We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,019: English reviews
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I recently booked this hotel for a weekend break for me, my fiancée and our 2 kids (aged 11 and 1). We booked a family room for £79 per night (£89 including breakfast). We were lucky enough when we arrived to get a room on floor 2 overlooking the beach - Beautiful view! Room was a decent size with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear John M Another happy guest, thank you for sharing your experience with the traveller community. It certainly does sound like you had a great stay. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Stayed for two days B&B. Didn't get the room we asked for, was offered another one which was more modern and cleaner but it was downstairs and enclosed, no good for me because I have Asthma and cannot be in enclosed places, so refused it. We were offered another on the second floor, very old with thin walls, dirty carpets,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary C
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Mary C Many thanks for your review. Our City rooms offer amazing value for money, we will be investigating your feedback further to ensure this is rectified. We will be discussing your feedback in full with our team to ensure we improve on all areas of your review.

Lancaster
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We booked for three nights B&B over the weekend(28-31 May 2015). but did not stay one. The place was disgusting, dirty entrance, not a clean window in the place, that was the first things that we saw. Went up to the 'Family Room', it was dirty, cups were stained, hairs in the bath, no shower head. The offer was to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jimbo002
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jimbo002 Thank you for your review We appreciate all feedback from our customers, both good and bad and we do review this during our regular management meetings within the hotel to ensure we are providing the best possible experience for our customer, in line with our Company wide policies and produces. We are sorry you did not experience the...

Leeds
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Lovely old building probably a wonderful hotel in its time. Stayd in basement room wif no window... Very weird. Up to date but very dirty. My son was sneezing due to the dust. Gud location. And if u can find parking space outside only costs £3 wif parking permit from hotel. Ideal if ur a group wanting a cheap hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rst266
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Rst266 Thank you for your review. It sounds like our Housekeeping team have not been to their usual standards, this will be addressed with the team in question to ensure this is addressed. Britannia Hotels is all about offering great value for money with great locations and we do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is so disappointing especially in regards to its name 'The Grand'. The hotel could be so beautiful however I think that it is totally rundown and is not as grand as it had been in its older days. Rooms were clean, however furniture was very outdated in the rooms. Also the dinner service was poor since there wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MeganMcc15
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MeganMcc15 Thank you for your review. We are sorry the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are currently going through a refurbishment project to update the hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding our entertainment team.

Reviewed 31 May 2015

I have just had the worst over night stay at the Grand. The place is dirty dated and should be derelict. It took my partner 30 mins to book a room at reception, the service was so slow. It is structurally a magnificent building on the outside but such a shame its be left to get run down inside. It...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Mandy H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Mandy H Thank you for your review Oh dear doesn't sound like we ticked all your boxes during your stay with us. Our on-going refurbishment programme continues to address many of the areas highlighted. We will ensure that you feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review.

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

This is the first time I've used three hotel rooms for a one night trip ... Room 1: after booking a standard double room we arrived in room 534 and had a tenee tiny double - like a caravan double, maybe it's call a queen? Anyhow it was about 1/3 short of the headboard. So we asked for a different...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Danielle C
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Danielle C Thank you for review. It sounds like not everything went to plan, we are sorry for the issues encountered during your stay. We were pleased to read out team were able to help you with relocating. Our on-going refurbishment continues which is addressing many of the area you have commented on.

Colchester
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

The hotel looks nice from the outside and the foyer is not bad but the rooms aren't great. Our first room had a flooded bathroom and looked like a leak coming from the toilet. We were swapped without a fuss. The second room was very basic. It seemed fairly clean but worn e.g. Stains all over the carpet. The light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janine_hallas
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Janine_hallas Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. We continue our on-going refurbishment across the hotel which many fellow travellers have commented on.

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

The room wasn't that bad and clean enough, as for the breakfast. It was rough ! I would love to know what the sausages are made from and as for the tea and coffee, it's got to be a health risk.The cabaret is as bad as I've seen and the internet connection a disaster

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank willhegofar99
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear willhegofar99 Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast offering, we constantly review our offering to ensure we are meeting our customers satisfaction, your comment will be taken on board for review. Our local Entertainment work hard every night and we are sorry you did not enjoy their show, we have never received...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Having just got back from 2nights booked in the Grand hotel Scarborough we were only in the hotel 6hrs before being moved to the Royal Hotel after we complained to the duty manager.The Grand should be Reviewed by the management in our opinion it's absolutely disgusting it wants a complete refurbish as we feel we were shown 3different bedrooms which...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jgbaker658
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear jgbaker658 We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. We will ensure that your feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review. Our team work hard, day in, day out to ensure they offer a seamless service. We are pleased to read we could relocate you to...

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,276 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,499 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
782 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $57 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor room 602 is a turret room and has only a wall for a view!! Avoid if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles sue187048, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5