have paid. We only paid £74 for two nights bed and breakfast with one evening meal and a jug of pimms. We know the standard of some of the rooms in these types of hotels so upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claireser
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear clairesser Thank you for your review. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the traveller community. We will address the points you have raised regarding your bedroom, sorry things were not exactly to our usual standards. We will be discussing your feedback within our next management meeting regarding your feedback. We do our upmost...

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Stopping at the Grand in 5 OK its budget and been in hospitality my self I know monies are tight but this is a beautiful hotel just needs a few little touches. Chef move with the times please! Marmalade in a tub (really) no fried eggs scrambled eggs horrible !! Look I understand you have too cater for a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan R
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Susan R Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Reviewed 7 June 2015

well my friend booked my holiday over the phone to the call centre, sea view room lower floor because we are disabled and bed breakfast evening meal he said he would make sure we get it. who on earth do the bookings at the grand they want training when it say disabled lower floor some idiot put us up on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret F
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Margaret F Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to read of the errors that have occurred with your booking, our team do their upmost to ensure all requests are granted, this has been followed and addressed with the team. We are glad we were able to relocate you within the hotel ensure you received what you...

uk
Reviewed 7 June 2015

This is a waste of money if you stay here. The room was dirty and the food was terrible. The staff on check min were good but at the dining room on the Friday evening were rude Saturday morning ok and the rest were miserable and over worked. We had paid for evening meals but had to eat out for...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank sal41
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear sal41 We are sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations during your recent stay with us. All of our food is cooked fresh in house daily and our menus are designed to suit all tastes and we are sorry if our offering did not meet with your standards. Due to the hotel being extremely busy we...

Bermuda
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The first disappointment was the queue for check in - which was approximately forty minutes. The hotel has a nice lobby (wifi is only available in the lobby btw) but our room on the sixth floor was badly in need of a refurb. You can only get the lift to the fifth floor, and then you go up some stairs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soundofmusicfan
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear soundofmusicfan Thank you for your review. We will be addressing your feedback directly as part of our on-going refurbishment programme. Due to the Grade 2 listed status of the hotel we are limited in where lifts can be placed, we do have a lift which can take you to sixth floor from the fifth. We do hope you spoke...

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,273 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,496 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
780 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $57 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor room 602 is a turret room and has only a wall for a view!! Avoid if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles sue187048, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5